Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Highly Addictive
RAMMSTEIN have assembled a retrospective of their most significant songs, which is totally superb from start to finish.

The Remix CD has several tracks that were left off the main album ( " Feuer Frei" & " Stripped" to name a couple) which makes it a magnificent all round listening experience. This will end up being rightfully regarded as one of the greatest...
Published on 13 Dec. 2011 by Tommo 18/7 ©

versus
9 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Possibly not worth while.
If you've followed Rammstein for years like us, you've bought the albums and all of the singles, then there is absolutely nothing new here. What a let down. I was hoping the band would have made up an album of their favourites from tours, or maybe excluding anything released as a single. There is nothing new and nothing unexpected. But, if you are a casual fan, or are new...
Published on 11 Dec. 2011 by Psyber


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Highly Addictive, 13 Dec. 2011
RAMMSTEIN have assembled a retrospective of their most significant songs, which is totally superb from start to finish.

The Remix CD has several tracks that were left off the main album ( " Feuer Frei" & " Stripped" to name a couple) which makes it a magnificent all round listening experience. This will end up being rightfully regarded as one of the greatest compilations ever made. It just flows effortlessly, there is no desire to track skip.

Words will fail to do this any justice.

Iconic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it it's brill, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A mate put me onto Rammstein. This was my first cd and I was hooked straight away, I then went on to get all the rest. If I had to pick a cd fav it would be Herzeleid but I like them all. There is no other like Rammstein, some say so but no way. True driving stuff, I have already blown one set of car speakers to bits and nearly got done for speeding as it is so easy to get taken away with R+ blasting out.
I have also just got Richards Emigrate cd as I think it was a very special thing he did at the time. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 April 2012
By 
Emma (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
So maybe this review will be biased because I'm a huge fan but this a must for any fan of Rammstein.

First of all the album itself is just awesome & includes a booklet with the lyrics.

The first disc contains a selection of the most iconic & popular Rammstein songs.

The 2nd disc.. well.. It's interesting. I was really let down by Faith No More's remix, it's very dull and slow & hardly uses the original song! I wasn't impressed with hardly any of them to be honest, I liked Hurts' version of Haifisch but that's probably only because I like their style. Pet Shop Boys did a good remix of Mein Teil though! They've made it quite camp but it's fun and catchy. The one to listen to is Scooter's remix of Pussy, I couldn't stop laughing the first time I heard it! It's so bad it's good. Highlights are Scooter shouting 'This is Pussy, Pussy, Pussy!' & 'Scooter got the remix, Tills got the skills!' Although it is quite catchy..

Overall the remix disc will not be for everyone, it really depends on what kind of styles of music you like and there's such a broad range that it's unlikely you will like every single one but the album is definately worth buying for the artwork and first disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New rock to me, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw / heard a song on MTV and was extremely impressed so immediately logged into Amazon and bought this album.

It is 'Industrial Rock'? I think, not entirely sure. It is basically very heavy rock / metal mixed with electronic / dance music. They are German so unless you speak the language you won't understand a word but that does not matter, you'll soon be chanting random German lyrics out at the top of your voice.

The mixed CD is AWESOME; I am a big fan of dance and rock so meets the expectations!!! A must have for Rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RAMMSTEIN NEVER LET YOU DOWN ...AMAZON DO...., 16 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. P. B. Curtis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I HAD ORDERED THIS ITEM FROM AMAZON .AS EVERY KNOWS AMAZON MESSED UP BIG TIME.THE STAR RATING DOES NOT REFLECT THAT THE ACTUAL ITEM IS WELL BETTER THAN 5 STARS IT IS ONE OF THE NICEST ITEMS THAT IVE GOT ,I LOVE MY COPY, WELL WORTH GETTING .IF YOU WERE NOT ABLE TO GET IT FROM HMV TRY TOWNSEND RECORDS.ITS MORE THAN THE £46.AMAZON WERE GOING TO CHARGE,BUT LETS FACE IT ,IT WAS NEVER GOING TO BE THAT ANYWAY.BUY IT WHEN YOU STILL CAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ausgezeichnet!!, 12 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding!! A permanent fixture in my car. Powewr to our teutonic heavy metal brethren. They also make rather good videos... :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rammstein Boxed set. Made in Germany., 22 Feb. 2012
What can I say? A metalheads dream compilation with lots of music videos which all come individually sleeved and contained in a heavy metal (no pun intended) box. Made in Germany 1995 - 2011 (Super Deluxe Edition) Amazon was great and charged me £46.00 for this item. I wish I had bought a dozen given the asking price for it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please rate item not the poor customer service you've had!, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
R. J. Kilfoyle (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are several 1 star reviews on here from people who didn't manage to get a copy of this set. The reason for this is down to its extremely limited availability - I personally preordered mine immediately when I first heard about it via the Rammstein website therefore I managed to get a copy. I didn't experience any of the bad customer service others have complained about, but in any case surely that is a matter to take up with Amazon directly, and not a reason to give this item 1 star. I do not see how anyone who managed to get a copy of it could possibly give it less than 5 stars.

Let me be perfectly honest - the first CD is not the reason to buy this box. It does give a good mix of songs but if you are a fan of Rammstein then the chances are you have all of them already. The only new material is 'Mein Land', a decent enough track but not quite on a par with much of their other work. If you really want 'Mein Land' it's easy enough to buy the single instead, or even just purchase that one track for download.

The remix CD is pretty good. I'm not usually a fan of remixes but I found plenty to interest me here. A particular highlight was the version of 'Ohne Dich' done by Laibach, not so much a remix as a cover version which I enjoyed just as much as the original. This track also contains a little joke that only German speakers will understand - the lyrics are changed slightly to 'Ohne mich kannst du nicht sein' which is translated as 'without me you could not exist', a reference to the huge influence that Laibach had on Rammstein.

However, again there is no new material here, all of these remixes are taken from the various singles that the band has released over the years, therefore if you've bought a few of them then you probably have many of the remix tracks already too.

The real value in this boxset comes from the video content. The three DVDs contain every music video Rammstein has ever made as well as a 'Making Of' featurette for every single one and some very slick interactive menu screens. Admittedly if you have the 'Lichtspielhaus' DVD then you will have some of these videos already but there is heaps of new material here and you get to find out much more about the background of each video and of the development of the band (for example, Till finally tells us where his trademark dance move 'whack right knee with right fist' came from). Even on the Making Of sections where there isn't any behind the scenes content they have interviewed the band retrospectively about what it was like to make the videos. The only slightly irritating thing is that 'Pussy' has been re-edited and all of the content which meant it could originally only be released on a XXX adult website has been removed. Then again, if this video had been the original version it would have made getting certification very difficult!

Moving on to the box itself, the outer packaging is solid metal with a hinged lid which closes very tightly and is rather difficult to get open - I had to prise mine open with a knife. Inside the five discs are wrapped in a cloth to protect them and there is a photo book inside a solid metal slipcase protected by a paper inlay. The book contains lyrics to all the songs on the first CD and photos from the bands entire career arranged chronologically by year. As well as many publicity shots and video stills that fans will be familiar with there are also some photos that have never been seen before, including many that look like personal photos that the band took of each other whilst on tour. The photo book is an excellent addition to round off this set.

All in all this was an incredibly good buy and one that I was more than happy to spend £46 on, especially as it is already appearing on this site and ebay for up to four times that value.

One final point - shortly after the release of the super deluxe edition a press release appeared saying that there have been numerous problems reported with many copies that have been sold. These include missing or incorrect discs, missing or incorrect lettering on the metal box and metal slipcase, the cloth which covers the discs being stained and a couple of other problems. Universal Music are offering anyone who has experienced these problems a replacement for the faulty part of the set and full details of how to to obtain the replacements are on Rammstein's official website.

Happily the only problem with my set was some missing lettering on the slipcase covering the photo book, however I don't think I'm going to bother getting it replaced as often with collectible items like this incorrect lettering will increase the value as it will make the edition even more unique!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These 6 Men Were MADE IN HEAVEN !!!!!, 7 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. M. RALPH "ralph_109" (U.K - KENT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
-Here we have 16 tracks from - THE BEST Band in the world EVER.EVER.EVER.EVER.!
I think-Eat-Sleep-Drink +Rammstein+ and have done for many years!
Yes there are many A-M-A-Z-I-N-G tracks that are missing on this 'best of' but that takes NOTHING away from the real GEMS that are present on this release.
Alot of people will be divided on the release regarding the choice of tracks - but I believe they are the true stadium anthems! -
This CD isnt really anything to go by with the 'MADE IN GERMANY' tour- as the set list is pretty different - but its still nice to hear an album with super tracks in a different order.
There is little (if any!) change, regardng the 'Remastering' of all tracks.
I have bought ALL 3 editions of this release (I am a mental fan and must own everything from R+ LOL)
- The remixes are a bit iffy - but always make me chuckle when i listen - The funnist being the P***Y remix by Scooter! lol hahaha
- The big metal tin with all videos is FAB! - but your be lucky to get it for a decent price now (it was limited) and i only see it on ebay now selling for £150-200 !!!!!

Highlights on the album include -

+KEINE LUST+
+MEIN TEIL+
+ICH WILL+
+SONNE+
+MEIN LAND+

I would have LOVED to have seen these other songs on the album (my personal favs.)

+ZWITTER+
+ASCHE ZU ASCHE+
+TE QUEIRO PUTA!+
+ICH TU DIR WEH+

All in All a FANTASTIC release from my 6 GODs !!! - i really do hope this is not the end of Rammy and they continue to make the best music money can buy!

+++BRING ON THE 24TH OF FEB 2012 - LONDON O2 GIG -.....ITS MY 24TH BIRTHDAY THAT DAY...woooo !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Mar. 2015
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made In Germany 1995 - 2011 (Special Edition) [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
It has taken me some time to really get Rammstein, however after listening to certain tracks on the radio & now getting this excellent album, I have begun to really appreciate just how good this band is. Listen and enjoy, if you cant speak or understand German-- who cares it just adds to the mystique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews