Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNCUT UK RELEASE
The third entry in Charles Bronson's famous vigilante series isn't quite like the first 2 movies (which I actually like better), it focuses on action. Michael Winner made a typical 80s action flick and did a great job. Ed Lauter was a great addition and the villains are creepy enough for you to love to hate and enjoy seeing them getting blown to bits and pieces...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by Caligula II.

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars UK DVD 2012
At last this movie is getting an uncut widescreen release, I was disappointed to see the transfer quality.
Besides the fact that it looks as the colors toned down - There's a major Tint problem: the reds are pinky and the color tone is all wrong.
Also, No special features. at all.
Published on 24 Feb 2012 by stupik


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNCUT UK RELEASE, 22 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985] (DVD)
The third entry in Charles Bronson's famous vigilante series isn't quite like the first 2 movies (which I actually like better), it focuses on action. Michael Winner made a typical 80s action flick and did a great job. Ed Lauter was a great addition and the villains are creepy enough for you to love to hate and enjoy seeing them getting blown to bits and pieces.

It's got action, it's got humor. Of course the story is totally predictable, but honestly, who cares? I love seeing Charlie blow up the bad guys and I really don't need any plot twists or nail-biting tension.

DEATH WISH 3 is released UNCUT for the first time on Video (DVD) with all previous BBFC cuts waived. I've been waiting years for this release.
As it doesn't seem likely we're gonna get a blu-ray release any time soon, I'll make do with this!

I'm really satisfied with the picture quality - also it was released in the correct aspect ratio (I think) as my widescreen TV has no black bars left or right.

There are NO extras on this DVD, not even the trailer, nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars UK DVD 2012, 24 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985] (DVD)
At last this movie is getting an uncut widescreen release, I was disappointed to see the transfer quality.
Besides the fact that it looks as the colors toned down - There's a major Tint problem: the reds are pinky and the color tone is all wrong.
Also, No special features. at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MICHAEL WINNERS APEX!, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985] (DVD)
I have said it before, and will say it again: This is one of those films that you just got to see! It's got everything! Excellent -esp the last hour of it, one liners you will never forget, people thrown off tall townhouse buildings, and Lt Shriker and Kerseys shoot-em up! You will fall off your chair laughing at the cartoon violence -the hard done by locals v the evil punks!
Manny Fraker & Barbie Wilde are the king and queen of the street punks and they terrorise the neighbourhood.

I wont spoil it -its great, please buy this DVD you and your friends will treasure it for years to come. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why all the hate?, 18 April 2012
This review is from: Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985] (DVD)
The first Death Wish was an instant hit - showing mild-mannered liberal, Paul Kersey, dishing out his own brand of justice to muggers all over New York. Part 2 capitalised on the success and is seen as a good film too (although how often are sequels ever revered as being better than the first?). Then came part 3 and everyone suddenly hated it.

I suppose Death Wish 3 is to parts 1 and 2 like Aliens is to Alien. DW1 and 2 were slow and creepy, building up tension before each of the (surprisingly few) kills. Part 3 just has Kersey mowing down muggers with a machine gun.

Okay, so it's kind of lost its social commentary aspect, but it's still a great action film. So what if some of the creeps are kind of stereotypical and a bit dumb. Since when was a street hood a criminal mastermind?

Death Wish 3 is probably the most far-fetched of the series (so far - I won't get on to parts 4 and 5), but if you're tired of soft justice for criminals, then you'll be nodding your head to the sound of Kersey's `Wilby' Magnum going off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Death wish 3, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985] (DVD)
A fun flim if a touch over the top with a plot that was a kind of cross between Rambo and Cacoon ( the one wher the OAPs get younger and kick ass and they find out it was the aliens and not the water that made them feel better.) I kied it but was not fine art or social commmenty more a good way to pass time on a rainy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Death Wish 3, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985] (DVD)
Once again Charles Bronson reprises his classic role of Paul Kersey, This time back in New York, which was actually filmed in East London. This time cleaning the street muggers after his friend Charlie was murdered. and the introduction of bronson's magnum which he used on the mugger named The Giggler. Great film, any Charles Bronson fans should get the Death Wish collection on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars death wish, 12 Feb 2014
By 
David N. Vaughan (leamington spa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985] (DVD)
Charles Bronson makes all the death wish films exciting and good viewing well worth having the collection viewable at any time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985]
Death Wish 3 UK DVD [1985] by Michael Winner (DVD - 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews