Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars92
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2011
After the appallingly badly written previous volume, this one gets the story back to what we've come to previously expect. We get the background on the current villain, the Dark, the humourous war between Bufkin the winged monkey and Baba Yaga, a return to power for Gepetto, various machinations between the Witches from the 13th floor and a short aside towards the problems that exist in Haven. None of it is particularly gripping, but it's certainly a step up from that ridiculous crossover with Jack of Fables. I do wonder though if WIllingham is running out of steam. There are only so many grand crises the characters can live through.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Excellent writing and art, but the paper quality is very poor. It's like newspaper. Go for the Deluxe edition, it works out the same price, but it's hardback (2 TPB) and on glossy high quality paper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
This is the first in a well-established series of graphic novels. It introduces the fable characters, who are interesting modern twists on the fairytale characters that most of us know and love from our childhoods. It's a smart story but it's main strength is that it's also light-hearted, witty and doesn't take itself too seriously. It is beautifully drawn in quite a traditional style. It would be a great introduction to the graphic novel genre and - the best thing - the series just gets better and better.And if you are an aficionado and you haven't got into this series yet then you are seriously missing out!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
I love Fables. I bought all the deluxe editions so far... but this is pretty weak. Dull story, bad writing, art not so good as we're used to.
Definitely not recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
This is a brief volume with a main story concerning the choosing of the new North Wind, a Christmas one-shot about Rose Red and a series of mini stories. At first sight these mini stories seem to be the weak link but peer closer and you see they do subtly weave into the main plot.

The art is good as always but seems to have a bit more polish. Brighter colours and more detail on the faces seems to be the order of the day. The Mini stories also get to showcase new artists and styles.

Not the greatest book in the series but still an integral part and a Thumbs Up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
The positive first: this book has some really nice artwork, great draughtsmanship and nice colour work. BUT the story is boring, it's like a Scooby Doo plot! I didn't care about any of the boring, lifeless, predicable, 1 dimensional characters. The entire premise is simply a reversal of the traditional archetypes of Western fairy stories. Yawn. The purple prose similes and bad dialogue might impress some. I have no desire to read any more in the series. If the artwork had been shoddy it would have been unreadable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
After the relative disappointment of both Super Team and Inherit The Wind, I didn't have the highest of hopes going in to Cubs In Toyland - I shouldn't have worried - this is the most imaginative, dark, and emotionally resonant volume of the long running series in quite a while.

Everything about this book is gorgeous, elegantly written and beautifully illustrated - I really cannot recommend this volume highly enough. 10 years in and it seems Mr Willingham still has plenty in store for Fables fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Fables just gets better and better....Cubs in Toyland is an excellent read and focuses on Therese who received a mysterious toy boat for Christmas one that talks to her and asks her to go on an adventure. This being Fables she does just that and Snow White and Bigby's daughter is whisked away to Toyland not a very nice place to be and the boat shows it's true intentions....look instead of me giving the story away just buy it ......a brilliant read well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Terrible. Poor story and unremarkable artwork that just looks rushed. I have the Fables graphic novels and have found them decreasing in quality as the story progresses. I suspect the life of this comic has been prolonged as it accrues awards and the plots have been weaker since the fight against The Adversary. I found this in my library and so didn't spend money on it, thankfully. Avoid, does not add to the whole series in any way shape or form.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
This is sad little tale but beautifully told. It shows sacrifice, redemption and the role each of the cubs has, whether they like it or not. I have rarely not enjoyed every one of the fables graphic novels, it is a quality series and this is no exception. Every comic has its supporters and detractors and I am firmly in the support camp, and often recommend fables to non comic readers to show just how great the medium can be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse