Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mister Wolf on the case
This collects the first 5 issues of Bill Willingham's Fables comic. The run covers Bigby Wolf's investigation into the apparent killing of Rose Red in Fabletown - a community made up of refugees/exiles from the the lands of myth and fable. On paper the idea surely can't work but somehow it does by using characters that are imprinted on most children's consciousness from...
Published on 3 Aug 2003 by Michael Finn

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing.
I'm not aiming for an in-depth review here, I just wanted to share how I also was quite disappointed with this. I was really intrigued by the premise of traditional folklore characters living in a gritty city setting, and how this would be expressed in graphic novel form. I did think there were plenty of great character ideas, particularly the development (or breaking...
Published on 12 July 2012 by Sophie L


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe I hadn't read this sooner, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent series, and this is a great introduction to some of characters you already know from childhood, only they might not be exactly as you remember them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant! I'm not usually into comic books, but I was convinced and it's the best thing I've read in a while, will definitely be buying the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 1: Legends in Exile (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
This story is an absolute must for all lovers of fairy tales. Clever, witty, and true to the original characters it is captivating from the very start. I would heartily recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 1: Legends in Exile (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
Amazing, a must read for all comic book fans. Once you finish it, you'll be reading volume 2, that's a promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well illustrated good story, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 1: Legends in Exile (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
Well illustrated a different way to read a book on your Kindle with pictures and word in a comic book formart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairytales do come true, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 1: Legends in Exile (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
Graphics could have been better but story is great! Refreshing take on classic fairytales.
I started reading as i have played "the wolf among us" game which is based on these graphic novels. I would also recommend the game too!
Pass me the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 1: Legends in Exile (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
I hesitate to give this five stars because such a rating should only be given to something that is near perfect but that should give people no doubt that this is a fantastic read.

Imaginative, colourful, amusing and interesting, this book places the standard genre of detective story into an extraordinary setting yet keeps the basic plot interesting.

Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fables vol 1, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 1: Legends in Exile (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
I decided to start reading these graphic novels after playing "the wolf among us" an online game based on these graphic novels. I have to say I love reading these, they are absolutely brilliant. I'd recommend them to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent comic book looking forward to reading the others in the same comic book format the series is very compelling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up!, 18 Oct 2013
The creatures from stories, fairy tales in particular, have fled an invader of their homelands and arrived in New York City. The more human looking ones integrate into society and establish their own secret community.

This is a really neat idea and you get to see what characters such as Snow White, Jack the Giant Killer and Cinderella do after their tales end and the kind of people they become. All of the characters are well realised with depth, complex human values, emotions and aren't just paper stereotypes. It is fascinating to see them out of their usual settings yet remaining true to their nature.

The plot is a murder mystery which is a great way to hook your interest and introduce you to a diverse cast. It is very well executed and the parlour scene at the end will have you nodding along sagely. The dialogue is good and although there are chuckles along the way you are laughing with these people not at them.

There are a couple of recaps as the story goes on, which is necessary for a new comic book that is still attracting readers, but redundant in a graphic novel. Cleverly these recaps are presented in different styles and contain additional information for the continuing reader so you don't mind. The book is full of neat little touches such as each chapter having a little summary, as was typical in literature of the period when these characters were originally created.

The art is good solid stuff, very traditional in layout and format. Plenty of detail and good colouring that makes the most of the matt paper characteristic of Vertigo books. A great idea is that flashbacks are contained in elaborate oil-painting style frames as if a past moment has been captured.

This is a very encouraging start. A great premise, well drawn and written, that won't let you down. Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews