Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time for a final Thumbs Up!, 6 May 2012
This is it. The end. Finito. No more. It is always sad and hard when a series that you love ultimately reaches the final curtain. All you can hope for is that your faith in loyal years and epic number of words read will be rewarded and it will leave you warm and fuzzy for several days after.

There is a lot of pressure as from day one Yorick has had a definite goal in mind. Will he achieve this and how will he cope if he does or indeed does not. Is it really going to end in a happily ever after or is the writer going to take a risk and pull one last surprise out of the bag. Both. Some characters achieve happy endings, some don't make it to the finish line and the ending, whilst satisfying, is not what you expect. Through some clever use of the timeline the author is able to prolong the suspense just that little bit further.

The art and most notably the colouring is spectacular. Finally in the home straight all the stops have been pulled out to make for some incredibly beautiful pictures. There are some iconic images of Paris and some unexpected ones too. This concluding volume both satisfies and surprises yet leaves you wondering what would have happened if things had been different. It is time to join the writer in saying "alas poor Yorick..." Time for a final Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping TV You Can Read, 1 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the culmination to a good series, always interesting, although - like the TV series the writer is now involved with - not every "episode" is a strong one.

I expect, if the US TV networks will buy a series with only one male character, this will be a TV series soon, hailed by all as the new Lost or Heroes.

Publication was delayed - by the publisher, not Amazon - and, like another reviewer, my copy has 20 pages printed upside-down, but these minor irritations aside it is a good finale with shocks, surprises and a satisfying ending for all the story lines. No hanging threats of further issues, thankfully.

The artwork is not in itself beautiful or remarkable, save for the sheer quantity of pages over ten collected editions, and really is there to illustrate the story rather than enhance it like, say, Dark Knight Strikes again or 300. That said, it does the job very well.

Be aware it must be read in order, unlike the various X-men or Batman comic series, so make sure you start with Vol 1. By the end, I realised I had spent nearly £80 on a comic book story. That's quiet a commitment, way more than I'd spend on a DVD box set, for example.

So although I liked it and I heartily recommend it, be aware it can be an expensive thing to get hooked on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Avez-vous vu cet homme?", 28 Dec. 2008
And so we come to the end.

For the past six years I followed this comic series, and for the most part I found it an entertaining, clever and, at times, harsh series. Whilst it did not have the same "WTF-Factor" of something like the Luna Brothers' "Girls", or the same epic intensity as "The Walking Dead", it was definitely one of the better contemporary comics available on the shelf.

Anybody who's been following the story up to this point will know the drill, and will be eager to see the stories of Yorick, 355 and Ampersand finally resolved. But, Brian K Vaughan does not play nice with the reader, as anyone who has read "Pride of Baghdad" can tell you. It's interesting to compare the conclusion of "Y: The Last Man" to the finales of other classic comic serials such as "Preacher" and "Transmetropolitan". Vaughan seems committed to giving us an ending which is all too familiar to real-life, where all farewells tend to be bitter-sweet. In doing so gives us an ending which is emotionally satisfying, perhaps even moreso than the aforementioned finales. That the emotional sucker punch comes so unexpectedly without creating a major tonal shift in the story is a credit to Vaughan's writing and Pia Guerra and Jose Marzan's clean yet expressive artwork.

Clearly not for those new to the storyline, but an absolute must if you've been following the series.

Warning: You may cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking..., 1 Nov. 2010
What an excellent series, easily one of my favourite comics, ever! And as a final issue, this works well to get a lot of the loose ends tied up and give you an actual conclusion. Unfortunately, not one everyone will be happy with.
I have to give it 4 not 5 stars because i really feel cheated and angry by the resolution of Yorick/355's storyline. I feel as though the writer, Mr Vaughan, boxed himself into a corner and was not sure how to resolve their relationship. This even seems to be hinted at by the writer himself!!! As he refers to the 80's TV show 'Moonlighting' and its failure to deliver after initially giving the audience what it wanted. This appears to be a case of the writer 'excusing' himself before writing the ending...
This might seem cryptic as i do not want to spoil it for those of you still to read it. The artwork as usual is excellent, expressive without being showy or overblown. Read it, see for yourself and ask yourself whether that ending is a cop-out or a genuine convincing resolution...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great finale to a fantastic series, 20 April 2009
By 
Andrew Simpson (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are anything like me you might have been approaching this last entry in the series with a bit of trepidation, wondering if you are going to read it and be disappointed. Too many series have a strong story that ultimately ends up disappointing you at the end.

Luckily this isn't one of them. These final episodes manage to wrap up everyones story while still springing some surprises on you. The very final comic in particular took me through just about every emotion, from being the only book of any kind (comic or otherwise) that's made me cry in years to making me smile and laugh out loud.

I don't want to go into too many details as it would spoil the plot for anyone who's been reading so far and chances are you have been if you are thinking about buying the final book (otherwise go back and get the first one). If you've read this far in the series you're probably going to buy this anyway, and you'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting finale, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y: The Last Man, Vol. 10: Whys and Wherefores (Kindle Edition)
While some chapters have felt like filler in this series every panel in this volume feels like it was meant to be their and makes a point. The epilogue feels like a new series in itself and is carried off brilliantly! All the main characters development is brought to the surface in this making you feel the true impact of their struggle. This is an amazing volume full of brilliant characterization, subtle messages and thoughtful artwork. The few blips in the series are worth it for this magnificent omega.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final book!, 5 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While this isn't my favourite book of the series it has a great ending!
You will love the series and it is well worth reading.
Make sure you read them all and the finale will not disappoin.
Only wish there were more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finale!, 30 April 2009
By 
L. Nolan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was eagerly waiting the last of this series and for the most part I wasn't disappointed. Its a nice conclusion for the book, while the previous book dealt with the scientific musings this ties up all the relationship stuff (and I mean that in a good way!). It is a bit emotional and very well written. I did feel that maybe it was a bit crammed to try and tie everything up but that's not too noticeable, and one thing I didn't like was the end of Alter's story I thought it was a bit of a let down for the character. Other than that I really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
A. Jolly "Human Being" (Leyland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An incredible conclusion. Breathtaking and heartbreaking. Thrilling and emotional. "Whys and Wherefores" concludes Y the Last Man, and proves the series to be an absolute triumph. Read these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites, 14 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a much anticipated finale to a superb comic book. I started buying it some time ago from a recommendation and have been really impressed with the series. I have now collected all 10 of the graphic novels.

I ordered it way back in June on the pre-order system and saved a couple of quid because of it. However it was delivered way way past the actual release date and i have been sent a copy which has 20 pages printed upside down!

Amazon have really let me down with this one, the only reason i used Amazon for this is that i no longer have access to a comic book shop so i'm really disappointed to have had to wait almost a month longer than those lucky enough to be close to their local shop.

The Amazon service has really been going down hill of late and I've just about had enough. Also the transfer of the DVD rental to the appalling LoveFilm has led to me cancelling my subscription. Rant over!

5 stars cos the comic itself is superb, not gonna tar Vertigo with the grubby Amazon brush!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews