Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough for a Thumbs Up!
Having spent six volumes exploring Western folklore we now see an encounter with the legends and stories of the East. Unfortunately the only character we meet is Sinbad so an opportunity to learn from many of the planet's most ancient cultures is lost.

It is well written, dramatic and enjoyable. It feels authentic and respectful. It also moves Fables from...
Published 16 months ago by 365 Graphic Novels

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A different layout
The actual story of the fables was interesting enough, though I struggled though the last section of the book where the art style and the pacing of the story totally changed. The font became difficult to read and the art changed from the familiar style I had became accustomed to something less enjoyable and foreign.

I felt the overall book was not as strong...
Published 7 months ago by Cetrie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough for a Thumbs Up!, 18 Oct. 2013
Having spent six volumes exploring Western folklore we now see an encounter with the legends and stories of the East. Unfortunately the only character we meet is Sinbad so an opportunity to learn from many of the planet's most ancient cultures is lost.

It is well written, dramatic and enjoyable. It feels authentic and respectful. It also moves Fables from covertly political to overtly political. The commentary on today's Western involvement in the Middle East is a distinctly unsubtle affair. No matter how delicate and sophisticated the intention was the end result is the brown people were bad and the white people won in the end. A definite missed opportunity. Hopefully more storylines will follow.

There is also a single part story concerning the wooden soldiers. This is an unusual and charming affair. You know there will be a twist or rug-pull at the end but it won't be what you are expecting and it integrates nicely into the bigger picture.

The art is mostly more of the same. Enjoyable, regulated and familiar but with ubiquitous fancy borders and the odd creative montage. The single issue piece has a different artist and a very different look. There is a flat, two-dimensional feel to it, with artificial looking colours. This is a perfect metaphor for the constructed beings it deals with.

Enjoyable enough for a Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Middle-Eastern Spice, 14 Feb. 2015
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 7: Arabian Nights (and Days) (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
As the adversary marches on to new worlds the Arabian Fables start looking to the real world. The inclusion of these characters is a welcome addition to the Fables cast. Overall this story continues to be strong, especially with all the changes in the Woodland office. Also, there is a nice extra story tacked on the end.
Still one of the best comic series out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New perspective on fairy stories, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 7: Arabian Nights (and Days) (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
This book spends a lot of its time bringing the eastern tales into the world of fables, from Djinns and Genies through to Ali-Baba etc. I was very impressed that these tales were interwoven and a different perspective was taken than from the traditional western fairy tales we are used too. However I did feel that the narrative flow of the main story was slightly held back by this decision.
Overall I am still in love with Fables and cannot wait to read the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A different layout, 21 July 2014
By 
Cetrie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 7: Arabian Nights (and Days) (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
The actual story of the fables was interesting enough, though I struggled though the last section of the book where the art style and the pacing of the story totally changed. The font became difficult to read and the art changed from the familiar style I had became accustomed to something less enjoyable and foreign.

I felt the overall book was not as strong this time and hoping for a return to form with the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fables Vol. 7: Arabian Nights (and Days) (Fables (Graphic Novels)) (Kindle Edition)
Good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews