Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars104
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2013
This is such a great film, don't be put off by negative reviews.. this was so funny to watch but also had a heart and soul about the characters that made me connect with them. The way Jonny Depp plays his character so cool and understated and not just wanting to jump straight in bed with the gorgeous Amber Heard really is class and the feeling he has for what is right for the island against earnheart. top film a must see weather a fan of the lead characters or not..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
I'm not a huge fan of Johnny Depp, but this film is pure genius !! Rum fuelled mayhem & a totally hilarious scene featuring the tiniest vintage Fiat 500; This is quite possibly the funniest comical car moment I've seen since the character "George Lytton" dressed in a gorilla costume drove a 1960 Autobianchi Bianchina Cabriolet Special in the ridiculously funny car chase scene in the 1963 original Pink Panther film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Exellent service from Amazon, arrived really quickly.
Saw this originally at the cinema and it was even funnier 2nd time around.
What turns out to be a serious subject seen through a light hearted haze of booze + drugs.
My favourite part is where Johnny Depp + friend try to drive thier car after 1/2 the parts including front seats have been stolen!
A true story too. Will watch this over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
Very boring- why does Johnny Depp often do characters who are walking around in a daze? Any way I thought he was very wooden, no screen presence at all, perhaps he was tired after meeting Amber Heard on set after which they started going out apparently.
The only time it livened up a bit was when she came on screen, other wise it was incredibly dull.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
This is a great film, it is supposed to be based on a true story of a journalist in 1960's who moved to Puerto Rico. There is a great ambience of the film, the cast in it are all excellent.

Its one of those films that dont add up at first but will grow on you when watched again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
I've already watched this twice in a week. The movie is very enjoyable and the actors are excellent. The Rum Diary successfully recreates the world and Puerto Rico of 1960. The pace isn't too hurried, the still moments add to the atmosphere, and the movie made me laugh out loud many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
It is set in Puerto Rica in the 50's and smothered by the Yanks, The newspaper Johnny tries toi join is governede by those who say what he wants to say, There are remarkable sceces which are too funny. an EXCELLENT BUY!! JIll
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
A nicely played out film, but I agree with another reviewer that there is nothing major that grabs you and hooks you in. Depp is good though, and it is a very watchable film. Good film for the drinkers!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Some nice ideas and memorable scenes in itself, but fails to do justice to the vivid and powerful novel. If you don't expect it to be a new Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, you may get some joy out of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
The product was as delivered as described, excellent service and quick delivery.
This was a present for my son, he had been looking for the DVD for some time, so very pleased it was available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)