Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


149 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films of 2011
Spoilers?

This is a wonderful, powerful film which made a great impression when shown at the Leeds Film Festival in late 2011.

Brandon, brilliantly played by Fassbinder, works in New York in an unspecified job, but he is clearly successful and on the top table. His relationships at work are defined by his position in the hierarchy: his boss is his...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by S. J. Williams

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Shame - A shame I wasted time watching this
This was a dismal viewing experience that really did nothing for me. Turgidly directed, this is a tedious and banal affair that the critics will probably love for it's supposed `edginess'. It tells the story of Brandon (Fassbender), a rich city type with an addiction to sex. But only sex where women are objectified and degraded, when it comes to a real relationship he...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: Shame (DVD)
No storyline, no character development, little dialogue except for a random waiter who had more lines than the rest of the cast put together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Steer clear, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shame [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing but soft porn, no real storyline, very disappointing, especially since I bought it after watching 12 years a slave, a total train wreck of a production from Steve McQueen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was recommended for a body., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shame [DVD] (DVD)
Yeah ... well. If you like films that go nowhere and just flounder about. Fassy's just dopey in this and as a man of some forty years in this ... well, we all know them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good acting, arty direction, 2 July 2013
This review is from: Shame [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Michael Fassbender was well cast, as was Carey Mulligan. Both gave excellent performances and the sex addiction subject was treated well. However, the drama doesn't really work and the pace is slow. Glad to have seen it. I will remember it, but I doubt that I will watch it again. One for rental rather than purchase in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Recommend, 27 Jan 2013
By 
N. Baseley (Haslemere, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shame [DVD] (DVD)
Gosh, I really wanted to like this film. The lead actors put in strong performances and I'm a fan of both of them. Visually lovely. I'm also interested in the subject matter - modern life, loneliness, sexual addictions in the internet age, etc. I just didn't feel like these elements came together. It reminded me of American Psycho where 95% of the book/film is spent showing life as it is for the main character, and it's only in the last 5% that you realise that what seems like flat and plotless had actually been building up to something. Except that final 5% didn't seem present here (there was 'something' different in the final 5% but it didn't seem to go anywhere).

It might be lazy to criticise a film like Shame for being plotless (I had a similar problem with The Master recently), but I just didn't really know where I was supposed to be looking, where my focus should have been, what I was meant to pay attention to. In the setup we have a man who appears to be struggling with his sexual appetite (though I wasn't clear how he felt about that - were we supposed to be judging him?) and his emotionally damaged sister. Beyond that I struggle to say what the point was.

Oh well...one that went over my head, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Very Good !!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shame [DVD] (DVD)
A film that was very boring. I could not really understand what it was about. It just seemed an excuse to show some sex on the street. Not recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're not bad people, we just come from a bad place!, 28 May 2012
This review is from: Shame [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Shame is the story of Brandon, a 30 something man living in
Manhattan with a glamorous apartment, successful job but
crippling sex addiction. All is threatened when Brandon's
sister shows up out the blue to stay with him.

It is clear that something happened to the main characters
but the movie doesn't explore this. Shame unexpectedly moves
it's audience and exposes the downfalls of addiction but shows
the value of love and how events in our life seem to make who we are today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame on me for watching this movie, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shame [DVD] (DVD)
I thought Hunger was an amazing movie. Well done to the director (McQueen) for that masterpiece. However shame on me. Yes, Shame on me for watching this car crash of a movie. My fiancé abandoned 'Shame' after thirty minutes, and she went to the bedroom to read a book. I struggled to make it to the end of this pretentious nonsense.

The story is paper thin. It revolves around Brandon (M.Fassbender) and his dull empty life. He has nothing in his life apart from a well paid job and an addiction to porn. Soon into the movie we are introduced to Brandon's sister who turns up at his swanky appartment, and she ends up living with him.

I could not understand what sort of a relationship Brandon had with his sister. At one point Brandon's sister is standing naked in front of Brandon in his bathroom having a converstion. In another scene Brandon's sister walks into his bathroom and discovers Brandon masturbating. Indeed. What conclusion can I come up with here regarding their relationship in earlier years. Was it an incestous relationship? Oh, who cares ?

Regarding brandon's porn addiction, what is the movie viewer supposed to feel? Empathy, remorse? I feel nothing for Brandon's shallow character. I watched porn every day before I met my fiancé. I was single and I watched porn. I enjoyed it. Did i need help? No. Did I need treatment for my porn addiction? No. Did i require medication for my porn habit? No. I drink beer every day. Lets make a movie about my beer addiction.

Watching this movie is like sitting in a window seat on a small aircraft next to a drunken obnoxious man on a two-hour flight. It's a dreadful bore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film has given me absolutely nothing, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: Shame [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am not sure why this film made me going for some research for reviews in other countries and finally giving a statement here ...

Well I think I find more people over here thinking similar 'negative' compared to people in Germany

I like films that are controversial in peoples eye. I like bizarre and socially critical films, but this film has given me absolutely nothing. I can say for myself that some movies that I watched in the past have taken their effect on me a few days later when images and interesting scenes flashed through my head again.
In this case: absolutely no access (3 days passed by since watching it)

Am I too stupid to understand what this film is all about? Maybe, maybe not ..

The film is just too boring, too quiet and I think they tried to compensate that by the openness of the "sex scenes" that may be interesting for a while, but still boring in the long run of the film, simply because nothing more to come.
There is not enough content, not enough story to be told for a duration 100 min. No higlight, no backgrounds ...

If you want to spend an evening in front of the TV depressive, it is served with this film perfectly.

Waste of time watching it ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yes such a shame, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shame [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is really very slow, not much of a story, just a waste of money. Really it's just like a soft porn video.Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shame [Blu-ray]
Shame [Blu-ray] by Steve McQueen (Blu-ray - 2012)
5.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews