Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great literature, but a good story
In this fascinating book, author Alan Moore returns once more to his League of Extraordinary Gentlemen - a group of strange, yet capable men and women (well, woman, really) in Her Majesty, Queen Victoria's Secret Service. But now, the League faces its greatest threat - the War of the Worlds! Driven from Mars by John Carter and Lt. Gullivar, these foul creatures begin...
Published on 10 Jun. 2004 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but for fans only.
The second LOEG graphic novel is OK, but not great.
It starts off well and sets up a potentially great story, but unfortunately it's let down by strange and unnecessary plot twists.
It's not all bad, but best left for fans only.
Published 20 months ago by rob shreeve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great literature, but a good story, 10 Jun. 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In this fascinating book, author Alan Moore returns once more to his League of Extraordinary Gentlemen - a group of strange, yet capable men and women (well, woman, really) in Her Majesty, Queen Victoria's Secret Service. But now, the League faces its greatest threat - the War of the Worlds! Driven from Mars by John Carter and Lt. Gullivar, these foul creatures begin their conquest of Earth (as originally documented by H.G. Wells). The British government has a few tricks up its sleeves, but before this is all over mankind will face its gravest peril and treachery will split the League itself!
This is another fun and interesting book. I enjoyed seeing so many of my Victorian and Edwardian favorites exhumed and thrust into new adventures - John Carter of Mars, Major (later Colonel) Blimp, and Dr. Moreau. As for the story itself, I thought that it was OK. This is definitely not a story of heroes, but instead deconstructs the old heroes as raw materials for a postmodern story instead.
Let me clarify - the War of the Worlds itself was handled excellently, with lots of desperate action and adventure. However, the characters themselves don't seem to come together as nicely as in the first book. Unlike the first book, there are two sex scenes (well, three I suppose), but they are all rather disappointing. It's a dark story of war and death and treachery and surviving. Overall, I enjoyed it. Was it great literature? Heck no. But, it was a fun read and I do recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The League of Extraordinary Gentlmen vs. Invaders from Mars, 18 Dec. 2003
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Volume 2" collects the six issues put out by Mr. Alan Moore & Mr. Kevin O'Neill. The great conceit that Moore and O'Neill came up with was to create a late 19th-century version of a group of superheroes based on literary creations from that time period (in many ways the opposite of the legendary "Watchmen" series). Back again are the core group: Allan Quatermain from H. Rider Haggard's "She," Captain Nemo from Jules Verne's "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea," Mina Murray from Bram Stoker's "Dracula," Edward Hyde from Robert Louis Stevenson's "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and Hawley Griffin from H.G. Wells's "The Invisible Man." The works of Wells become a major factor in Volume 2 as two more of his science fiction novels are worked into the tale. The first is "The War of the Worlds," as the League is called upon to save England from the Martian tripods. The second plays a decisive role in saving the day, but I think that deserves to be a surprise for the reader.
Things do not work as well the second time around, partly because the novelty of the idea has worn off and also because the members of the League are not particularly well suited to dealing with invaders from Mars. That might explain why the soap opera elements are a bit more prominent this time around as Miss Mina becomes romantically entangled with one of the gentlemen and Hyde kicks Jekyll out of the picture. Actually Hyde becomes the most interesting character in this story, although you will need a strong stomach to read about how he deals with the group's traitor. For that matter, you should be forewarned that this trade paperback might look like a collection of comic books, but these are not for little kids. This is not as intense as "From Hell," but Moore's readers have long known that he only provides stories that have mature content. Even when Moore is not blazing new territory or reinventing the wheel in some interesting way, he is still worth reading.
The stories are still presented as if they were being published late in the Victorian era, with ads and articles that add to the general sense of fun. I liked the final words of the penultimate issue which disparages any one who fails "to purchase our concluding number" as being "a sissy, coward, or girl." Yet Moore and O'Neil lampoon the Victorian sensibilities of their characters as much as anything, and despite some major setbacks at the end of the saga, we are told that there is now an intermission before the stories continues again. As always, it will be interesting to see what literary works serve as additional inspiration for the next endeavor, although after the less than inspiring movie I suspect Oscar Wilde might be out of the equation (or should we expect Lady Bracknell?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Moore or Less!, 6 May 2014
By 
Mr. T. E. Rochester (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 2nd volume in Alan Moore's "League" series serves as a good sequel to the original.

This 6-part story is based on HG Wells' "War of the Worlds". The martians land on Earth, and the League (Mina Harker, Alan Quartermain, Mr Hyde, Harley Griffin and Captain Nemo) are tasked with investigating and stopping them. As I am a massive fan of Jeff Wayne's musical adaptation of this story, I had it playing in the background as I read it - amazing!

The plot is great, and like the first story, is filled with literature references, some obvious, some more secretive (spot Bleak House, Rupert the Bear and Mr. Toad in this one!).

However, the sex scenes seemed a little unnecessary perhaps, and the plot was a bit more simplistic in some places.
Having said this, Hyde's character is greatly developed in this one (and brutally so, poor Harley!). But the Invisible Man makes a stupid decision which doesn't really get explained methinks. I know he's scheming and greedy but really...?

The book is also filled with random fun miscellanea which is fun to read through, such as a pull-out boardgame.

However, the "New Traveller's Almanac" was a chore, and I only read the first chapter of it in the end (the British Isles). Now I treat Mr. Moore as something of a genius, but for one to understand this section, it seems one needs to have read, I don't know, every great work of literature written in England and America from Shakespeare onwards? I understand what he was doing (telling the history of the League and its world), but the content is so self-indulgent that unless you have read all these books, you'll get lost in the intelligent nonsense...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything's tickety-boo with this adventure comic, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pastiches (crossovers of classic fiction) have been done before, but not quite like this. Alan Moore and Kevin O'Neill create a universe where all fiction is in fact reality, notably Victorian fiction. The works of H. Rider Haggard, H. G. Wells, Bram Stoker, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ian Fleming and countless others are references in this exciting comic book. There's plenty of Victorian satire, amusing innuendo and the illustrations are fantastic. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys steampunk and classic literature, or simply a brand new kind of comic book. Not for kids.

While the plot of Volume I is very original, featuring a gang war between Professor Moriarty and Fu Manchu in the climax, this volume uses the plot of a well known science fiction classic as the backdrop - H.G. Wells' The War of the Worlds. While the first few chapters simply repeat what we've read in The War of the Worlds, the story does eventually get going with its own unique plot. There's the romance of Mina and Allan and Mr. Hyde's morally-ambiguous sub-plot amidst Wells' classic invasion-horror, so the plot eventually relies on the characters heavily, so we're not too distracted with the alien invasion. In fact, I'm glad that the Martians themselves have a small physical role in the comic, because this is a superhero comic and we already saw plenty of the Wellsian terror in the Dreamworks film adaptation.

The solution to dealing with a certain traitor in the story is very unsettling. Without giving anything away, a certain other character commits a really repulsive physical "assault" on him, and it made me very uncomfortable. The bawdy scenes of Mina Murray and Allan Quatermain also go a little over the top in certain scenes, though it's obvious that this is Alan Moore's way of letting us know that the horrible "League" film adaptation starring Sean Connery will in no way anchor his work, and he's distancing himself from anyone simple enough to enjoy that abomination.

It's definitely a great read and is unlike any other comic book based on classic literature. If you love Victorian fiction and enjoy the thought of the characters mingling with each other, this is a comic for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutley spiffing !!!, 22 Dec. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the second volume of the leagues adventures supasses the first one in both story, artwork and excitement.
the seamless and darn right clever way the characters interact and the story moves along are a joy.
as usual you'l have fun spotting the literary references and 'in jokes' in the artwork and these just add to the pleasure of the story.
A superb read on all levels. If you love alan moore and the league or if you just love a darn good adventure story then why are you reading this !! BUY IT NOW
PS, Oh and there is some ribauld naughtyness in the story too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen vs. Invaders from Mars, 28 May 2004
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Actually, my copy of "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Volume 2" collects the six issues put out by Mr. Alan Moore & Mr. Kevin O'Neill courtesy of America's Best Comics over the past year or so. Consequently it has nothing to do with the movie, which seems fair since the movie, just released on DVD, had relatively little to do with what now has to be referred to as Volume 1 of "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen." But then the movie merely copied the idea of the comics without capturing the magic.
The great conceit that Moore and O'Neill came up with was to create a late 19th-century version of a group of superheroes based on literary creations from that time period (in many ways the opposite of the legendary "Watchmen" series). Back again are the core group: Allan Quatermain from H. Rider Haggard's "She," Captain Nemo from Jules Verne's "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea," Mina Murray from Bram Stoker's "Dracula," Edward Hyde from Robert Louis Stevenson's "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and Hawley Griffin from H.G. Wells's "The Invisible Man." The works of Wells become a major factor in Volume 2 as two more of his science fiction novels are worked into the tale. The first is "The War of the Worlds," as the League is called upon to save England from the Martian tripods. The second plays a decisive role in saving the day, but I think that deserves to be a surprise for the reader.
Things do not work as well the second time around, partly because the novelty of the idea has worn off and also because the members of the League are not particularly well suited to dealing with invaders from Mars. That might explain why the soap opera elements are a bit more prominent this time around as Miss Mina becomes romantically entangled with one of the gentlemen and Hyde kicks Jekyll out of the picture. Actually Hyde becomes the most interesting character in this story, although you will need a strong stomach to read about how he deals with the group's traitor. For that matter, you should be forewarned that this trade paperback might look like a collection of comic books, but these are not for little kids. This is not as intense as "From Hell," but Moore's readers have long known that he only provides stories that have mature content. Even when Moore is not blazing new territory or reinventing the wheel in some interesting way, he is still worth reading.
The stories are still presented as if they were being published late in the Victorian era, with ads and articles that add to the general sense of fun. I liked the final words of the penultimate issue which disparages any one who fails "to purchase our concluding number" as being "a sissy, coward, or girl." Yet Moore and O'Neil lampoon the Victorian sensibilities of their characters as much as anything, and despite some major setbacks at the end of the saga, we are told that there is now an intermission before the stories continues again. As always, it will be interesting to see what literary works serve as additional inspiration for the next endeavor, although after the less than inspiring movie I suspect Oscar Wilde might be out of the equation (or should we expect Lady Bracknell?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully entertaining take on Wells' story, 17 Jan. 2004
By 
MarkK (Phoenix, AZ, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This book, a sequel to Alan Moore’s initial series recounting the rise of the League, is a feast for both the eyes and the mind. In it, Moore pits his group of famous fictional figures (some heroic, others anything but) against H. G. Wells’ Martian invaders. While the second volume lacks some of the freshness and character development of the original, it is nonetheless a great read, balancing an extraordinary faithfulness to his source material (especially Wells’ book) with Moore’s imaginative concepts and intriguing characterizations – and with an ending that offers a brilliant twist on the original story.
In offering this tale Moore is ably complimented by Kevin O’Neill, whose artwork offers a lush visualization of Moore’s alternate Victorian Britain. Like the first volume, the panels are full of visual references to the fantastic literature of the previous centuries, suggesting that the extraordinariness of this world is not limited to the central characters. Deciphering the references – which has sparked much discussion on the Web – is part of the enjoyment of reading this book, and it left me amazed at the breadth of both Moore’s and O’Neill’s range of reading. It is only one of the many ways in which the reader is rewarded when delving into this fantastic work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War of the Worlds from a different viewpoint, 10 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 2 ) (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this more as a War of the Worlds fan than necessary a League fan so this review is in that context.

This graphic novel is a re-telling of War of the Worlds from the perspective of the League. Unlike many such stories, it remains largely true to H G Well's classic in terms of both the story line and the imagery.

As well as the usual line up, there are guest appearances from John Carter and Gullivar Jones, who provide an interesting background to the Martian invasion and a few other "interesting" guests...

The storyline is fine (a bit silly in places) and the drawing very well done.

Note that this book contains sex, violence and language which, whist in context for the time, could be offensive to some.

If you enjoy War of the Worlds and spin-off's such as Killraven, then this book is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but for fans only., 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 2 ) (Kindle Edition)
The second LOEG graphic novel is OK, but not great.
It starts off well and sets up a potentially great story, but unfortunately it's let down by strange and unnecessary plot twists.
It's not all bad, but best left for fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 2 ) (Kindle Edition)
This is a highly intelligent book with amazing characters, intense action and lots of clever references to various literature. Even better than the first volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews