Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noir, Gotham City and a madman
Abandoning the usual clown-like gimmicks and superhero storytelling, Brian Azzarello and Lee Bermejo take us on a nightmarish journey into the Joker's life outside Arkham Asylum.

The Joker isn't a supervillain who toys with Batman here, he is a very violent and disturbed man who lives on sex, drugs and murder. He is really just a coked up gangster but his...
Published on 31 July 2011 by Sean Wilson-blake

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an ok comic, doesn't live up to the hype
This comic would be good if there wasn't such a variety of astonishing The Joker stories out there already. The Joker here feels like not much more than a "crime baron" rather than the psychopath we've come to know. Yes, he's violent and pretty nasty all round but it feels....... Formulaic. There is never really a reason for the Jokers actions in other comics and...
Published 7 months ago by Garry Ferguson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noir, Gotham City and a madman, 31 July 2011
By 
Sean Wilson-blake (Mauchline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jokerı (Hardcover)
Abandoning the usual clown-like gimmicks and superhero storytelling, Brian Azzarello and Lee Bermejo take us on a nightmarish journey into the Joker's life outside Arkham Asylum.

The Joker isn't a supervillain who toys with Batman here, he is a very violent and disturbed man who lives on sex, drugs and murder. He is really just a coked up gangster but his unpredictable actions and unreliability are still classic Joker, but just a lot darker.

About 130 pages long, it is a reasonably quick read as the story flows well and the artwork is just outstanding. My only qualm is that it could of been longer. But I'm not too bothered with that as the novel is gripping from start to finish.

Another great thing is the addition of noir blended in with these "super" villains. We have a dirty private eye, a realistic looking Gotham City, troubled characters, detailed violence and an overall very dark atmosphere. It's like James Ellroy mixed with superhero fiction.

It's one of the greatest graphic novels I've ever read but its' strictly an adults only comic. Containing disturbing bloody violence, plenty of bad language, sex, drug use and just darkness, this certainly isn't a kids read. This is the way the Joker is meant to be. A disgusting human being with his morbid look on life. Life is about death to him, and darkness all over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark & Gritty Graphic Novel, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joker HC (The Joker) (Hardcover)
Joker (Graphic Novel).

Product Info.
Hardback Edition.
128Pages.
Written By Brian Azzarello.
Illustration By Lee Bermejo.

(Warning Joker contains strong language, sexual references & drug abuse & is not suitable for young children).

What's The Story.
The Joker after yet another stint in Arkham Asylum, The Joker finds "his city" divided among mobsters & costumed villains, including The Riddler, Two Face, Killer Croc, Penguin, Harley Quinn & even the dark knight himself Batman.

Not content to settle for a piece of the pie, The Joker vows to take back the whole damn criminal underworld beneath Gotham City by any means necessary.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a excellent graphic novel that delves into the mind of Gothams most psychotic criminal as Joker is a brutal uncompromising read that pushes the boundaries & doesn't hold back on the violence as it shows the Joker to be a sadistic violent unhinged psychopath that's tone is written for a more mature audience as it details sexual themes, drug use & strong bloody violence with some great illustrations by the excellent Lee Bermejo who brings this story to life & off the page as Bermejo has created some stunning imagery to writer Brian Azzarello story.

Brian Azzarello has written a excellent story here the main focus being on the clown prince of crime & allows the reader to delve into the Jokers psyche.

Anyone expecting a full on Batman story will be sorely disappointed & while Batman does appear along with some of Gothams more sinister villains which includes The Riddler, Two Face, Killer Croc, Penguin, Harley Quinn, this graphic novel's main focus is always on the Joker & never loses sight that this is his adventure & delivers a gritty tension filled intriguing storyline which only negative is that it's a short read at only 128 pages long.

I can't recommend this graphic novel enough as it's a very dark & disturbing adventure & certainly isn't not suitable for younger children due to the novels dark subject matter, but for older mature fan's, Joker is a excellent solid graphic novel experience & well worth a read if your a fan of Batman stories.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an ok comic, doesn't live up to the hype, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joker (Kindle Edition)
This comic would be good if there wasn't such a variety of astonishing The Joker stories out there already. The Joker here feels like not much more than a "crime baron" rather than the psychopath we've come to know. Yes, he's violent and pretty nasty all round but it feels....... Formulaic. There is never really a reason for the Jokers actions in other comics and the attempt to explain the motives behind his actions fall short here, what's wrong with the Joker just being mad?

Also the character Frost (I've just finished reading this and I've already forgotten his first name, which should tell you something) fails to make any kind of mark on the reader, he's simply a plot device, and not a very good one at that.

Overall I'm disappointed, considering the hype surrounding this comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Elseworlds sequel to the Dark Knight film?, 22 April 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joker HC (The Joker) (Hardcover)
This really is a graphic novel and not just a comic-book story or collection. There are no super-powered characters on view, just characters with strange behaviours, affectations or afflictions. There is a Batman, but we don’t see much of him, and when we do, he shows no particularly heightened abilities. What we do see is a lot of unpleasant human behaviour, though admittedly very entertaining unpleasant human behaviour, as we follow the Joker on his campaign to reclaim his crime empire, having spent some time in Arkham. Hmm… it could almost be a sequel of sorts to the Dark Knight film (though I don’t know how the dates match up). The story is narrated by one of the Joker’s henchmen, who has his own part to play in the proceedings, and who gives us a ‘normal’ viewpoint of the goings-on. There is a Killer Croc, Penguin and Two-Face on display, as well as hordes of regular gangsters, criminals and crooked cops. The only ‘normal’ people we see are one or two of the Joker’s victims.

This is an entertaining story with superb artwork and dialogue - and the more I think about it, it really does feel like a sequel to the film, as the artist has obviously based this Joker on the film version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a laughing matter, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joker (Kindle Edition)
This novel made question my opinion of how joker should be written. Brain Azzarello makes joker more of a crime boss with nothing to lose like if heath ledger was more rational but not so much that he could lead a crime network like Jack Nicholson. It's now an all time favourite of mine and I recommend it but only too those that know joker and are not starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joker HC (The Joker) (Hardcover)
A must buy for joker fans, absolutely brilliant read and amazing art work. Bought this for my boyfriend but i couldn't resist, i had to read it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read a Batman story from another perspective., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joker (Kindle Edition)
The art is different in a good way, plenty of time with the joker who has some great lines. If you like everything Batman you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comic well worth the money, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joker (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this. Great artwork and fun story if it in2 twisted dark stories like I am lol I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joker (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic comic, loved every minute. The Joker was portrayed in the way he is supposed to be, no cheesy features about the Joker in this comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joker (Kindle Edition)
This novel delves deep into the criminal mind of The Joker. Not only does it introduce a narration from a unknown character called Johnny Frost but it gives you a dark and scarce perspective of The Jokers sadistic nature through the eyes of the character . This makes of a interesting and intriguing read that you just won't want to put down. Although it is a short novel it will make you want to read it again and again to appreciate how well Brian Azzarello has put together a interesting story. I am happy I have added this to my collection and is worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Joker
The Joker by BRIAN AZZARELLO
£8.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews