Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mister Wolf on the case
This collects the first 5 issues of Bill Willingham's Fables comic. The run covers Bigby Wolf's investigation into the apparent killing of Rose Red in Fabletown - a community made up of refugees/exiles from the the lands of myth and fable. On paper the idea surely can't work but somehow it does by using characters that are imprinted on most children's consciousness from...
Published on 3 Aug. 2003 by Michael Finn

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing.
I'm not aiming for an in-depth review here, I just wanted to share how I also was quite disappointed with this. I was really intrigued by the premise of traditional folklore characters living in a gritty city setting, and how this would be expressed in graphic novel form. I did think there were plenty of great character ideas, particularly the development (or breaking...
Published on 12 July 2012 by Sophie L


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars fables, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this book as a gift for granddaughters husband so i can't comment oersonally but i know he was delighted with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent comic book looking forward to reading the others in the same comic book format the series is very compelling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Very entertaining and a good start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product, fast dispatch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing., 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not aiming for an in-depth review here, I just wanted to share how I also was quite disappointed with this. I was really intrigued by the premise of traditional folklore characters living in a gritty city setting, and how this would be expressed in graphic novel form. I did think there were plenty of great character ideas, particularly the development (or breaking down) of the relationships between all the "happy couples" such as Beauty and the Beast and Snow White and Prince Charming. There's lots clever little details like this that twist and subvert our familiar conceptions of fairytales (Solinas' review offers a thorough summary), and these did encourage me to keep reading through the whole thing. But I thought the story was tedious and dull - there's all this possibility for something totally unique, and all this intrigue surrounding these characters, but it turns out to be just another murder mystery, nothing much better than the average episode of CSI! I also would have liked slightly more interesting, varied and stylised illustrations, but that's just a matter of personal preference as I feel this way about a lot of comic art.

I'm aware that more of the history will probably be revealed in the other volumes, but I just thought it was a little strange to start such an intriguing series with this story, although it's worth a read to see the amusing little details that hark back to our childhood bed-time stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daughter loves them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comic, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 1: Legends in Exile (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
Got this after playing the first episode of the new game on Xbox and I'm really glad I found this coming. Fantastic world and interesting characters!! Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good comic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Is rly gd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews