Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Student Review - 5th Edition (2008), 18 Feb 2008
By 
L. Wilkinson (Southampton, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wish I had had this book last semester! Having just had my first dabble in writing a research report in my second year of my physiotherapy degree, this book would have been invaluable. It covers the basic principles of health research, writing a research report and how to apply to problem solving in practice.

It is primarily aimed at students, those who are entering the world of research for the first time but also for individuals who need to be able to understand published research. It provides a good introduction to the different aspects involved and arms you with enough information to be able to critique research papers.

Each of the chapters are well structured, with examples given to clarify explanations and each end with a self assesment. In addition, at the end of each section there is a discussion with questions that allow you to apply the theory to a health research example.

Statistical software packages are touched but ony the very basic principles. For use on actually using the software you would need to reference a more specific text.

As students we are developing our ability to critique and apply, and the last section of this book encompasses this. It introduces how to critically evaluate, how systematic reviews are conducted and how to assess validity.

This book will be a valued addition as I progress through my degree and into practice. I really like it... simple enough to understand but with enough depth to provide a thorough grounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clearly written and comprehensive research textbook, 17 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Despite the title I felt this book gave a very comprehensive account of the research process. Its emphasis is more on quantitative than qualitative methods. It is very clearly written with excellent self-assessment questions to help the reader measure their progress. There was a thorough explanation of some of the common statistical tests although others were considered to be beyond the scope of this introductory textbook. The glossary of research terms was very useful but omitted to include notation. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone contemplating research or undertaking a research module.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars also great to help understand research papers, 24 Feb 2008
As a first year Physio student I've not yet embarked on a research project. I have, however, found this book extremely useful to assist in the critical evaluation of research papers as it discusses all aspects from sampling to statistical analysis including advantages and disadvantages to different methods.

I have also found the section on statistics extremely useful as I was finding it difficult understanding results and their statistical significance in papers as it's not something I've previously been taught.

I feel that this book will be invaluable to me throughout and after my degree when I will be involved in research projects at various levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Research within Health Science, 29 Feb 2008
By 
Polgar and Thomas's `Introduction To Research Methods In The Health Sciences' is an excellent book for any student within health science who needs to complete a dissertation/ final year project or even those who desire to understand more about research.

The layout takes the reader logically through the stages of research: Planning, design, Data collection and statistics directed by a clear contents, index and glossary. Chapters are nicely broken down into specific topics so it is easier to read and find exactly what you are looking for. Use of colour and text add to the ease of use. The summaries at the end of each chapter are great if you want to get a feel for an area of research without reading the entire chapter. And the self assessment section at the end of each chapter is a great way to ensure you have understood the content and can apply it. Use of tables and graphs break down the text, again making for ease of use and are also a tool for aiding understanding of the theories/ practicalities of research and how they are applied. There is also an excellent chapter on critical evaluation of research which is especially useful when considering evidenced based practice and the true value of research.

Only complaints are the limited referral to references within the text. However for an introduction this may be asking too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremelly detailed introduction into research, 30 Mar 2009
By 
Ms. R. Hooper (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Polgar and Thomas's `Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences' is an extremely useful and detailed book regarding the field of research. The book has a logical layout and the self-assessment questions at the end of each chapter allow readers to put the theory into practice, which is essential for all health and social care professionals. As a third year student nurse I feel that this is a great book for completing final year dissertations and research projects. However, I feel that this book maybe quite daunting for first and early second years on health and social care courses due to its complex nature. Overall an impressive text which I would recommend to all second and third year students who are completing research units and to qualified professionals who are undertaking and participating in research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Physiotherapy Students and other AHP's, 26 July 2011
I am a third year physiotherapy student about to write a research proposal and i would recommend this book highly. It has a clear understandable outline of how to construct a research proposal and the different methods of research. It talks in detail, with examples, on internal and external validity, sampling, selection and analysis. It also has a section on writing for publication.

I would say this book is more targeted at quantitative research but it does cover some qualitative research.

If you are new to physiotherapy research then i would recommend this as a starting point. You will need to cross reference with other texts to get a more detailed overview but for the first time researcher it is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I would recommend this book, 25 Feb 2008
As a second year student with a research proposal looming, this book will prove extremely useful. The chapters are laid out in a logical and easy to follow way, and explanations of key areas are easily understandable.

The self assessment sections allow the student to track their progress and check their understanding. Overall, I would recommend this book for any student, like myself, who finds the thought of research methods frightening!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just as advertised, good condition, good basic first book for research and learning terms and meanings. Explained well for beginner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is of very high quality it is clear and easy to read and understand would recommend to other students who wish to study nursing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential book, 9 Dec 2010
This book has been a huge asset to my personal library over the past few years as I have carried out my Physio degree - it is great for aiding you when critiquing articles or writing research proposals and analysing data. Gives good basic understanding of all aspects that you can then build from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews