Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johns just gets better and better
And this is a true fact. I started reading Green Lantern over a year ago when Green Lantern: Rebirth came in the post. I was a little bit tentative and anxious to read the book, as it may contain quotes from previous issues or events that i won't know about, but it didn't. Geoff Johns created a book that was fantastic for both the hardcore green lantern fans and the...
Published on 24 Feb. 2011 by Mr. Michael L. Burgan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Red Lanterns to the Fray
Firstly I wish to start by saying that this is very well drawn, just like all current Green Lantern titles currently in circulation at the moment, and the colouring makes it really stand out.

However I wish to state why I have only given this three out of five stars. I only give five out of five reviews for stories that really warrant it; stories like Green...
Published on 6 Feb. 2012 by A. Standen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johns just gets better and better, 24 Feb. 2011
And this is a true fact. I started reading Green Lantern over a year ago when Green Lantern: Rebirth came in the post. I was a little bit tentative and anxious to read the book, as it may contain quotes from previous issues or events that i won't know about, but it didn't. Geoff Johns created a book that was fantastic for both the hardcore green lantern fans and the newcomers like myself. But we are not here to talk about Rebirth, are we, were here to talk about Rage of the Red Lanterns.

After the fantastic books before this including Rebirth and the phenomenal Sinestro Corps War, I started to buy Green Lantern books left, right and center, and Rage was on my list. When this came in the post I already surprised at the wideness of the book, it was either the same length as or larger than Rebirth, which made me a lot more giddy as Rebirth had me entertained for a couple of days, so I though that this could entertain me longer. And I was right. What a fantastic book! The story, cleverly crafted by Geoff Johns with the first few issues representing the distrust between the Green Lanterns and the Guardians of the Universe after they brought in the machine created super soldiers, The Alpha Lanterns, to essentially police the police. You maybe thinking to yourself right now, what does this have to do with the red lanterns, and some of you may get bored of this story arc but I still highly recommend this book as it is brilliantly written by Geoff Johns, even the part about the Alpha Lanterns. The second part of the story actually focuses on the Leader of the Red Lanterns Atrocitus and how he attempts to kill the former Green Lantern Sinestro for imprisoning him. This story, also shows the first ever Blue Lantern (shown briefly at the end of the Sinestro Corps War).

Now, I have talked about the writing for much of this review but the artwork deserves so much acclaim. The artwork by Ivan Reis (who is very much becoming a fan favourite of mine) and Shane Davis is absolutely mesmerizing and the detail in the art is fabulous. A top notch book from a top notch writer and artists, the book melds together brilliantly and all of the tie-ins, all of the subtle hints and all of the main character developments will come together in the Blackest Night and Brightest Day Events which I also highly recommend reading.

This book is absolutely fantastic, Geoff Johns at his best (well to be honest he hasn't be off his best in a long time)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for the war of light!, 9 May 2011
This volume collects stories set just after the end of The Sinestro Corps war. The Green Lanterns have been victorious - or so they think. In fact, the Guardians are doing exactly what Sinestro wanted them to do, becoming harder, more obstinate and unreasonable. They continue to reform the Green Lantern Corps by creating new rules for lethal force and creating a new subgroup - the Alpha Lanterns. In the meantime, two new Corps arise. From rage against past sins of the Guardians comes the Red Lanterns, and in hope for a better future come the Blue. Meanwhile the Sinestro Yellow Lanterns want to rescue their founder, and so a confrontation of all four armies is due...

The writers are creating an awesome galactic mythos, with different coloured power ring armies clashing with different philosophies, all in preparation for Blackest Night. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Red Lanterns to the Fray, 6 Feb. 2012
Firstly I wish to start by saying that this is very well drawn, just like all current Green Lantern titles currently in circulation at the moment, and the colouring makes it really stand out.

However I wish to state why I have only given this three out of five stars. I only give five out of five reviews for stories that really warrant it; stories like Green Lantern: Rebirth and Sinestro Corps War, those two will truly be remembered. Rage of the Red Lanterns is clearly not in their league, not because it is poor but because those two set the bar so much higher than the usual standard. And by no fault of its own but in my opinion it just fails to meet those expectations set previously.

Rage of the Red Lanterns just feels, in a way, very similar to the Green Lantern: Agent Orange story arc, we are merely being introduced to a new corps and nothing groundbreaking is shown to us, nor do we learn anything that is essential for the future. So as a result while this is a good stand alone story and definitely worth a look it just isn't imperative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new episode of the Green Lantern Corps, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
Squirr-El (The Metropolis, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This volume reprints Green Lantern issues #26-28 & #36-38, along with Final Crisis: Rage of the Red Lanterns #1. The first three issues give us the origin of the Alpha Lanterns and introduces us to the Red Lanterns, along with some interaction between the imprisoned Sinestro and Hal Jordan. The second three issues gives us more interaction with Sinestro and introduces the Blue Lanterns, as the Red Lanterns take centre stage and revelations about Sinestro's past are, err, rervealed. Despite being split into two sections, the story flows freely, the art is very good, and the Darkest Night slowly unfolds. This could easily have been a Green Lantern corps volume, but the two series are so intertwined that you have to read both to keep up with events anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Story, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following on from Sinestro Corps War, this story ties makes several references to the events of said book, so I highly recommend reading this after Sinestro Corps War. Building up to Blackest Night, this is a good story, but falls a little short by itself. Only purchase if you are collecting the entire Geoff Johns run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Jordan / Sinestro front and centre of this book., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: Rage of the Red Lanterns (Blackest Night) (Kindle Edition)
While this book is on the face of it a first introduction to some of the many new factions in the war of light storyline, where the powers, ideologies and cool costumes are showcased. I feel the spine of the book is the exploration of the Jordan / Sinestro relationship which is examined throughout the book. If you`re Sinestro fan like me it's always great to see him here, esp. As this book focuses on the aftermath of the Sinestro Corp War and the changes in status quo of the green lantern universe that has game a hand in shaping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rage of the Red Lanterns, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern: Rage of the Red Lanterns (Blackest Night) (Kindle Edition)
Another great story brilliantly told, and again I am searching for the next chapter, the Orange agent and amazing on the kindle fire hd, thanks DC for the e comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Lanterns for the win!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Red, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great story but would highly reccommend reading Sinestro Corps War first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great condition and great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews