Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking good story
When Wilhelmina Murray (of Bram Stoker's Dracula) is recruited by Campion Bond to assemble a team of operatives, to work for Britain's intelligence service in 1898, she has very little idea what she's letting herself in for. Together with an aging drug addicted Allan Quartermain, the independent Captain Nemo, the unstable Dr. Henry Jekyll (and more unstable Edward Hyde),...
Published on 28 Jun 2004 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for kindle
The one star is for the ebook version. The book in normal format is great, but it is too small on the kindle screen. I got it as a sample and am glad I did so, it is no pleasure trying to read it. Don't waste your money.
Published 24 months ago by M Allan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking good story, 28 Jun 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
When Wilhelmina Murray (of Bram Stoker's Dracula) is recruited by Campion Bond to assemble a team of operatives, to work for Britain's intelligence service in 1898, she has very little idea what she's letting herself in for. Together with an aging drug addicted Allan Quartermain, the independent Captain Nemo, the unstable Dr. Henry Jekyll (and more unstable Edward Hyde), and the downright nasty Hawley Griffin (H.G. Wells' Invisible Man); she must unravel a multitude of overlapping mysteries, and save London...but from whom?
This is quite a fun book. As with any story that takes an existing character and casts him or her in a new role, there are bound to be complaints (e.g. when did Captain Nemo become a Hindu, and why is he now so zealous to protect the British Empire?). However, in their new roles, the characters hang together nicely, and work to make a fascinating story.
The illustration is nicely done, though the cartoonists appear to be drawn to women with large bosoms and impossible narrow waists. Overall, I did find this to be a rollicking good story, one that held my interest throughout. As an added bonus, the book ends with a prose prequel that follows Allan Quartermain on an adventure with John Carter, Randolph Carter and the Time Traveler. I highly enjoyed this book, and think that you will, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, nice artwork, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought the Kindle version of this graphic novel, having seen the movie version starring Sean Connery as Allan Quartermain.

I was very pleased with the original story, and the very good artwork.

Very much worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 1) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read.
I would recommend reading this graphic novel.
Nice artwork.
Looking forward to reading Volume 2 and Volume 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars League of extraordinary adventures, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a great collection of comics
The ideas are brilliant, the humour works and the original authors back in the 19th century would be proud
Anyone who doesn't enjoy it has no eye balls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to any collection, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great graphic novel, thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
The story, characters and artwork are superb.
Would definitely recommend, even if you don't like graphic novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, my new favourite comic book series, 24 July 2013
Alan Moore, who is best known for the epic superhero drama comic Watchmen and the dystopian revolutionary tale of V For Vendetta, unites his clever writing style with the gorgeous art of Kevin O'Neill.

The concept of The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen imagines an alternate universe where all of history's greatest fiction is in fact reality, blending countless works of fiction together into one world. In a 19th century setting, Victorian superheroes unite to combat a common threat - female hero Mina Murray (Dracula), veteran adventurer Allan Quatermain (King Solomon's Mines), Indian mutineer Captain Nemo (20,000 Leagues Under the Sea), shape-changing Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde and Hawley Griffin (The Invisible Man) are assembled by the shadowy "M" (Bond series) to recover the Cavorite, a Wellsian device which will propel mankind to the stars. The team become trapped in the middle of a gang war between Professor Moriarty (Sherlock Holmes' nemesis) and Fu Manchu "The Devil Doctor".

The comic makes references to so much outside fiction that it's hard to count them all without a fascination for literature. Unlike that dire and unforgivable 2003 film adaptation (*shudders*), this comic is certainly not for kids, as is typical with Alan Moore's themes. The comic satirizes British imperialism and demonizes many well-loved characters, while delivering intense action and spectacular fantasy. The idea of uniting literary characters in a pastiche is something that has been done before, but not to this level. The league of Extraordinary Gentlemen is an ambitious project which pays off spectacularly.

I recommend this to anyone who wants to read a superhero comic with something new to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary tale!, 11 July 2013
If you are looking for a top-class story with a unique combination of famous 19th Century fictional characters, then this is the book for you. Moore and O'Neill bring these household characters together in spectacular fashion with dialogue, art, and a storyline which is completely unrecognisable from the movie 'adaption'. I highly recommend this and volume 2 (although I am yet to read the others) for an enrapturing and thrilling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A heck of a lot better than the film, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a solidly entertaining read with a whole heap of fun and interesting characters, my personal favourite being Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 July 2014
By 
C. Slee "Lotte" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this comic. Very enjoyable - finished it all too quickly. Oh well, best buy the 2nd volume straight away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for kindle, 28 Sep 2012
By 
M Allan "Michael" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (Vol. 1) (Kindle Edition)
The one star is for the ebook version. The book in normal format is great, but it is too small on the kindle screen. I got it as a sample and am glad I did so, it is no pleasure trying to read it. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews