Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The FSFH Book Review says:
To understand 'V For Vendetta', you have to understand the times in which it was written. Britain of the 1980s was wracked by recession and with discontent against the Conservative government. Hanging over this was the ever-present Cold War mentality.

The premise of this book is that the Conservative government are voted out (as Moore expected at the time,...
Published on 21 Jan 2007 by Ian Tapley

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The plot in V for Vendetta is fairly suspenseful and there is a theatrical elment about the story that is well-done, but the anti-utopian society depcited in the story is nothing new and seems to have been essentially copied from 1984. While I appreciate that it is critically acclaimed and popular, I can't see how it can be described as a masterpiece. In addition, the...
Published on 24 July 2002 by CFB London


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The FSFH Book Review says:, 21 Jan 2007
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
To understand 'V For Vendetta', you have to understand the times in which it was written. Britain of the 1980s was wracked by recession and with discontent against the Conservative government. Hanging over this was the ever-present Cold War mentality.

The premise of this book is that the Conservative government are voted out (as Moore expected at the time, but which didn't come to pass) and the new Labour government insists on nuclear disarmament. So it is that when the Cold War becomes World War 3, Britain is uninvolved, but not unaffected.

As nuclear fallout affects the weather and radiation causes widespread death a fascist regime rises to offer England stability and order. The price for this is the internment and execution of blacks, homosexuals, liberals and all those who don't conform to the fascist ideals. The future Moore paints is a bleak and painfully believable one.

However, one man decides to destroy this new order so that freedom can be rebuilt from the rubble. The man is known only as V. When it comes down to it, V is the greatest element of this book. He's cultured, witty, mysterious, charismatic and ruthless. Also, David Lloyd's design of the character as a man dressed in a smiling mask and Guy Fawkes costume is inspired. My favourite bit of the book is when V sneaks into the home of a child-abusing bishop and confronts the corrupt clergyman with a Rolling Stones quote; 'Please allow me to introduce myself, I'm a man of wealth and taste'.

There are numerous other characters integral to the story; the widow Rose, forced to become a stripper; the Leader, an insane fascist in love with Fate, the computer which effectively controls England; as well as the various heads of the Party. However, there are two characters who reveal about V what he never reveals himself.

The first is Mr. Finch, a police officer tasked with hunting down V, who undertakes a personal quest to understand V's mind (which includes an LSD trip in a death camp).

The other character is Evey. At the beginning she is a helpless girl who turns to prostitution to make ends meet. However, after meeting V she begins an education at his hands in the meaning of freedom which breaks her and then remakes her.

At it's most basic level this book is about freedom, both personal freedom and freedom as an abstract concept. Dark, disturbing and thought-provoking, this book still manages to be exciting and uplifting. Certainly one of the best pieces of literature (not just comic-form) that I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracker!, 6 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
Back to graphic novels after a long absence, I had never read V before, but ordered a copy.

Lets just say I'm not often motivated enough by a book or CD to want to review it on Amazon, but this book does.

Absolutely superb read, complex story with super characters. Really couldn't put this one down.

After reading, immediately watched the movie which has had mixed reviews. In my view not a truly bad film at all, but a far cry from the book with some serious storyline changes. I mention this because if you have seen the film, dont let that cloud your judgement of whether to read the book.

The book is a lot more sinister - due to its age it actually carries a wonderful style - very Orwellian, very Brazil (The film, not the country!).

Please read, its well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V for Vendetta. Exceptional story telling unlike anything else, 3 Sep 2014
I seen the V for Vendetta 2006 movie a when it came out on DVD. I really enjoyed it and thought it was one of those kind of films that everyone should see. I was only on the DVD special features that it was based on a graphic novel. Which I spotted sometime after in Comic Book shop. The sales assistant proceeded to tell me that the creator's name Alan Moore appears nowhere in the movie and one difference in the beginning of the story. I was interested in this book that inspired the great film. I received the book and mask set as a Christmas gift from my Girlfriend along with this painting she got me also.

This book is a product of the times it was written in, Britain of the 1980's was wracked by recession and with discontent against the Conservative government. Hanging over this was the ever-present Cold War mentality that paints a bleak future and loss of many freedoms. The story features many characters from different points view but the main character is the mysterious man know only as V. This is a mature, complex and dark story. It is one for the most prolific comic stories ever written. Well worth checking out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect comic book?, 3 Nov 2002
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
I tend to listen to friends advice very often, and I also happen to like being generous when I by them Christmas presents. So a friend of mine talked alot about how much he wanted to read From Hell by Moore. So I bought it as a Christmas present for him, mostly because I wanted to read it myself. And we both liked it. Later, I owed the same guy some money, and after listening to him muttering that V for Vendetta might just be even more brilliant, I bought it to him too. And it was awesome. I have always been a little scared of superhero books, and I never really liked Batman or Punisher very much. But this was beyond great. The hero is so extremely complex and sophisticated, that any comparison to the more famous superheroes is impossible. And the setting is really one of the best grim futures I've encountered in any literature or movie.
Set in London in some future, the world has been torn apart by some great war, and several continents are wiped out. England has prevailed. And now she is being controlled by a totalitarean (is that a word) and facsist government, who seem to put her future in the hands of the all knowing computer Fate. Anyone who strays from the ideals and looks the government want, are arrested and taken to camps. In this future, music, art and literature is forbidden, unless it is approved by the government, and not much is. In the middle of this we follow Eve, a young girl lost in the city and drawn to prostitution to survive, and her mysterious captor/savior V, a terrorist and visionary, who tries to turn England back to what it were before the war.
If you like Neil Gaiman or Garth Ennis, you'll love V for Vendetta, also if you like any story about dark futures, like George Orwell's 1984 (well that's more a dark past).
Now I really look forward to buying "The Watchmen" and "Swamp Thing". Guess my friend is too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a story, 31 Aug 2006
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
There are plenty of stories, film, television and literature that tell the story of a world where you're always being watched. But none achieves the level of though that V for Vendetta is able to do.

Acknowledging and referencing a large number of other works, Alan Moore not only conveys his ideas in an exciting and cinematic way (with help from David Lloyd's stunning art style), he is able to justify all of his ideas.

V for Vendetta is a story of a number of individuals that come together and collide to bring about a change in an apocalyptic Great Brittan. But it's not simply a story, but a story that is being used to make you think. Vendetta isn't great because of its narrative or suspenseful set piece but because of how it uses those to get you thinking about more important things.

True that it's not the most original piece of work story wise, but it tells its story in a special way and is the best of its kind as well as being a rarity in quality in the comic book genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily Alan Moore's best to me, 23 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
I expected a lot of this Graphic Novel, but it was even better. This one really blew me of my socks. What we get to see is an alternative timeline in which Germany actually won World War II and where England has turned into a fascist state. People live very cautious and affraid because everything they say or do is being monitored, and they've been overly restricted by their own government. Then oneday a mystic figure appears and he rocks the city. He murders people of importance, he blows up government buildings, and nobody knows a single thing of who he is or why he does the things he does, except that he's codenamed himself V. Meanwhile V takes a little girl under his wing who he teaches things about his history, about herself and about what is happening. But over time the government is getting closer too. Along the story more and more is explained about who V is, about what moves V, about the real consequences the war has cost and about the value of a free will. All this is illustrated very appropriatly by David Lloyd in a bit of a cinematic style. This makes the flow of the story even better. For me personally this is the best Alan Moore Graphic Novel I've read so far and I would easily recommend it to everyone who is looking for something more than superheroes. Even when you're normally not that much into comicbooks this could very possibly still be one heck of a ride for you ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V for vendetta - The book, 2 Mar 2007
By 
David Lazzari - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
First watch the entertaining film.

Then read the wonderful book.

I have recently read the book twice within a month (I borrowed it from the local library but it's on my Amazon wish list) and was blown away by it. I haven't read a comic for years - probably not since I was in my early teens (too many years ago to work out) - but this book was everything a book should be but in graphic novel form. Extremely well drawn and incredibly well written. Intelligent use of language; great plot and great characters. While the story is similar to the film version once you have read the book you realise how much has been changed. I'm past getting too upset over films not following the book as closely as I'd prefer and have long since forgiven Peter Jackson for some major changes to Lord of The Rings. Similarly I'll forgive the Wachowski brothers and James McTeigue for cutting out swathes of the book and changing the story-line to fit 120 minutes or so. However once you have read the book you'll realise how much better the original version is. It makes more sense and while leaving one or two things hanging it feels right.

Warning - just because it's in comic format it doesn't mean it's a child's book. I'd say 12 or over and that would depend on the child's maturity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good evening London. I thought it time we had a little chat, 17 Jan 2007
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
The best graphic novel, and certainly a contender for the best novel, that I have ever read.

Alan Moore has created a masterpiece. It is, in a way, an anarchist Bible, and tells a tale of a war between Fascist authoritarianism and Anarchist terrorism. It brings to light that sometimes you do support the terrorist. V isn't a person, he is an idea, and the way, he speaks, the way he acts, are all philosophical and delve into life and ideas of government and freedom. This really shows the superiority of Moore's writing. The art is very interesting too, it is very dark and oppresive, and gives a lot to the book.

The film based on the book is also entertaining, but isn't as dark and intriguing as the original book.

Once again, absolutely brilliant, a book of philosophy, freedom, and the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M for Masterpiece, 6 Sep 2001
By 
Mr. C. Hallam (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
Collected from the cult early eighties British comic, 'Warrior', Moore and Lloyd's chilling V for Vendetta portrays a chilling alternate Britain which has sucumbed to fascism after a nuclear altercation has destroyed most of the world. In a bleak and violent society, only the strangely Jacobean vigilante 'V' seems to act as a force for good.
As with Orwell's 1984, Moore and Lloyd's 1982 vision of Britain in '1997' is no less potent now that the year itself has been and gone. Darkly brilliant stuff. Lloyd's art has never been better and after this, The Watchmen and 2000AD's greatest ever story, The Ballad of Halo Jones, can there be any doubt that Alan Moore is the greatest writer in British comics today?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful., 15 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: V for Vendetta (Paperback)
V for Vendetta is not a graphic novel, comic book or piece of literature. It is an experience. At the heart of the story is the chapter entitled 'Valerie'. I challenge anyone to read this chapter and not cry their eyes out and yet at the same time be uplifted. And that is V for Vendetta in a nutshell. It will break your heart and twist you up inside and yet leave you feeling strangely happy through your tears. And how many works in any media, comics, novels, films or tv, can you say that about? V's insane, Evey's hopelessly lost and the whole Valerie thing might all be part of his deranged imagination. And yet it is beautiful. Absolutely beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

V for Vendetta {New Edition}
£7.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews