Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's quirky and it's fun
I really don't understand why some people don't rate this movie at all. It takes all sorts, I suppose. For me, The Rum Diary is an often hilarious drama and something a bit different for Johnny Depp who plays the role of Paul Kemp, an American journalist who goes to work for a small and struggling newspaper in the America owned island of Puerto Rico during the 1960s...
Published on 19 Feb. 2012 by Valerie J.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but a little disappointing compared to 'Fear and Loathing...'
I have to say that this Johnny Depp ‘vehicle’ is not as good as the brilliant adaptation of Hunter S Thompson’s other book ‘Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas’ in which Depp also starred. It was nice to see Giovanni Ribisi (Pheobe’s brother in Friends) as an alcholic waster character, but it wasn’t a big part. The lovely Amber Heard...
Published 13 months ago by M. O. HAYNES


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully shot and acted., 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
I loved everything about this movie.. Johnny Depp is on top form here never been a huge fan but he won me over with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dont be put off by reviewers who are un aware of the book, 30 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rum Diary [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film was eagerly awaited for as I am a big fan of Hunter S Thompson and Johnny Depp.
Ive read reviews which didn't like this film as they where hoping for more of a performance from Johnny Depp which would be more like that of Fear and Loathing.
This film is always going to be onto a winner. If you've not read the book I highly
recommend you do before watching, its short and easy to read so get both at once.

The Rum Diary (Bloomsbury Classic Reads)

Hunters first book finally comes to life and is portrayed on screen very very well. An excellent cast and performance lives up to the story extremely well. The photography and direction for me was on the ball with how I visioned it to be when reading the book.
The film does drag a small amount with its length; but by its very nature it would do. As its following the book to a tee, rather than missing important situations or drawing it out into a two part saga.
Each character has been portrayed perfectly by the cast.

SPOILER ALERT!!!!

If you have read the book there is one rather uncomfortable situation toward the latter part of the film with the situation at the party. I've always wondered how this would be approached and if it would be to obscene and uncomfortable to watch on screen. With slight rework (only very minor) this has been done brilliantly, you get the idea and are aware of whats happening and about to happen without it being in full detail on screen...

If you like either Thompson, Depp, Rum, or a great movie then this will be for you. But I urge those whom have not read the book to do so first.

How well Fight Club was transformed to screen from a book The Rum Diary matches it for for doing just that, unlike that of The Beach, for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
By 
Colin Munro "shamwari" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the book, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
I made the mistake of reading the film before I watched the film. The film is good but if you really want to enjoy the film then don't read the book. If you've read the book then the film doesn't stand out at all and there are parts of the book that are missing which you would expect in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
I was so delighted to get this movie. Funny and brilliant nearly in the same vein as 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas'.
I am a huge Hunter S. Thompson fan and Depp can really capture HST's character. I only hope this is one of many more HST / Depp movies to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky Brilliance, 22 April 2014
This review is from: The Rum Diary [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Don't take any notice of any bad reviews. If you like Johnny Depp at his quirky best and are a fan of Hunter S you will love this.
This is not a mainstream movie and not meant to be. You can tell this was a labour of love by the makers rather than a cash cow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. T. Solley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rum Diary [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I gave his film a good go, but nothing really happens. Guy drinks, chases someone else's girl and that's about it. I'm sure it appeals to some, but I just found it pointless and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd diary entry from another dreary Depp doss about, 13 Mar. 2012
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
This is a light-hearted, easy watch that doesn't really go anywhere.

The over-rated Depp looks at home, at ease as a drifty oddball drunk again, supported by the oddly placed Eckhart , the too skinny Heard and a well cast Rispoli.

The film is expectedly odd, hard to describe and summarise with the viewing experience being a confusing, unfunny one. The trailer shows all the best bits and showcases what is a well located (Puerto Rico) poor comedy drama with little romance, passion, jokes or purpose. It boasts a good cast (and link to Fear and Loathing) but that is about it on a shallow drug and booze fuelled mess about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
As I always like johny depp in anything he makes, it was enjoyable, but felt he could have been given more of a lead to this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011)
The Rum Diary [DVD] (2011) by Bruce Robinson (DVD - 2012)
£4.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews