Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a true tale, 24 Jun 2012
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
A challenging , yet quirky tale allowing a peek into two lives affected by serious mental illness.

This story has great value in allowing you to view events and experiences through this prism, the one that complicates the ordinary - and how this will inevitably test friendships and relationships.

At first appearance it may not appear to be your usual idea of entertainment, thats because it isn't.

But its true worth is in the way it leaves you with something positive, opening up a rare and important glimpse behind this dark curtain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock on Rosen., 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
Having both laughed and cried while reading many of Rosen's short stories I never cease to be enlightened by their content, she has the ability to bring her characters to life and make you really care about what happens to them. Meg and Poppy's lives are changed as a consequence of their mental health issues,we join them on their journey and reassess our opinions as we do so.
Rosen's stories are never predictable and always memorable.IMO this one is up there with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sensitive story, 28 Jun 2012
By 
Ignite (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
This is a short and sensitive story about 2 girls with bipolar disorder; one a long term sufferer and once recently diagnosed. Poppy has suffered from this debilitating mental illness for years; Meg has just discovered she has it. Poppy is Meg's role model with her own home, partner and good job. Things aren't always as they seem though.

This in an issue which affects us all. We all, even if lucky enough not to have mental problems of our own, know someone who has. It takes a bit of clever writing to lay it out before us and enable us to see the problems others are facing. A good little story and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Rocks, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Joo "kuforum" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
This story is a surprisingly easy read as is all of Rosen's stories. Even though the subject matter is something that most people don't think about, it's dealt with in a compasionate way.

Meg is about to jump of a cliff as her undiagnosed mental illness makes her not want to live any more. Poppy comes across her and befriends her and helps her to understand her illness. It sounds depressing but isn't. It does pull at your heart at times.

Before discovering Rosen, I'd not thought about mental illness, but I feel Rosen helps you to understand it.

I'd read this as part of Seesaw which has to be one of my Books of the Year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ON THE ROCKS, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
This short story tells the tale of Meg and Poppy, two young women who develop a friendship based on the fact that they both suffer with mental health issues.
The author managed to get straight to the heart of the matter in a very understanding and heartfelt manner, making this a very moving and captivating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking story on mental illness, 25 Jan 2012
By 
N. Blackburn "neb0512" (Elgin, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
This was a heartbreaking short story of a woman suffering from mental illness and her "relationships" with those around her and decisions she has made that affects them. This author has only a couple of books out at this time, but I can tell she is an excellent writer.

I have had the opportunity to read numerous books by Rosen Trevithick. First off, this is one of my top favorites and second, I stick with my theory that we will see big things come from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taut character drama and an eye-opening look at life with bipolar disorder, 23 Jun 2012
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
I originally read On The Rocks as part of Rosen's collection Seesaw. I probably shouldn't say it was enjoyable, since it features two characters who have a diagnosed mental illness. But that's part of what makes Rosen's writing so captivating - turning what could be worthy and factual into a rollicking good story.

The friendship between Meg and Poppy is very well drawn, and offers a lot of insight into what it's like to live with bipolar disorder. But they both come across a very well-rounded people who are not defined by it, and each of them handle it in different ways. Most importantly, they both come across like people you've already met, worked with, or even have as friends. It's sobering to realise that you almost certainly already know someone who is living with such a condition.

This is another solid, fast-moving and believable character drama from Rosen, and deserves to be read by a wide audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On the Rocks, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
Two girls who find they have something in common - a mental health issue.

I found this quite an interesting read about the challenges people face when diagnosed with mental health issues, and how they start coming to terms with things.

Would definitely read more of Rosen's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy This Book! (Buy The Collection Instead!), 24 Jun 2012
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
I read On the Rocks as part of Trevithick's collection of short stories - Seesaw - and it is really worth buying the whole collection, because they are all great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and insightful, 16 April 2012
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Rocks (Kindle Edition)
A very introspective look into the emotional turmoil that is caused by a mental health illness. That seems such a global label for such a wide field of diagnosed issues, mental health. Often the outsider forgets or rather has no real insight into the torment these illnesses cause, both for the sufferer and people around them. This short story opens a tiny door to let the reader take a look at some of problems, chaos, fear and even elation it can bring. Once again an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Rocks
On the Rocks by Rosen Trevithick
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews