Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out To Lunch
This review is from: The Song of Lunch (DVD)
'Song of Lunch' is a short BBC film brought to us by Masterpiece Theatre. It is a film of love lost.

Alan Richman plays 'He', no names mentioned. He is an editor and sometimes poet. He has arranged for a meeting with an old flame, and it turns out, 'She', played by Emma Thompson, left him for someone else. He...
Published 16 months ago by prisrob

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a swizz
If you don't mind sitting through Alan Rickman reciting what I can only describe as 'reading from a chapter of a book' then you will like this. I thought that as this had the great Alan Rickman and the lovely Emma Thompson it would be very good. I was very disappointed! basically it's just Alan Rickman narrating a lunch appointment with an old flame with just a little...
Published 13 months ago by Mrs Y Edwards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out To Lunch, 20 May 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Song of Lunch [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This review is from: The Song of Lunch (DVD)
'Song of Lunch' is a short BBC film brought to us by Masterpiece Theatre. It is a film of love lost.

Alan Richman plays 'He', no names mentioned. He is an editor and sometimes poet. He has arranged for a meeting with an old flame, and it turns out, 'She', played by Emma Thompson, left him for someone else. He does most of the narration, telling his tale, a sodden tale it seems. He plans the lunch at an old restaruant they used to inhabit, and he relives the days of yore down to the tablecloths and the owner. It turns out eveything has changed, as it is wont to do after 15 years. Strike this as a real negative for him. He starts drinking as soon as he sits down. It appears that liquid meals are his style. She comes in the door, much better looking and dressed than he remembers. In his mind he starts reliving the memories of her. She has to bring him back to the present several times.

"He" however, is stuck in his own mind. As the drinking resumes she makes the statement that he is "out to lunch at your own lunch". That pretty well sums it up. He is very frustrating, you want to kick him or slap his face. We have all met people like this, and it is often that the alcohol brings out their worst side. He is not a likeable person, and he keeps talking. I wanted to say to him, "shut up and let her talk." She has a lot to say and most of it is 'right on'. She remembers correctly and after this lunch she must be thankful that she did not end up with him.

We have a portrait of this couple, the lives they had together and the lives they lead now. She knows him well and tells him that his poetry is not his therapy. It is quite apparent that he needs the latter. He is an insufferable prig from my viewpoint, and I wonder how the rest of his life will evolve. The film's camerawork is superb. It is the faces and the expressions of these two that convey most of the story. Memories are made of this, it seems.

Recommended. prisrob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The song of lunch, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Lunch [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you know the author and you appreciate the actors you will love this film. It leaves a strong impression on you for months to come. I recommend this film to all those you love good writing, poetry and most of all good British talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Lunch [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I remember waiting anxiously to see this on TV and was not disappointed. Both Alan Rickman & Emma Thompson are superb in this. It's heart breaking to watch, so many hopes and dreams, all hanging on a single lunch date with a former love. Genuinely touching, beautiful story. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Lunch [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Two of my favourite actors in a short and funny / sad film based on a Christopher Reid narrative poem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a swizz, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Lunch [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you don't mind sitting through Alan Rickman reciting what I can only describe as 'reading from a chapter of a book' then you will like this. I thought that as this had the great Alan Rickman and the lovely Emma Thompson it would be very good. I was very disappointed! basically it's just Alan Rickman narrating a lunch appointment with an old flame with just a little dialogue thrown in. he steadily gets drunk through the piece which has it's comic moments but all in all it fails to do anything to herald the great acting abilities of the two leading actors. It only lasts about 50 mins so is a bit of a swizz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Song of Lunch, 18 April 2012
By 
Gray Mage (West Sussex U K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Song of Lunch [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is the story of a lunch-time meeting between two people who were once a couple and then separated fifteen years ago; she to marry a successful writer in Paris and he to be a rather unsuccessful book publisher/hack. It's meant to be a nostalgic reunion but she arrives somewhat late, after he has consumed over half a bottle of red wine. The meal degenerates into a disastrous orgy of insult and, on his part, drunken self-contempt. It's an interesting study in a failed relationship and the meeting should not have occurred. But that's people for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Song of Lunch [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Song of Lunch [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] by Niall MacCormick (DVD - 2012)
£6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews