Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting drama based on an assistant director's brief encounter with a Hollywood icon
It's the summer of 1956 & the world's most famous film star Marilyn Monroe (Michelle Williams) is in Britain shooting The Prince and The Showgirl [DVD] [1957]. After constantly fluffing her lines due to her not understanding her screen character it seems everyone has lost patience with her, including Director/Actor Laurence Olivier (Kenneth Branagh). Also her new husband...
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by AV1

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid, false, and badly miscast
This movie would have been better if they had made it about a fictional actress based on Monroe instead of about Monroe herself.

The Goddess, filmed during Monroe's lifetime (around the time this movie is set, in fact) couldn't have used her name, and it's much the better for that constraint. The Goddess doesn't constantly force us to compare Kim Stanley's...
Published 4 months ago by J. Martin


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars haven't watched it yet, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Week with Marilyn [DVD] (DVD)
it came on time and seems to be in good condition haven't watched it yet, we wanted to see emma in it to see how she was acting in something else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Week with Marilyn [DVD] (DVD)
Bought it for my wife for Christmas and watched it with her very good film and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Week with Marilyn, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Week with Marilyn [DVD] (DVD)
This was recommended by a friend and I really enjoyed it. I found the extra info after the DVD very interesting, as it's based on a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Week with Marilyn [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter has not seen this yet , so I do not know her opinion but it came quickly and was reasonably priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The making of The Prince and The Showgirl, 27 April 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I love films about hollywood, but this film about Marilyn Monroe and her time in England filming The Prince and The Showgirl with Laurence Olivier is not one of the best. Some terrific performances, especially Michelle Williams as Monroe and Kenneth Brannagh as Olivier make the film worth watching though Emma Watson is a little wooden and out of her depth in her first major role outside the Harry Potter films. The performances lift this film which otherwise without the mostly excellent cast would probably have been a made for tv movie, the type you expect to see on BBC 1 on a Sunday night. Well acted, but very safe and dull and rather pompous otherwise. Dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Michelle.... but a fantasy., 12 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Week with Marilyn [DVD] (DVD)
I have read the book and now seen the film. Entertaining yes...... but I can't help feeling it's Colin Clark's fantasy made real. There is virtually nobody alive (if indeed anyone) to corroborate his account of events.

What it did do was highlight how amazing MM was! Michelle Williams was staggering, beautiful, mesmerising and a revelation! Wow! But she only vaguely approached MM's magic. This is in no way is a criticism of MW..... only an indication of how stratospherically incredible MM's presence was.

If you see it/read it, the quality of it is determined by how much you believe CC's account.

Fantasy...... 3 stars

Reality....... 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: My Week With Marilyn [DVD]
a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Ms. L. Corless "lillian39" (Warrington, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Week with Marilyn [DVD] (DVD)
Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Week with Marilyn [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Week with Marilyn [DVD]
My Week with Marilyn [DVD] by Simon Curtis (DVD - 2012)
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews