Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding entertainment.
These music sessions are outstanding.There is nothing available that can compete with the quality of artists,performance or atmosphere.This is as good as it gets.
These sessions have acted as a gateway into all sorts of music I wouldn`t necessarily listen to,so thanks to everyone concerned .
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Mrs Cambridge

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the production values
Lovely music played by some of the best acoustic musicians in the genre. When I watched it on BBC 4, I would turn the brightness down to nothing so I could just listen as if on the radio. Who ever is or was in charge of the cameras and the post production should have been shot. Why can't we see the musicians and the bands as a whole? Flicking all over the place is...
Published on 8 April 2012 by Collin Higgs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic sessions 5, 17 April 2012
By 
Mrs. R. O'neill "Seamus" (N-Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Yet another excellent production from Ali Bain, Gerry Douglas & Michael McGoldrick. The standard of music provided by each musician on Transatlantic 5 was exemplary.If you are looking for a good nights entertainment from the comfort of your own home I'd highly recommend it. Already looking forward to Transatlantic 6!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 9 Mar 2012
By 
S. Peake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is brilliant! To see the creative interaction between top class musicians from different backgrounds producing such great music is an inspiration. Some of the tracks are deeply moving, coming from particular cultural settings and being very personal. Love the mix of instruments too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Yet Released, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Philip Mitchell "philjimi" (Valley Of Neptune) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This brilliant series has been put back for the third time.
It is now to be released Early Feb 2012, well that's what I have been told.
With great performances from the likes of Eric Bibb and Alison Krauss, this is a must have edition to any music collection.
It was shown on BBC Scotland last year so I can't see why there has been a delay in it'd DVD release.
Amazon have cancelled my pre-order because they say they don't know when it will be released.
Well if I can find out when it is to be released, why can't Amazon ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good to listen to, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
bought for my partner and he is really enjoying it. Also has series 6 and loves that too. No doubt he will enjoy any more he gets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars top class artists, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I chose this dvd because it represents my leanings on music and the artists are very professional and gel well together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic Session 5 - US influence, 12 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
As owner of all previous TS DVDs, this one was a great listen. For the purist, I didn't feel the more evident USA blues incursion was quite right. So 4 stars out of 5 rather than 5 - but that is a very personal view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Scotland, and appreciate excellent musicians, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived when stated. If you love Scotland, and appreciate excellent musicians, watch this. I aim to buy all the back- series -one by one - as the talent assembled for each is amazing - from Scotland, Ireland, Canada, America etc. The calibre of the musicians is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Jerry Douglas Show?, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
As usual with this series, it presents excellent musicianship and reflects the joy of making and sharing music. I have had the pleasure of seeing the The Transatlantic Sessions live in Birmingham in Feb 2012 and they are excellent.

The DVD is shot in a location with limited room but the acoustics and video capture the moment perfectly. I'm sure it is unreasonable to expect a 5.1 mix, which would in any case be artificial, given the recording situation.

My only slightly negative comment is that Mr Douglas does seem to be taking on something of a starring role which is slightly at odds with the ensemble ethos of the series.

If you enjoy music and wonder what TV and the charts have done to it, buy this and enjoy pure voices and skilled instrumentalists. Declan O'Rourke is a star, and his song "Galileo" is the best new song I have heard in many years. Alison Krauss has a honey voice that will melt your heart.

I hope that Mark Knopfler can be persuaded to (contractual issues notwithstanding) perform with the ensemble at some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best music show ideas ever created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than expected, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent folk musicians and music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transatlantic Sessions - Series 5 [DVD]
£18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews