Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy Excellent Heartwarming Book!
An ex-military man stands accused of murdering a young drunken woman by the name of Kit he met at a local bar, the only alibi he has hinges on the memory of another gorgeous young woman he met that night. He only has her first name Jamie. Andrew had briefly spoken to Jamie whilst they paid their respective bar bills. He had walked her to her car and followed her part of...
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by Sanz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A good read but a little far fetched in places.
Published 18 days ago by Jan Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy Excellent Heartwarming Book!, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An ex-military man stands accused of murdering a young drunken woman by the name of Kit he met at a local bar, the only alibi he has hinges on the memory of another gorgeous young woman he met that night. He only has her first name Jamie. Andrew had briefly spoken to Jamie whilst they paid their respective bar bills. He had walked her to her car and followed her part of the way home in his gentlemanly way. Andrew didn't see Jamie after that night, even though he would have loved to, he was really attracted to her that night he had been unable to take his eyes from her. However Jamie was moving away to live with her then fiance to a new job,new City and new life.
Andrew was sentenced and basically sent to prison to rot, it was a big change from his previously glowing reputation, , and was still plagued by the nightmares and honourable medical discharge from the Army. Andrew had seen the horrors of battle in Afganistan, and was suffering from the post traumatic stress disorder that had only recently been recognised by the army and that lots of troops had problems with when they returned home from the conflict. Prison life literally was draining the life from Andrew. His grandmother and lawyer David wanted him to fight for a re-trial, but he refused, that was until Jamie stepped forward.
Jamie had returned back to the safety of her family after her marriage and relationship failed. Initially she knew nothing of what had happened to Andrew, the man she had so briefly met that night and allowed to follow her home. Then she had heard that that very same man had murdered the drunken girl she remembered from the bar. Jamie cringed and kept quiet as she didn't want her brothers know how careless she had been to allow a now convicted murderer to follow her home. she couldn't help but fell that maybe she had had an extremely lucky escape that night. However after returning to her family base and during a get together with her four brothers, Jamie saw more about Andrews case on a TV programme and certain discrepancies made her believe that he was indeed an innocent man behind bars. After a at time heated discussion with her four very protective brothers she convinced them that she should come forward to help this man.
So as not to give away spoiler and to cut my description somewhat shorter. Both Andrew and Jamie still had the feelings that they had felt for each other that night so later they have a relationship. Jamie and her family help Andrew in many ways. They both become an important part of each other lives and families. things seem to finally e turning for the better until Adam, Andrews younger brother comes home from the army. there are lots of mixed feelings between the brothers as Adam had literally cut off Andrew when he was put into prison. Adam is also suffering from post traumatic stress disorder and is always on a knife edge and ready to snap. Andrew tries to help but there seems to be more worrying Adam than he cares to reveal to Andrew at the moment.
Things come to a head when Adam tricks Jamie into climbing up a local mountain range with him on a day when a storm is due on the pretext that Andrew is up there upset. Obviously Jamie immediately agrees to accompany Adam thinking she is going somewhere to help Andrew. Things are not what Jamie thinks and the situation rapidly spiral out of control.

Wow! I have to say after reading Forever Sunshine I didn't think I would read a book as well written as that again. Collette has done it again! Its written so well that you feel the uselessness that Andrew feels locked away in prison for an horrific murder he did not commit. You feel his frustration at trying to talk and get through to his brother Adam. You also feel the warmness and closeness of Jamie's family and the love they have for each other.Collette writes it so well that you feel the different characters emotions as well as understanding how and why things happens as they do. I loved the whole tentative relationship between Jamie and Andrew, the way neither though it possible that the other would have feelings for them. Jamie shows such love and patience with Andrew until he finally trusts her enough to open his heart to her and tell her he loves her.
I also thought it great the relationship Jamie had with her four brothers, the way any man in her life had to pass their scrutiny and feel their rage and wrath if the man upset Jamie. Both the main characters have had tragedy in their past when they were younger and have had to carry on with life as best as they could.
I have to admit I had an inkling as to who Kit's murderer really was but it in no way spoilt the book. The book flows so well, you just don't want to put it down, until you have finished. It took me just three sessions of reading to go through the book.
Collette writes so well that you can visualise what is happening in your head, as though seeing the action on TV or in a film, but better!
I feel so privileged at being allowed to read this book before it has even officially been published. I would recommend this book totally. In my opinion it is suitable for a wide age range. I tend to read a lot of fantasy, mystical,and paranormal books so this isn't in my heavily read genre but I can honestly say I have thoroughly enjoyed the journey it took me on reading it. The characters are so realistic and believable too. I truly cannot fault the book in any way!
Just one question to finish with.....when's the next book come out after this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 12 Aug 2012
By 
K. Morris "Kirsty" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was not quite what I expected - I had prepared myself for a soppy love story but actually got an interesting plot with a few twists and well formed characters. I really enjoyed it. It wasn't the happiest of topics and so I don't think I'll be downloading the whole series to devour but I would definitely look at getting them in the future.

I was pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 31 Aug 2012
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a great story. Something different from the usual crime/romance that I tend to read. I loved this and literally could not put it down. Thought provoking and brought a tear to my eye. An excellent read. Will be buying the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was hooked just after a few pages. Extremely well written. Found it hard to put down. Can't wait to read more of Colette Scott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What I've been reading, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed the book, couldn't put it down. Haven't ready any other books by Collette Scott but will be looking out for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It kept my interest all through and was entertaining also. I will definitely read more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant.enjoyable from beginning to the end, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved the book. Was recommended by my good friend Janka....thanks my dear friend. Hope she has more up her sleeve for me x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant - a must read, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have never read a book by this author before and my god have i been missing out.
Loved this story so much i couldn't put it down it was a real page turn. With unexpected twists that hit me like a train i really didn't see it coming! Characters interaction was great and really felt both there love and pain in each page.
Fab story cant wait to get started on book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If we dare to dream, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a free book enjoyed it very much could not put it down will be reading more of Colette scott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars romance with a twist, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If We Dare to Dream (The Evans Family Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
From the very first page this book had me gripped. Reading about the life of a hero and how they suffer even when they come home was new to me. I have a new found respect for what our soldiers do for us they really sacrifice their life. The love story in this book was beautiful and patient. Can't wait to read the next In the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews