Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect
I purchased and returned an HP back pack (not robust enough) and Wenger Legacy (defect) before I ended up with this.

Plenty of space, wipe clean base, pockets galore and a strong outer fabric, well designed laptop sleeve built in.

On balance I rate this better than the wenger for;
1. Wallet pocket in back - keeping this safe when on tube...
Published on 16 Oct 2012 by paul ca

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
I liked the numerous pockets. However, the bag is definitely on the heavier side. When you add its current weight with the weight of your laptop and accessories, definitely you will not feel comfort.
Published 20 months ago by Mathai


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
I purchased and returned an HP back pack (not robust enough) and Wenger Legacy (defect) before I ended up with this.

Plenty of space, wipe clean base, pockets galore and a strong outer fabric, well designed laptop sleeve built in.

On balance I rate this better than the wenger for;
1. Wallet pocket in back - keeping this safe when on tube etc..
2. Cable, power pack etc.. pockets
3. Lined pocket for phones etc..
4. Multiple key clips

BUT on balance despite this, I'm less sure about the following, so the wenger nudges it...
1. Stretch fabric shoulder straps. At some point I'm sure the stretch will give. I'm not sure it'll then be robust enough to carry the weight
2. Not lined throughout the pack - some compartments are single skin. Will it survive the inevitable winter rain? I'd rather have the extra layer.
3.In the laptop section the web pocket is easily caught by the velcro hook closure - snagging it. In the Wenger this pocket is lower down so does not get snagged.
4. Finally the fabrics used in internal pockets seems less robust.

That said I'm using this now regularly and think it's an excellent backpack, spacious and robust. With a few tweaks it'd be a tough act to beat. Or for anyone who would prefer the extra features above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a mobile office, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
I was looking for a bag big enough to take not just a laptop and cables but also all the kit I need to survive as an "Agile" worker in a world of hot desks and no permanent base. The Targus Drifter lets me lug (all this stuff isn't the lightest) a 15 inch laptop, charger, big bag of cables and connectors, iPad, day book and papers, a bunch of pens, staplers,scissors etc, with room for my lunch, tea bags and insulated mug - all the essentials. Still got room for other stuff, including a MacBook for creative days when the work Windows machine isn't enough. And it looks pretty good too, if a little large compared the original HP bag that came with the laptop, but that could only just take the charger and nothing else. This bag has loads of pockets so I can keep everything organised, still not using some of them!
Been using this for a month and it seems up to the usual pretty good manufacturing standards I've come to expect from Targus - this is my third bag (others sold on, not fallen apart). All in all seems like a good choice at a good price if you have a reasonable amount of kit and papers you want to carry around and keep organised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
I liked the numerous pockets. However, the bag is definitely on the heavier side. When you add its current weight with the weight of your laptop and accessories, definitely you will not feel comfort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 23 April 2012
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
Although Targus have some cheaper bags/cases in terms of price and quality, this is a great laptop bag. Very good quality, the padding is more than adequate and it fits and protects my laptop. Lots of room for other things such as an SLR camera, cooling base etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely poor quality. AVOID, do yourself a favour and get something else., 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
I have went through two of these bags in just over a month. I was very very impressed with the quality of materials and design used... at first.

The zip to the main compartment broke in the first bag after just 2 days after receiving it. This was swiftly replaced by Amazon.
In the second bag I noticed that the stitching holding the bottom of the right shoulder strap is falling apart - this was 4 days after the Amazon warranty expired.

It's absolutely unacceptable to have two products develop faults within two days and a month of use, especially considering the high price Targus is asking for and the high value of the items potentially damaged due to what is clearly a significant quality control issue!

I now have the hassle of having to deal with Targus directly who told me they replace the items and don't tend to give refunds for the what can only be described as pathetically unsuitable products sold for a premium price. If, like me, you need the bag for work or studying do yourself a serious favour and get something else. Extremely disappointing considering what seemed an amazing design at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars shoulder strap breaks, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
As some of the other reviewers point out, the stitching on the shoulder straps is weak and can break down. Mine broke down after a mere four months of moderate use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good backpack, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
Haven't used it for a long time, but based on the experience this is a great laptop - all-round backpack: robust, very spacious without a zillion small pockets (but just enough to organise most things), good materials, excellent straps and back cushioning for heavy loads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I needed, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
Its a great bag for what I need. It has enough room to store all my Mac equipment including a midi controller keyboard without making the bag feel bulky or oddly shaped. Lots of pockets that can hide a multitude of things. A waterproof zipper bag inside. Very good if you have to carry lots of equipment about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very large and spacious, 9 Feb 2013
By 
J. Saunders (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
This bag was bought for a college student, to replace a much-loved and rapidly disintegrating one. We had the very specific requirement that it had to be able to transport a laptop safely (unlike the previous one, which had led to scratches all over the machine.

I had seen another by this manufacturer, and thought that this would be the same. There is a little 'but' in here - it was not the same as the one I saw, and in this one the laptop compartment is in the middle of the bag rather than right at the back. Given that it is also used for transporting art materials all day every day, this necessitated a much greater degree of care in packing than if we only had one side of the laptop to worry about.

Having said that, it is a great bag. It is strong (even the top handle is made of wire under the padded coating), and all the handles seem well attached. It has endless pockets, and so much space that if you fill it, there is a real danger that you won't be able to lift it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for all my stuff!, 15 Feb 2013
This review is from: Targus TSB238EU Drifter Laptop Computer Backpack fits 16 inch laptops, Black/Grey (Accessory)
I am really pleased with this laptop rucksack. I've used it for a number of weeks and travelled quite a bit with it. It has lots of pockets which is great as I like to be able to compartmentalise all my work items and there is also ample room for my lunch, a spare jumper etc. The elastic shoulder straps us another great feature as the make it really comfortable to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews