Customer Reviews


704 Reviews
5 star:
 (422)
4 star:
 (135)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising gem
I had never heard of this film as we rarely go to the cinema but we'd just bought a 3D TV and Blu-ray player and wanted something to try. I was swayed by the awards the film had won and bought it in faith. What a surprise! The 3D was superb (we had seen Avatar and Harry Potter at the cinema in 3D and didn't think the TV 3D would be as good but it was. The story was the...
Published on 11 May 2012 by S. Capes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Superbly Produced, Simple and Charming Story, Presented Beautifully on 2D Blu-ray - BUT it's WAY Too Long AND Flawed
I watched 'Hugo' presented on this single-disc 2D/3D Blu-ray (Amazon state 'Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray' in their title, which is incorrect) with very little knowledge about the plot etc although I obviously did know that it was essentially a children's story/film (it has a 'U' viewing certificate).

I also knew that it was produced/directed by the great Martin...
Published on 5 Jan. 2013 by Mr. Laurence Williams


‹ Previous | 144 45 4671 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) (Blu-ray)
Good film, great value for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth seeing movie, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) (Blu-ray)
Very good film I enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
A. Kennedy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) (Blu-ray)
really like this film, very good 3 d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Jan. 2015
By 
JC Fan (Neath, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) (Blu-ray)
Great, family film. Great story too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hugo Blue Ray, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) (Blu-ray)
good film but not for the very young
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) (Blu-ray)
SO GOOD, I WILL BE WATCHING IT AGAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good item. very good delivery, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) (Blu-ray)
very good item .very good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived promptly., 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugo [2011] [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourites. Lovely film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Crap 3D., 12 Aug. 2013
By 
This review is from: Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) (Blu-ray)
This was the first 3D movie I bought for a brand new top of the range Sony TV and the 3D was so bad I turned it off after 15 minutes thinking that my TV was broken.

After avoiding 3D movies for nearly a year a friend lent me Tron 3D and to my surprise the 3D was perfect. And it's the same with every other 3D movie I've tried.

It turns out this movie is widely known for having utterly dire 3D. If you have a 3D telly you will enjoy the movie a lot more if you watch on 2D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starts as a great kids movie but Scorsese takes a detour, 30 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Hugo [2011] [DVD] (DVD)
Hugo begins as a great kids movie but perhaps Scorsese gets a bit distracted and takes an unexpected detour involving the birth of the movie industry.
Hugo is an orphan who lives in a Paris railway station and whose job it is to wind all the station clocks. The opening part of the movie explains the sad story of how he became an orphan.

In his spare time he is rebuilding a metal robot that his father was working on when he died. While looking for spare parts for the robot he has a confrontation with an elderly man who runs a toy shop in the station. The man (played by Ben Kingsley) also seems to have a sad life story that he doesn't want to share. Hugo also meets the godchild of the shopowner, Isabelle, (Chloe Moretz) who introduces him to world of books. For a while it looks like Hugo and Isabelle will have very exciting adventures as they investigate her godfather's life.

Scorsese's consumate movie making skill is evident from nearly every shot as he brilliantly creates the magical world of the railway station and Hugo's life within its walls.

However towards the end the main theme of the movie seems to change and it becomes about the early days of European cinema. This is interesting and very well presented by Scorsese but this part of the movie may not appeal as much to younger viewers who may be more interested in Hugo's story.

I enjoyed the movie but perhaps some younger children won't appreciate Scorsese's homage to early cinema towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 144 45 4671 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011)
Hugo (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (2011) by Martin Scorsese (Blu-ray - 2012)
£6.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews