Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grown up Z story
Im loving this book, havnt finished it yet but so far its rivetting.

Not your normal slash and burn Zombie escapade but much better, less of a gore-bore more of a well thought out and polished Z-story but still thrilling and edge of your seat stuff, tense is the word Im looking for.

The main guy Eric is all ready and prepared for this new world, even...
Published on 20 April 2012 by Magsy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but a bit of a let down in some areas
I feel as if I am going to be the dissenting view with my review of this book. It is a good story which is for the most part well written. But there are some problems. At times the author seems to be padding going into far too much detail with "I did this, then I did that..." it seems almost at times as if the author were being paid by the I. Such cases do seem to...
Published on 25 July 2012 by Thomas A. Long


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grown up Z story, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Im loving this book, havnt finished it yet but so far its rivetting.

Not your normal slash and burn Zombie escapade but much better, less of a gore-bore more of a well thought out and polished Z-story but still thrilling and edge of your seat stuff, tense is the word Im looking for.

The main guy Eric is all ready and prepared for this new world, even so there are times he is caught off-guard (there wouldnt be much of a story if he wasnt)..

Even if you're a die hard Zombie fan, this book is great despite the lack of sickening gore fests...there is still plenty of blood and guts being splattered around.

I love this story because its almost how things really would be if it were all true, a bit like a survival manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior zombie fiction, 19 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
First off, I hope a follow up is in the works because this was such a page turner that it was over all too quickly. The writing style is clear, efficient, and flowing, yet the attention to detail - especially concerning weaponry and survival tactics - is impressive.
The protagonist, Eric, is an easy narrator to follow, and his character strikes just the right balance between prepared combat-trained survivor, and caring sensitivity. His roadtrip through an undead ravaged America to meet up with the macho tough as nails Gabriel is a true test of his skills as well as his humanity. You wonder how his personality might change along the way.
There are plenty of action packed moments and many gruesome encounters in No Easy Hope, and you feel death is never far away. Saying that, the mill community is a refreshing beacon of hope not often found in zombie fiction.
I recommend No Easy Hope for any afficianado of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope for a sequel, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A must for the 'Zombie Apocaylpse' fan...
A good read which I couldn't put down.

Mr. Cook, if you are listening (or reading!) - I Would like to hear how Gabriel and Eric's journey ends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking read!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The opening of this book leads you to think it's just another zombie fest, but dont let this put you off. It's actually a really good story. The plot is believable and well developed, as are the characters. A good writer has the ability to transport you into another world.. and this writer has certainly accomplished that. Im a fan of this genre of fiction and this book surprised me by being up there with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gun fixation, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Its not in the same league as DJ Molles' books, but quite enjoyable. I found the narrative a little odd - it reminded in style of the original HG Wells Time Machine for some reason. Perhaps in the way the narrative frequently descended into overly described detail of 'things', in this case guns and ammo. Guns and ammo worship may be of more interest to American readers, but I have little inclination towards M4s, mosquitos, lever action Winchesters, etc. regardless how much he repeats and emphasises these things. Once you get the idea of lightweight ammo and long range rifles, that's enough to get the story flowing again.
The bulk of the story is a descent enough variation on a common theme. Our main protagonist is turned into a survivalist by a newly made friend just before the outbreak of the apocalypse. The rest is pretty standard zombie fare but enjoyable enough to want to get the sequel at the end.
All American apocalypse writers seems to have stock characters - ex-military (preferably a SEAL, Green Beret or other special forces), a robust gun toting female, a well respected older community leader, bandits/marauding gangs/warlord - and we have these in abundance here with the all important gun worship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I do like it - I sometimes don't know why, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm going to start by saying that I did like reading this book and the follow on one. It has some good points that I feel outweigh the bad and I will be reading the third.

The real problem is that I don't like Eric the main character. He just comes across as a dou*che a lot of the time. The surrounding characters are much more likable than him, mainly due to his interaction with them. There is also very little peril for Eric, he just breezes through and solves every issue stuck in front of him. He can fight, plan, woo the ladies, shoot, play the guitar and squint his eyes when he needs stand up to everyone who isn’t just like him.

There are also some points where you think “really”, it was as easy as that. It’s all just too neat at times.
He also gets a massive pass from his in the know Special Forces friend Gabe. Without whom Eric would most likely have died like in the first few minutes of the outbreak. Gabe’s pretty cool but you still feel like slapping Eric every now and again.

Saying all that there is something that keeps me reading and for that I won’t give it a bad review. I do like the series. Way better than Trudge which is horrible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Easy Hope, 27 Mar. 2013
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Briliant book with a good storyline, this has been my first science fiction book, very impressed with the author in that he seems to be able to make you think that you are actually there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Easy Hope, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I truly enjoyed this, and from an author I've never heard of,I highly recommend that you give it a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but a bit of a let down in some areas, 25 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I feel as if I am going to be the dissenting view with my review of this book. It is a good story which is for the most part well written. But there are some problems. At times the author seems to be padding going into far too much detail with "I did this, then I did that..." it seems almost at times as if the author were being paid by the I. Such cases do seem to lessen as the book goes on and the action intensifies.

The biggest negative for me however was the main character, Eric. Of course this is very much subjective but I just found the character of Eric irritating and unlikable. He is simple too good at anything he tries. I don't want to give anything away so I am sorry if any of this seems vague or unqualified. Eric despite being a banker by trade is a superb shot, expert in hand to hand combat and possesses numerous other skills key to his survival in a world ravaged by zombies and raiders. The author does his best to explain how Eric acquired these skills and it is relatively believable, or at least as believable as it needs to be for a story about zombies. It's just that the author allows him self to get a bit carried away with Eric's skill level, the problem isn't that Eric is good at some things, the problem is that Eric is essentially perfect at everything. Arguable Eric's only fault is his arrogance, but even this is completely understandable given Eric's extremely talented nature. To make matters worse no other charter seems to be that aware of Eric's arrogance or comment on it even on the, all be it rare, occasion when he behaves like a complete fool.

There are some other issues, lots of the other charters are two dimensional. In addition the charters in the book use some incorrect terminology given their background. These are of course issues which I doubt most readers will even be aware of. For the most part it appears the author has done some all be it rudimentary, research. It was a nice touch when it was pointed out that petrol and diesels have a finite shelf life and would not stay useful for ever.

One problem with stories which are narrated is that we know the main character will get out alive an okay. This of course means there is no real sense of tension or worry about the main character. Of course had the other characters been worked on a bit more we would have at least been able to worry about them. But as it was the booked lacked any sense of suspense or tension.

Despite all this I would say that No Easy Hope is a good story, and there is a lot to recommend it its just a shame about the main character and the authors choice to not pad out other charters or in the case of the few characters who are more fleshed out not put them in harms way. I will be reading the sequel I just hope that author makes our protagonist a little less perfect and spends more time fleshing out the other characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Hope (Surviving the Dead Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the book. Will defiantly keep reading. Think the ending got rushed a bit from leaving the compound but overall I thought it was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews