Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scala, Kolacny Brothers
Fantastic, easy on the ear album, adding contemporary voice to a lot of classics including u2, Foo Fighters, Nirvana etc. Brilliant. All female choir from Belgium are arranged and directed by the Kolacny brothers.
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by Daphne

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a very good school choir
I bought this album having been blown away by their cover of With or Without You. What impressed me most about that performance was that it was a true **arrangement** for choir, and not a mere transcription of an original. Too many choirs sing pop songs by simply duplicating all of the instruments in "bap dap dap" fashion, and the result is almost never well suited to...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Eoin Conway


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scala, Kolacny Brothers, 28 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, easy on the ear album, adding contemporary voice to a lot of classics including u2, Foo Fighters, Nirvana etc. Brilliant. All female choir from Belgium are arranged and directed by the Kolacny brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patience Pays, 15 Sep 2011
We first heard The Scala Choir over 5 years ago and tried to 'track' down a CD of their work without success. We never gave up hope though and at long last this amazing and original choir have been added to our collection. So many favourite tracks, but we've always loved Nirvana's 'Smells Like Teen Spirit'; good to see Depeche Mode and Foo Fighters represented as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 12 Sep 2014
By 
SallyG (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD)
This is such a beautiful album. Generally speaking, I'm not usually into choral work but this is stunning. There are various gorgeous covers on here of which 'Creep' is just amazing. However, the original tracks are excellent. 'Our Last fight' is one of the best things I've heard in a while - it's beautiful, peaceful, deep and it just resonates. I want to sit with headphones on and listen to it over and over again. This album will help you forget the stresses and strains of the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a very good school choir, 31 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD)
I bought this album having been blown away by their cover of With or Without You. What impressed me most about that performance was that it was a true **arrangement** for choir, and not a mere transcription of an original. Too many choirs sing pop songs by simply duplicating all of the instruments in "bap dap dap" fashion, and the result is almost never well suited to voices. But Scala sang their own version of the song, transforming it in the process, showing us something in it that we hadn't heard before. This is what arrangements should do. And it was sung simply, purely, with tasteful piano accompaniment and judiciously-placed harmonies. I give With or Without You five stars, and if you can purchase just that song for download, I recommend it.

But as you listen to the album, a formula begins to emerge. Up-tempo songs are preserved more or less as recorded, with the piano supplying the rhythm and harmony, and the choir taking the vocals. More introspective songs are generally slowed down, and sung quietly and sadly. Few songs are improved by this process. Smells Like Teen Spirit is interesting, stripping away the grunge-rock to get at something darker and more introspective, and substituting Nirvana's alternating quiet / loud structure for one gradual build in volume. But their version of Radiohead's "Creep" takes the same approach, and I started to question whether smoothing out the cathartic outbursts of anger, replacing them with a constant passivity, is really such a good idea.

The choir is good. They sing in tune, and their voices blend well together, but unison melodies (with occasional harmony) are not difficult to sing, and this choir is always well within its comfort zone. They sing accurately, but that's about it. If this was a school choir (which is what I thought when I first heard them), it would be very impressive indeed. But from an adult choir, we should expect some more engagement with the music. The sense of "easiness" comes through in the music. It's undemanding, both on the choir and the listener, and consequently its rewards are rather shallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD)
lived up to my expectations! absolutely love this record. love every minute of every track. excited to hear more from them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels with a piano, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD)
I bought this album having liked Scala for a long time, originally attracted by their version of "Every step you take" by the Sting in the Downton tv series adverts and this certainly doesnt dissapoint.

Whilst I'm not a choir purist, I find the simplicity of voices with a piano is a refreshing twist on modern pop songs, creating a moving experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 6 Oct 2014
By 
J. J. Mann (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD)
I purchased this after hearing one of their songs on radio 2 (a cover of 'Creep') and wanted to hear more. They are a Belgian choir and this particular CD is mostly covers of songs by the likes of Nirvana, Coldplay, Alanis Morrisette to name a few.

The voices are haunting and beautiful as is the Piano and though I wondered when I would play the CD it seems whenever I feel reflective or just want to listen to loveliness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For people that do not know it its a great variation of songs that might be mainstream, but are sung in a child chorus, its lovely to hear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD)
Saw these guys live and they were incredible, and the album doesn't disappoint. Some great covers, all beautifully sung. Would definitely recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One Trick Pony., 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD)
Bought after hearing their version of Creep played on Radio 2. Rest of the numbers are a bit samey. Overall disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scala & Kolacny Brothers
Scala & Kolacny Brothers by Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews