Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You would be crazy not to
My only concern about buying a 47 track Lemonheads compilation for under a fiver was whether the sound quality would be poor. Having listened to it, the sound is just as good (and in some instances better) than from the original albums. This compilation contains all 'the greats' and some hard to find tracks like 'Different Drum' which would be worth the purchase price...
Published on 19 Dec 2011 by MC Marky Mark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good listening on the right day.
Not easy listening .......... but hits the spot on it's day when I need a blast (not sure what the neighbours think though?), nice to have in my collection.
Published 19 months ago by Phil Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You would be crazy not to, 19 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
My only concern about buying a 47 track Lemonheads compilation for under a fiver was whether the sound quality would be poor. Having listened to it, the sound is just as good (and in some instances better) than from the original albums. This compilation contains all 'the greats' and some hard to find tracks like 'Different Drum' which would be worth the purchase price alone. My only half serious complaint is that I almost wish it didn't include tracks from 'Shame about Ray' as they are best heard in the context of that classic album. Every Lemonheads fan subconsciously knows that 'Rudderless' should segue gorgeously into 'My Drug Buddy'. Anybody getting started with the Lemonheads should begin with 'Shame about Ray' and then move onto this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Class Act...., 1 Jan 2012
By 
J. Willis (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
This review will be biased, as i love The Lemonheads! At 47 tracks, 'Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners' is a pretty comprehensive collection of The Lemonheads, though i did wonder, as the owner of all their studio albums, what was in it for me? It turns out that the inclusion of a few b-sides and rare cover versions means that it's a must buy, even for the die-hards. It's not compiled chronologically, so it has a real random quality to it, which shows their versatility. This is a far superior compilation than the 'Atlantic Years-best of', which managed to virtually ignore the 'Lovey' album. Evan Dando is a genius, and the poster boy of a generation/slacker tag does him no justice at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing some great tunes, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
This would be a 5 star best of compilation album if only it was more complete and less arbitrary. Some of their greatest songs are missing, and some weaker entrants are included. Glaring omissions include Black Gown, Rule of Three, Something's Missing, Rest Assured, Dawn Can't Decide, I'll Do It Anyway, You Can Take It With You, Rockin' Stroll, and Stove! If they managed to fit 47 songs, they might have just as well either fleshed it out some more and included these other great tracks, or more selectively omitted a few of the lesser tunes to make room for the aforementioned titles. Nevertheless, it's a testament to their best years and albums that one has to quibble over there not being enough songs on a 47 song / 2 disc album. This is a good album for newcomers to the band, old fans should probably forgo this and just hang onto your old albums to have a more complete collection. Hopefully there will be yet another Lemonheads album of new material to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's About Time, 20 Jan 2012
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
The Lemonheads are a band who shone so brightly for a short period of time (Come on Feel and Shame About Ray) and then seemed to fade. Here we have 47 tracks from their entire career (although only three tracks from Shame About Ray don't appear) that shows the thrashy beginnings to the most recent covers CD. Its a real joy to hear pretty much everything on the first CD. That is apart from the awful (for me) cover of Step By Step. Yes the New Kids On The Block track. There was an ease when listening to the band in their full flow and rudderless, Drug Buddy, Big Gay Heart, Mallo Cup and Alisons Starting To Happen show this, the last two being on CD Two. Its CD two that has the alternate versions of Rick James Style and Down About It amongst others. And this doesn't quite work as the second CD doesn't flow as easily to these ears.

The minor quibbles aside this is 47 tracks for a fiver. This is a band that just made you smile (except when I saw them live a couple of years ago as they were the only band I have ever seen without an encore, he looked miserable). The odd track might be missing but overall this is a great reminder of how good Evan Dando and his chums at that particular moment could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generous helping of the Lemonheads!, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Music Club have been incredibly generous with their double-disc compilation of one of my favourite alternative rock bands of the '90s, The Lemonheads. Here you will find 47 tracks, most of them were recorded for the Atlantic label during their peak. However, this set also includes their early stuff before they went onto achieve two gold selling albums in the UK, as well as highlights from their 2009 covers album 'Varshons'.

The hits that we all know and love are here (the title track of their classic album 'It's A Shame About Ray', their cover of Simon and Garfunkel's 'Mrs. Robinson', and 'Into Your Arms' which was actually their highest peaking UK single) as well chosen album tracks. But the icing on the cake is the inclusion of songs that were only released as B sides on their singles. Rest ensured, the sound quality is excellent.

This is the biggest compilation of The Lemonheads' music released to date, and has things to offer even the biggest fan. The only down side is that I would have preferred to have the tracks presented in chronological order. But this is such a vast collection that I can easily look past that. If anything, it just serves as further proof of Evan Dando's ability as a great country rock singer and a talented songwriter of simple, yet classic and catchy songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sprawling but awesome, 1 Mar 2012
By 
Michael Cater (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
The Lemonheads are a band who seem to have fallen completely off the radar for most music fans, despite making some of the most awesome music of the 90s. I'll admit this compilation isn't really the ideal way of listening to the band; half the attraction was that they made concise, beautiful, effective songs that never dragged, with most albums coming in at an efficient 25-40 minutes and never outstaying their welcome. This is a more sprawling showcase for the band, with forty seven tracks across two discs.

Still, we live in the Ipod era, where most people pick and choose tracks and firmly believe that more is indeed more, downloading everything and anything left right and centre due to the incredible availability of modern music. In that context, the record works perfectly, giving huge value for its £4.99 price here in the UK, with every period of the band represented and even with some harder to find stuff present, B-Sides and EP tracks and such. In terms of all their great songs, it's pretty completist.

The music speaks for itself, melodic, rocking, vulnerable and gutsy. The criticism for some is that they're too lightweight and fluffy, but honestly I find that refreshing, especially as an antidote to the grunge era they thrived in. If you've never heard them before, I can't recommend this enough. Production is good as well, not sure if they've cleaned up some of the early stuff but it sounds like it.

On a sidenote, this is still a good purchase if you already own most of the albums, since a lot of the tracks come in the alternative single versions, some with slight but interesting changes ('The Outdoor Type') and some sounding radically different ('Down About It').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent best of, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Not all of the Lemonheads back catalogue has stood the test of time, though for the uninitiated or just old fans wanting to skip the filler this is a pretty decent best of. The Shame About Ray tracks are easily the best things on here and mercifully few of the more recent output has been included, which can only be a good thing. Not an original but it's good to hear their version of Luka again. Still sounds good 20 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good listening on the right day., 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
Not easy listening .......... but hits the spot on it's day when I need a blast (not sure what the neighbours think though?), nice to have in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Likeable, 23 May 2012
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
A couple of points...
1. This budget-priced double-disc compilation-provides a career-spanning retrospective of the ups-and-downs of this likeable alternative rock group, whose one constant has been its leader, Evan Dando.
2. It includes all of the best tracks that the band has produced, including: 'Mrs Robinson'; 'Confetti'; 'If I Could Talk I'd Tell You', and 'Into Your Arms'. These melodic guitar rock songs, with their simple but bittersweet lyrics, and the warming sound of Evan Dando's vocal performances, encapsulate where the band's charm resides.
3. Sensibly, it only loosely draws upon their first couple of thrashy-sounding albums - Hate Your Friends, Creator, and Lick.
4. Sensibly, it focuses heavily on material from their two best LPs of the mid-1990s: It's A Shame About Ray and Come On Feel The Lemonheads.
5. Sensibly, it doesn't overemphasize the variable material that dribbled out over the next decade or so following that period.
6. Those 3 key decisions are subtly concealed by the compiler Danny Keene, who has chosen not to sequence material in chronological order.
7. It is striking to note quite how many covers can be found here. These prove to be of variable quality. Some, like 'Different Drum', are excellent. One or two - such as the pitch perfect rendition of New Kids On The Block's 'Step By Step' - are execrable.
8. At 47 tracks Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - the name of the band's very first EP - is too long. The inclusion of B-sides & rare cover versions means that it shouldn't be thought of as a straightforward 'Best Of'.
9. It is not the only introductory compilation of this slightly erratic band's work available. There is also the similarly priced, but more concise The Best Of The Lemonheads from 1998.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sprawling, unfocussed, but full of gems, 18 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. T. S. Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of (Audio CD)
This is one of the oddest compilation albums I've ever purchased. At 47 tracks long it is far too sprawling to be a straightforward greatest hits, too mainstream to be a proper b-sides collection, yet too inclusive of oddities to be a best of.

That said, it is still a rather sublime look into the genius of Evan Dando at his finest, and disc one in particular is a very strong set of tracks.

There are a small number of glaring omissions (Stove, It's All True, Become The Enemy) and a small number of dreadful tracks that should never have made the cut (Step By Step, Ballarat), but overall this is a nice collection. Ideal for the fan who only has a couple of their albums and wants to explore.

Having said that, if you're looking for a straightforward hits collection then The Atlantic Years is a stronger and more concise set at a similar price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of
Laughing All The Way To The Cleaners - The Best Of by The Lemonheads (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews