Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer Elite - A killer of a good movie
I have to say I have been looking forward to seeing this film for quite a while, and I really wasn't disappointed. Starring Statham, Owen and, the very special icing on the cake, Robert De Niro, there was huge potential here for either something really good, or something truly dire (or any point in between!). Statham and De Niro are not exactly renowned for being choosy...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by Victor

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I FOUGHT THE LAW AND THE LAW WON
Jason Statham plays Danny, a paid assassin who is partnered with Hunter (De Niro). During an assassination in Mexico, Statham almost kills a young girl. He decides to retire, a decision that lasts to about a minute after the credits when he gets a message De Niro has been taken hostage.

Now for the initial strange twists:
The sheik who has Hunter held...
Published 11 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jason statham at his best, you can always depend on his films to be exciting, if you are a jason fan it is a must for your colle, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer Elite [DVD] (DVD)
jason statham at his best, you can always depend on his films to be exciting and sometimes with a bit of comedy, if you are a jason fan it is a must for your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer Elite [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good movie would recommend if you like action thriller movies . . . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars statham, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer Elite [DVD] (DVD)
I had heard nothing about this DVD, so was keen to see it. typical Statham, but nothing wrong with that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One not to miss, 2 Feb 2013
By 
A. S. Montague (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer Elite [DVD] (DVD)
As usual Jason delivering a good action pack film ,you can always depend on him to give a good whipping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer Elite [DVD] (DVD)
Good DVD typical Statham film plenty of action he vary rarely makes a dud film always worth a look at what he has done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointed, 26 Feb 2012
This review is from: Killer Elite [DVD] (DVD)
With Jason Statham in the main role i thought it would be an action movie, so not disappointed there. The plot was a little slow, i nodded off for a short while, but just the once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Killer Elite [DVD] (DVD)
Very gd condition....first class seller...very fast delivery....Jason statham at his best...if yr a fan of Jason buy it I did and enjoyed every second of it lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars - but that could be generous., 16 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Killer Elite [DVD] (DVD)
As usual the film quotes in press releases and on posters that it based on a true story, which I guess it is, however there is a lot of 'Hollywood licence' in the events I suspect, as some of the action scenes (explosions, fights, gun shoot outs) are filmed like they are straight out of the old school 80's tough guy blockbusters, of which most of the cast of those have taken up residence in the Expendables films.

That's not in any way to take away from this film, I just find it better when a film declares itself 'Inspired by true events', rather than implying what your watching is fact.

The plot is reasonably straight forward, although contains some twists - Mercenary Jason Statham must help rescue his old mentor Robert Deniro, who after saying he would leave the mercenary business but does not, and gets caught and in over his head. Behind the scenes Government officials sit around debating political ramifications, and Clive Owen is another gun for hire who is roped onto the storyline as Statham's nemesis.

Set in the early 1980's, and centring around EX military, mercenaries and SAS soldiers, this is a good blokes movie, and fans of the likes of Bravo Two zero, or the dumb, but somehow fun Ross Kemp series Ultimate Force may get a kick out it, as it has that feel.

However for a movie starring three screen heavyweights, it really falls flat. I'm a huge Jason Statham fan, and he does fine as the lead, but I couldn't help but feel that Deniro, and Owen could have done with more screen time given the great performances both are capable of turning in.

On the plus side as a film the 80's setting, such as locations, costumes and cars are good, the action is old school and very well staged, the cat and mouse element of Satham and Owen very good, the supporting cast all very good, and the film does jump around world locations a fair bit, with good photography of the scenery.

The main negative is that as a film it is nothing that has not been done before and sometimes better, with a bit too much plot and not enough focus on the main characters, to get to know them.

Verdict: Solid entertainment, but not a classic longstanding film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious film, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Killer Elite (Blu-ray)
What a pointless film , again storyline is struggling at all times , a no brainer film. Come on Jason , you can do better than this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars killer elite movie, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killer Elite [DVD] (DVD)
This was a present for my Dad and I have not seen this movie myself. I believe it to be a gangster crime type movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killer Elite [DVD]
Killer Elite [DVD] by Gary McKendry (DVD - 2012)
4.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews