Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation and (at last) "Love Is In Season" is on CD
This review is for: The Ultimate Collection (Detroit Spinners - Music Club Deluxe 2CD)

For years I have wanted the wonderful "Love Is in Season" on CD and finally here it is. The album it comes from "Crossfire" has not received a CD release and because the single wasn't a hit, it doesn't appear on compilations. So that was reason enough to buy this and it...
Published on 23 Sept. 2012 by Mr. D

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detroit Spinners
I bought this as I liked 1/2 of the songs and thought it would be okay. And that's about it really it's okay, but I'll still keep it
Published 15 months ago by pembo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation and (at last) "Love Is In Season" is on CD, 23 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This review is for: The Ultimate Collection (Detroit Spinners - Music Club Deluxe 2CD)

For years I have wanted the wonderful "Love Is in Season" on CD and finally here it is. The album it comes from "Crossfire" has not received a CD release and because the single wasn't a hit, it doesn't appear on compilations. So that was reason enough to buy this and it sounds awesome on CD, better than my well-played 12" single.

So what about the rest? This is a very good overview of the Detroit Spinners UK and U.S. singles from the Atlantic record label (1972 onwards), focussing mostly on the 7" single versions and is the first time a more comprehensive collection has been put together covering 2 discs. There are some singles missing here, but nothing vital. All the main singles are here, a few album tracks and some great B-Sides like the B-Side of "Working My Way Back To You"; "Disco Ride", which was actually the A-Side in America and is here in its full 6:23 version.

There can't be many people who don't know the classics "Could It be I'm Falling In Love (later a hit for David Grant & Jaki Graham)" and "I'll Be Around (later a hit for Terri Wells) and "Are You Ready For Love" will be instantly familiar due to Elton John's number one hit version. Most of these tracks were produced by the legendary Thom Bell (also producer of The Stylistics), but Michael Zager produced the disco flavoured hits from the late 70s, including "Body Language (which cleverly interpolates a snippet of Michael's own hit; "Let's All Chant"), the superb Sam Cooke cover; "Cupid" and the UK number one hit; "Working My Way Back To You" which was originally a hit for Frankie Valli's group, The Four Seasons. Also worthy of mention is the excellent "Magic In the Moonlight" which has a great funky production sound courtesy of the late Freddie Perren (producer of Gloria Gaynor's "I Will Survive", Peaches & Herb "Shake Your Groove Thing", and "Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel" by Tavares, as well as being involved as writer and producer on Motown classics from the likes of The Jackson 5).

All in all this is a good compilation, but it's not all good news; the sound quality on "Ghetto Child" suffers from some kind of slight distortion. I've checked on another CD I have and the sound quality is fine, so it is definitely an issue with the mastering here. It's a shame that one track has this, but most people will probably not notice because it isn't horrendous. Aside from that one track the quality is generally good. The only other thing I have to say here is that with up to 79 minutes available on a CD, both these discs only run to around 60 minutes so the longer 12" versions of the big hits could have been added or some more tracks. But whatever... at £5.00, this is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY F A N T A S T I C, 13 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
If u like soul music and especially the DETROIT SPINNERS this is a must....31 songs on 2 cd's. Cd 1 has most most of their hits and the repeat button stays on for classics like, could it be i'm falling in love, working my way back to you babe, ghetto child, etc. Must go losing quality listening time....BUY IT....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great Detroit Spinners CD, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
great to listen to all the old tracks again. They were an excellent group in their heyday. It brought back some nostalgic memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detroit spinners ultimate collection, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Excellent cd with all the classic hits and more a fantastic compilation talking you back to those 70s disco days brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Listening at its best., 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
R&B groups have always been among my favourites and Spinners, or The Detroit Spinners are one of the best, never overexposed or burnt such as Tavares or EWF nor lost in the machine such as The Hues Corporation, but very pleasant to listen. I only miss in this collection a gem from the 80's called "Let's Boogie, Lets Dance", but I understand it must be the usual favourite song a few of us get hooked up with. Easy listening at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
great album you must get it it is brill all there greatest hits and more if you are a soul man you will love this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Just collecting one song from this cd that I have always liked, all other songs are as expected, good 1970's music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Collection Detroit Spinners, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Good soul group. Some great tracks to take you back to the 1970's & 1980's. A must for your soul collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly doesn't disappoint., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Another of the original boy bands. Certainly doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good coverage, 31 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. A. Thomas (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
All the tracks you'd expect from a Detroit Spinners greatest hits and a few pleasant surprises. With a wide range of tracks the quality is a bit varaible, but nothing bad. There are one or two other tracks I'd like to have seen on here, but they're album tracks with no particular claim other than I know and like them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by Detroit Spinners (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews