Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible on Customer Excellence
If you work in customer service or run your own business you just have to read this book. It provides a practical route map to understanding how you can improve the relationship with your customers and how you can track customer engagement. I have read a lot of books on this subject matter but this is definitely THE defining book.
Published 17 months ago by Mr S R Godfrey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much of fluff!
The concept of NPS is good but it is just one more metric, the book tends to overplay it. Also some of the success stories are questionable whether entire success can be attributed to NPS or there were other factors.
Published 10 months ago by SS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible on Customer Excellence, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you work in customer service or run your own business you just have to read this book. It provides a practical route map to understanding how you can improve the relationship with your customers and how you can track customer engagement. I have read a lot of books on this subject matter but this is definitely THE defining book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here is an open-source methodology whose "engine" can drive profitable growth, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a revised and expanded second edition of a book published in 2006. In it, Fred Reichheld skillfully develops several concepts in much greater depth. In most of his previous books and articles, he focuses his primary attention on how to build and then sustain trust between and among those who share a workforce. Trust is again an important theme in this latest book because, if customers do not have trust in a company, its people, and its products and services as well as in its values, they will have little (if anything) to do with it and will certainly not recommend it to others.

The eponymous book titles refer to a question of ultimate importance: 'On a zero-to-ten scale, how likely is it that you would recommend us (or this product/service/brand) to a family member, friend or colleague?' As Reichheld explains, the phrasing of that question is 'a shorthand wording of a more basic question, which is, [begin italics] Have we treated you right, in a manner that is worthy of your loyalty? [end italics] 'But the question really wasn''t [and isn't] the heart of things. After all, no company can expect to increase its growth or profitability merely by conducting surveys, however the question or questions might be phrased.'

With assistance from Markey, what Reichheld does is provide a cohesive, comprehensive, and cost-effective management system by which that has three central components: categorizing customers into one of three categories (i.e. Promoters, Passives, an Detractors) through a simply survey, creating an easy-to-understand score based on that categorization, and finally, 'framing progress and success in these terms, thereby motivating everyone in the organization to take the actions required to produce more promoters and fewer detractors.' In other words, on an on-going basis, use current scores and related feedback to drive improvements.

With regard to the scores themselves, Promoters are those who provide a rating of 9 or 10, Passives 7 or 8, and detractors 6 or less. For purposes of illustration, let's say 100 customers respond as follows: 35 Promoters, 45 Passives, and 20 Detractors. The net score is determined by subtracting the total number of Detractors (i.e. 20) from the total number of Promoters (i.e. 35) and that is 15. That is a baseline against which subsequent efforts to increase Promoters and decrease Detractors are measured. Reichheld calls it the Net Promoter Score (NPS) and so shall I.

In my opinion, with all due respect to the importance of the NPS metrics, the implications of the measurements are of far greater importance. Think of the measurements as a mirror, one that reflects multiple realities. Only by understanding those realities -- and how to respond to each effectively -- can appropriate change initiatives be initiated to achieve and then sustain a never-ending process of improvement. 'Flexible it may be, but without the following elements, NPS just won't work.' They are:

1. Companies must systematically categorize promoters and detractors in a continuous, timely, and accurate manner. I think it is also important to note when Promoters become Passives and when Detractors become Passives. Also, to understand WHY.

2. Companies must create closed-loop learning and improvement processes and build them into their daily operations. In other words, NPS is not ' and must never be viewed as ' a customer relations improvement initiative or even a program. It must become and then remain an [begin italics] organic [end italics] system.

3. CEOs and other leaders must treat creating more Promoters and fewer Detractors as mission critical. I'd say 'mission imperative.' As Peter Drucker once observed, 'Without customers, there is no business.'

Hundreds of the world's largest and most complex organizations have adopted NPS but I hasten to point out that it can also be of substantial value to almost any company, whatever its size and nature may be. In recent years, it has been my great pleasure as well as privilege to work closely with owner/CEOs of hundreds of companies whose annual sales are less than $20-million. I would recommend NPS to each without hesitation or qualification. As Reichheld explains, it is 'a business philosophy, a system of operational practices, and a leadership commitment, not just another way to measure customer satisfaction.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much of fluff!, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The concept of NPS is good but it is just one more metric, the book tends to overplay it. Also some of the success stories are questionable whether entire success can be attributed to NPS or there were other factors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A potential Business Changer, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this book after hearing comments at a conference. Having read the book passed it to my manager who then purchased several copies for his other reports to read. The philosophy is gradually taking hold in the business and could be a game changer. Easy reading and it could just change your thinking and hence your business fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone doing business should have read this, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. F. Plancke (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In a world where the heartbeat is quarterly and everything is about short term profit, this book manages to explain clearly how to build a sane and positive relationship with your customers, which is definitly the key of any long term success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read if you want to understand customer experience management, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book, it's well written and gives some great examples of how companies have implemented NPS into their organisations and the benefits of doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Questioned answered, 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book at the request of my boss to see how we could introduce net promoter scores in our business. Having read the book, I am a convert and it is now my opinion that all businesses should run with this pointing to customer focus.

Littered with examples, some british, it explains all you need to know about the basics of why customer service can only really work if the whole business focuses on it in an organic way.

A good book with a little jargon but very understandable.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Fred but I'm a detractor!, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the smartest of business tools. I hate the name dropping of such successful businesses by the Author, the success of the companies mentioned have more to do with the brand, market positioning and unique products offered rather than a half concept to measure customer feedback and respond.

This measuring of feedback has been going on for decades and decades in business I recall learning about this back in the 80s but just because someone has now stamped a new name on the measure of feedback and decided to go to press we should attribute the success of Lego, Ebay or Facebook to the ideas of the man?? I think not.

The model does give something to use for those that currently do not have an existing strategy for keeping a focus on customer service but to an extent it is limited unless coupled with other tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
we are using NPS in the company where I work, nice book, but sometimes a bit too simple or not enough professional.
Some chapters seems to exist only for a larger book size.
But it explains well the NPS methodology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, somewhat repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews