Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 18 Oct. 2013
We begin with a one-shot concerning Cinderella. Then a two part story with Bigby in WWII. Finally a four part tale in Fabletown as Snow gives birth.

This scattershot approach allows Willingham to show his range and stretch his literary muscles without warping a single story into directions it isn't suited to go. Each is a great example of its genre and teaches us more about the characters involved. The period story is told through narration and presented as a diary entry complete with hand written text. Even though these are modern tales there are still classic lessons to be learned from them such as be careful what you wish for and the grass isn't always greener. We also see, or rather feel, Willingham's talent for evoking emotion in us readers.

The art is great with two artists on the job this volume. The WWII story has great colours that make it seem like newsreel footage from the time. The tiny panels also mark it out as separate from the ongoing storyline. It also has a great use of a map too.

Another top quality book with a broad range of stories to tell. Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And the search for happy ever after continues, 1 Nov. 2014
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 5: The Mean Seasons (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another great instalment of the Fables saga. Lots of new beginnings for the fables; Bigby and Snow becoming parents, a new mayor, Beauty and the Beast moving up in the world and the introduction of a long lost papa. Lacking the action and excitement of the last couple, but slowly and steadily building the tension towards far greater things to come. Still one of my favourite series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sustained excellence, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 5: The Mean Seasons (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
Another captivating and engrossing chapter in the ongoing story of the fables. Exploring the backgrounds of some characters and how this affects the present. There are big changes in New York and you get the feeling that this is all setting things up for a very big action packed next issue.
I have loved every part of this series, from the art to the amazing imagination, one of my favourite comic properties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Moves On Well, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 5: The Mean Seasons (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
I am reading all the tales in sequence and enjoy their shifting nature. No character or situation can be deemed permanent. The illustrations are beautifully drawn and rendered and the story flows easily. I cannot wait to read the next volume as I am.involved with all the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent chapter in the Fables Universe, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 5: The Mean Seasons (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
Phenomenal story.
Really cool to see some of Bigby's exploits during WW2 as well as the continuing drama of our favourite fairy tale creatures.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked awesome, 26 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. N (Athens, Greece, GR) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Fables series is simply fantastic. The further you delve into it the better you can see the genius of Willingham, Buckingham and co! Highly entertaining stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better and better, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of few comic book series Fables are getting better with every issue.

Everyone who likes original stuff should give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fables TP Vol 05 The Mean Seasons - Tony Akins, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is yet another book in the series which my son collects. He just loves the artwork as well as the storyline. Great value apparently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read!!, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
buy for my son and husband they love these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product, fast dispatch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews