Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The house on the beach
This is a novel set in the years following the Spanish Civil war. It traces the lives
of two young women from totally diverse social backgrounds, who meet and become friends during childhood. Their relationship becomes forever linked in a surprising series of twists and turns.It's compelling, poignant and at times, heartbreaking: beautifully written: a page...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Calliope

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight holiday read
This was a nice easy story with a lot of insight into typical spanish family life over the years since the civil war. For anyone interested in this period of time the book is enjoyable. The story was intriguing, simple and a bit sad but on the whole I did en joy reading it.
Published 4 months ago by MRS S MARTIN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The house on the beach, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Kindle Edition)
This is a novel set in the years following the Spanish Civil war. It traces the lives
of two young women from totally diverse social backgrounds, who meet and become friends during childhood. Their relationship becomes forever linked in a surprising series of twists and turns.It's compelling, poignant and at times, heartbreaking: beautifully written: a page turner.
It also gives the reader an insight into life under the military dictatorship of General Franco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moclinejo wine, 29 Jan 2012
By 
J. F. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Kindle Edition)
This is the first novel I have read by this author. I am impressed. It was an enjoyable read; so much so that I stayed up very late to finish it because I had become involved with the characters. I particularly liked the sprinkling of Spanish words used throughout because it added to the flavour of sunny Spain created by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and lyrical story about friendship, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Kindle Edition)
Once again Joan Fallon has created some realistic and credible characters and you become involved in their lives as soon as you open the book. Added to that she manages to capture the different life styles of the two girls and interweave their destinies together. I was moved to tears at times and could not stop reading until I had found out how it all ended.It also gives you a clear insight into the lives of people in Franco`s time and how many of them lived in fear of their lives.A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it wholeheartedly. I'm not going to spoil the read in any way except to say that it is very well written and flows well from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been shorter., 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Kindle Edition)
I found the book good but a little drawn out with long explanations. The basic story was enjoyable. Ok for an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you are interested in Spain during the time of Franco, read this !, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Kindle Edition)
Although this is essentially a romantic novel, it gives a clear picture of what Spain was like during the Franco years. Particularly the differences for the poor and the middle, well-connected classes.

Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight holiday read, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Kindle Edition)
This was a nice easy story with a lot of insight into typical spanish family life over the years since the civil war. For anyone interested in this period of time the book is enjoyable. The story was intriguing, simple and a bit sad but on the whole I did en joy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointment, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Paperback)
The House on the Beach

Because there has been so little fiction written about life during Franco's rule in Spain, and because it is difficult to extract information from Spaniards who have lived through that rather dark period, I was particularly pleased to find this novel. However, it was a great disappointment.

The storyline is entertaining, but the writing was grammatically poor and some howlers made me both laugh and despair - for instance, the "water-canon"! The misuse of commas made some sentences very difficult to read. Further, far from giving me greater insight into the lives of these two girls during this period, I felt I learned nothing. The history lacked any research - what facts there were could have been gleaned over a quick coffee in a chiringuito. Fallon's attempt at authenticating the Spanish connection by sprinkling the story with Spanish vocabulary made little impact; it amounted to little more than the average package holidaymaker picks up.

I have awarded the book 2 stars only because I quite enjoyed the story but, for quality of writing, for research into the background and for depth of knowledge in the subject matter, I would be hard-pressed to award even one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct 2014
By 
Joan C (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Kindle Edition)
Good atmospheric tale, I enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House on the Beach (Paperback)
Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House on the Beach
The House on the Beach by Joan Fallon
£1.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews