Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bounty Hunter
This was a fun film and entertained us on a cold and wet evening. As usual Katherine was fun and made the film light hearted if a bit unbelievable. The sort of film to watch again.
Published on 14 July 2012 by Gerrillee

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly lighthearted fun - enjoyable.
This film is exactly what you would get if someone sat down and said: "What if we reversed the roles in 'The Bounty Hunter?' What if Jennifer Aniston's character was chasing Gerard Butler's???"
A sweet, slightly inept ex-lingerie saleswoman (Heigl as 'Stephanie Plum') goes on the hunt for an ex who has skipped bail, with the aid of a hunky fellow bounty hunter and a...
Published on 4 July 2012 by Benminx


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bounty Hunter, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One For the Money [DVD] (DVD)
This was a fun film and entertained us on a cold and wet evening. As usual Katherine was fun and made the film light hearted if a bit unbelievable. The sort of film to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is ONE film you really should spend your Money on!, 28 May 2012
By 
J. Martin (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One For the Money [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately this film seems to have received a lot of bad reviews/press, I honestly can't figure out why as it's funny, smart and follows the book as far as is possible when transferring from Book to Film, but they have even gone into detail of showing Stephanie's favourite Pizza Restaurant Pino's in her phone when scrolling through, and of course you get to see Rex the hamster!
I've been a fan of the Stephanie Plum books for many years and was equally excited/apprehensive when I heard a film was coming out as you never know how it will transfer, I left the cinema happy and can't wait to see the film again which is why I pre-ordered it as soon as I was able to on Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the girls, 16 April 2012
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One For the Money [DVD] (DVD)
Charming and lighthearted this is one for the boys too. Katherine Heigl is perfectly cast as Stephanie Plum, a New Jersy divorcee who loses her job and her car and seeks a new career with her cousin Vinnie. Vinnie however is a bail bondsman and her new job is as a bounty hunter chasing bail jumpers. She takes on the workload of an experienced hunter who is off sick and finds his plum case is a former love interest of hers played by Jason O'Mara. Heigl in this girl next door type role is far more attractive than her IMDB mugshot suggests and she plays the role with charm and humour. This film won't make you laugh out loud or gasp with excitement but it is a very entertaining 90 minutes which you won't regret spending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the Money, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One For the Money [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good adaptation of the novel with great characterisation by the actors. I enjoy reading the books and was wary of any film adaptation, but this works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable but could have been better, 18 Aug 2012
By 
Ms. D. Durrant "Catswhiskers" (Stoke-on-Trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One For the Money [DVD] (DVD)
My friend and I are avid Stephanie Plum fans and had been looking forward to this film for a very long time. We had both heard the bad reviews so went to see it prepared to be disappointed. However, I can honestly say we enjoyed it a lot. Perhaps it was because we weren't expecting much but we liked it. It could have been brilliant but I can't put my finger on what exactly was wrong. Something didn't quite work, perhaps it was a chemistry thing. If you want to watch something light and fun then you should like this. The books are brilliant fun and I'd recommend those whole-heartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly lighthearted fun - enjoyable., 4 July 2012
This film is exactly what you would get if someone sat down and said: "What if we reversed the roles in 'The Bounty Hunter?' What if Jennifer Aniston's character was chasing Gerard Butler's???"
A sweet, slightly inept ex-lingerie saleswoman (Heigl as 'Stephanie Plum') goes on the hunt for an ex who has skipped bail, with the aid of a hunky fellow bounty hunter and a couple of bubbly (and funny) prostitutes. Needless to say, the film plays up the comedy and the romantic angles, while milking some good laughs from the entertainingly silly characters and the lead's constant errors.
Essentially what guys could refer to as a 'chick-flick action movie', it's feelgood fun in which you pretty much know everything that's going to happen before it does, but the journey is still light and amusing.
If you're a stickler for continuity and accuracy, steer well clear. Despite the fact that the script has characters point out at least twice that Stephanie's carrying a 5-shot revolver, there are several times where she empties at least 7-8 shots out of it without reloading. Similarly there's a moment where the characters hear shots and run to a location only a 5-minute jog away only for it to have suddenly gone from bright afternoon to pitch-black night in such a hilarious continuity faux-pas that myself and my other half were creasing up with laughter.
Despite that, it's easy to forgive - One For The Money doesn't want to be taken seriously - it's a breezy romantic comedy with doses of action that's just meant to be a feelgood confection. Rather like the cupcake offered at the end, as long as you just indulge in it instead of fretting the ingredients, you're likely to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun to watch, 2 Aug 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I have to admit that I have not read the book. However as far as a movie plot goes this is old as the hills. Everyone has an old acquaintance of relative or whatever tuning bounty hunter and having to go after the one they love or know too well.

In this case Stephanie Plum played by Katherine Heigl, divorced and out of work picks up the gauntlet and works for her cousin the bail bondsman and tracks down an ex-boyfriend who knows her only too well. Soon she suspects that he may be innocent; but a bond is a bond and she can use the money.

Well played as Ms. Plum seems like a fish out of water learning as she goes and we do get a few surprises as the story take a dark twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, just like book, 27 Aug 2012
This review is from: One For the Money [DVD] (DVD)
Good lighthearted fun, faithful to the books I thought, would probably have worked better as a tv series which would give the characters a chance to shine a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you like the Stephanie Plum books and/or good films, avoid this film!, 4 Oct 2012
By 
R. Sharpe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read most of the Stephanie Plum books and they are enormous fun. They feature great characters, witty dialogue and a hilarious Chandler-esque first person commentary from Stephanie Plum, the main character. They also have (particularly the early ones) well constructed and entertaining plotlines.
This film features a fair representation of the original plot and almost nothing else. The Grandma Mazur turn from Debbie Reynolds is fun but underused, and Sherri Shepherd as Lula managed to make me crack a smile from time to time, but the rest of the charm in the books is notable by its absence. In addition, the film lacks pace which is a total no-no with this kind of flick. If you've read the books, this film adds nothing so go and read them again (as I am doing now), if you haven't, give them a try because they are terrific, but this film needs to rot in the bargain bin, where it would be overpriced at 50p.
WARNING: Having read the other reviews on Amazon, there are some folks out there who are convinced that any negative review is in and of itself, unhelpful. I am sure that my review will soon be no exception, but you have been warned! The film is dreadful and I deeply resent the 10.00 I wasted on it. But don't take my word for it, have a look at Rotten Tomatoes or any of the professional critics out there in web-land. (I wish I had!) They will give you the same message: avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Box office disaster! Heigl up Worst Actress Razzie!, 16 Aug 2013
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One For the Money [DVD] (DVD)
What god awful film was I about to watch for Evanovitch's sake? Let's find out, shall we?

Actors who are, with one important exception, perfectly cast. Jason O'Mara may not look like the character of Morelli from the books (but then I never imagined the nutty Grandma Mazur as Debbie Reynolds) but he does the character perfectly and the chemistry with Katherine Heigl is just spot on. While not fatally sinking the film, Daniel Sunjata, the charisma free actor who plays Ranger, should be darkly drop-dead handsome, charismatic, and drily witty, none of which is on show here. Stephanie's parents are spot on, as are Vinnie, Connie and Lula who all look as if they walked off the pages of the novel.

Katherine Heigl is not an actress I've had any interest in but she is absolutely perfect as Stephanie -smart, sassy, sweetly sexy, brave and foolish, good natured, and much more. I just loved her in this. And so does author Janet Evanovich who knows a thing or two about Stephanie Plum.

So why was this movie a flop? It didn't recoup its budget of 40 million bucks, got widely panned, and Heigl was nominated for a Razzie for worst leading actress. Excuse me, but is there a similar film going around to the one I saw? It gets the flavour of the books almost perfectly and is a highly enjoyable time-passer. In no sense of the word is it a bad movie or Heigl a bad actor in it.

But what it should have been, with the same script and smaller budget, is the pilot for a TV series on Alibi where it would have fitted into the niche occupied by Castle, Bones, Rizzoli & Isles, and Body of Proof -all bar Castle are taken from series of crime novels.

Put it down to one of life's strange mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One For the Money [DVD]
One For the Money [DVD] by Julie Anne Robinson (DVD - 2012)
4.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews