Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous rhythmic intensity and a perfectly judged smoochy number
Part of the success of Chistina Pluhar and Arpeggiata's projects connecting early music with other traditions has always been that they are well founded in musicological research, and this new disc - drawing on the music of Venezuela, Colombia, Argentina and Paraguay - is no exception. The point of connection in this case is that the music of these countries uses the...
Published on 5 Feb. 2012 by D. M. REISENBERGER

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather like many other compilations of Spanish music!
not as novel or exciting as L'arpeggiata's normal CDs. It could have been any music you might hear in a Spanish bar. I was disappointed as I love Christina Pluhar's music normally.
Published 16 months ago by patti garlick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Los Pajaros Perdidos, 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up in Latin America,sorrounded by latin music,so I was a bit doubtful about yet another "latin" compilation. I am so gald I bought this. It is the best I have heard in years. An absolute joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it now!, 3 July 2012
By 
Graeme Withers (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Los Pajaros Perdidos (Audio CD)
Amid the mini avalanche of CDs from classical and other sources in South America, this one is a stand-out. That smiling genie, Christine Pluhar and her group, decided that their early instruments were very similar to those used in South America today, and put together this "project". They perform it in concert [more below] with elan and joy which does not get in the way of perfect musicality and precision of playing. It's the latest in a strong line of superb Spanish/Latin American CDs that stretches back to the Harp Consort's "Luz y Norte" all those years ago, which began it all for me.

The disc too has cost me a lot of money - following it up with various other offerings of L'Arpeggiata, "Teatro d'amor" in particular, and tracking down Erwin Schrott's version of the title song on his recent recital "Rojotango" and on a DVD of the Waldbuhne concert he, Netrebko and Kaufmann gave in Berlin in 2010.

To be cheeky for a moment, once you've bought it and got all the tunes in your head, equip your computer with the resources necessary to create FLV files [there are tutorials on YouTube], download FLV Crunch free from the net, and make an MP4 of the two hour concert L'Arpeggiata gave in Paris of all this music plus more. Your television set won't stop dancing for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain beautiful music, 3 April 2012
This review is from: Los Pajaros Perdidos (Audio CD)
Gorgeous stuff; turn off your thoughts and just hear - the sounds these people make together defy description. The Latin/Celtic combination of sounds will carry you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excelente!, 25 Feb. 2012
By 
eclecticmagpie (Ormskirk ,Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Los Pajaros Perdidos (Audio CD)
Bought this after a friend heard the title track on Classic FM.Don't let that put you off.You don't NEED any specialised knowledge of Latin American music or to speak Spanish -in any case the booklet gives a translation.It's a great mix of instrumental and vocal tracks-can't stop playing it.Buy it , listen and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Los Pajaros Perdidos (Audio CD)
The CD came without the plastic wraper and i didn't know whether it has been used before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite albums by these performers. I never tire of listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Los Pajaros Perdidos (Audio CD)
An excellent recording and great artistic value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Los Pajaros Perdidos (Audio CD)
Bought a second copy to send to my brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Los Pajaros Perdidos (Audio CD)
Loved the whole album, pure and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather like many other compilations of Spanish music!, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Los Pajaros Perdidos (Audio CD)
not as novel or exciting as L'arpeggiata's normal CDs. It could have been any music you might hear in a Spanish bar. I was disappointed as I love Christina Pluhar's music normally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Los Pajaros Perdidos
Los Pajaros Perdidos by Philippe Jaroussky (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews