Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star show- lets hope we get the rest of the seasons
Lots of very unhappy people in the US have wanted this to be released for years. The first mini-season was released but later seasons only been available as very expensive streaming video - and then only to US residents.

Finally the first two seasons get a UK release - lets hope there is enough interest for the rest of the series to be released too...
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles
I'm afraid we have been spoilt by DVDs with subtitles so that when we come across something like The Practice with actors who mumble their lines we get a feeling of annoyance that removes any posiive appreciation of the DVD in question. I would suggest that Amazon might see its way to persuading the producers of subtitle-less DVDS to add subtitles to them before putting...
Published 7 months ago by A. Kitroeff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AIMING TO PRESENT A MORE ACCURATE PICTURE, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
No hanging around here but straight in at speed, as a tiny cash-strapped Boston law firm struggles to avoid eviction. Headed by Bobby Donnell (Dylan McDermott), the team represents clients with little money who might otherwise be denied a fair hearing. Discovering loopholes in the law does not endear it to police, other law firms and judges. Occasional murky methods employed cause sinners not proved guilty to go free - some off again to steal, peddle drugs, rape and kill. Gradually the team itself becomes uneasy about certain tactics used, recognizing an urgent need to improve its image.

Creator David E. Kelley's aim is a law series without the gloss so abundant elsewhere. Here is an attempt to show the nitty-gritty side, the firm at times almost overwhelmed by several cases on the go at once, racing to come up with evidence, plea bargaining - all this before court sessions begin.

Season 1 (just six episodes) is great. Season 2 (a generous twenty eight episodes) begins with a stinker that should never have seen light of day. Totally unconvincingly, Tommy falls in love with the murder suspect he is defending.

Fortunately most of the second season belongs to a more worthy league, its highlights really packing a punch. (Tobacco companies do not get off lightly!) The trials themselves show "The Practice" at its best, David E. Kelley's legal background ensuring procedures ring true. Closing speeches for and against are splendidly argued, viewers no doubt wondering how they would vote if on the jury.

Amongst delights are a crossover with "Ali McBeal" (another David E. Kelley brainchild), an award winning cameo by James Whitmore as a barrister losing his memory. Linda Hunt's appearances as a judge are always enjoyed. She has a soft spot for Bobby but comes down most heavily when he pushes his luck. Acting honours? Steve Harris as Eugene is excellent, especially when venting his spleen on High Court Appeal Judges.

At some time or other viewers may well be punching the air or yelling at the screen, cases so involving and concern genuine about verdicts reached. Once or twice the firm resembles David taking on Goliath, satisfaction clearly to be immense should it succeed. (Sadly, this cannot be guaranteed.)

Low spots are few (usually involving romantic entanglements which some may feel a real bore). Heights are many. Despite lapses, the two season box set thoroughly deserves its five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
Not as high-gloss as LA Law, a much bigger dose of realism, superb acring, exciting storylines. Highly recommended to anyone interested in courtroom drama. The only question remaining: When are the following seasons FINALLY released??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When will they sell the other 5 seasons?, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. S. Darling "Sue Darling" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
Really good series, and having loved Boston Legal, which I think is the best thing David Kelly has done, I really want to see the rest of the series of The Practice. So how do we get them to make them available?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Mark Pearce "mark one" (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
A superb show. Great performances from the leads who blend really well. Sadly missed but enough series to watch to keep me satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Legal show ever, 12 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
I thought Boston Legal was untouchable - until I watched The Practice. Its darker and more gritty than its offspring but it is a wonderful show that has terrific story lines and a cast of very talented actors. I'm about to start watching season 6. This series is addictive and deserves a complete box set. The 4:3 format makes it look dated but this show is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HERE'S WHAT HASN'T BEEN SAID BEFORE ABOUT THIS SHOW, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Jose Silva - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
A lot has been said about the quality of this show and i subscribe: Probably the best series David E. Kelley ever created (and that IS saying something).

The themes and general tone is more serious than Boston Legal and Ally McBeal and the stories are positively riveting. I once received a call at 3:00 AM - that's when the show was on here - from a friend saying: "Dude! Did you just watch the episode of The Practice?!". Other time i saw an episode so thought-provoking about euthanasia i had to bring it to a Civics class and got a heated discussion on the topic going.

The show, my opinion, did start to lose team around season 7 but got ressurected on season 8, introducing Alan Shore, which would spin-off Boston Legal.

But all that has been said. HERE'S WHAT HASN'T BEEN SAID:

I already had these two seasons which i now re-purchased, until the publisher here dropped distribution. When i heard that Medium Rare had purchased the distribution rights for the show, i bought it AGAIN in hopes of contributing to the sales figures and help the other seasons get launched. Wouldn't do it for any other show but this one is that good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 8 Dec 2013
By 
A. Kitroeff "Alec Kitroeff" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
I'm afraid we have been spoilt by DVDs with subtitles so that when we come across something like The Practice with actors who mumble their lines we get a feeling of annoyance that removes any posiive appreciation of the DVD in question. I would suggest that Amazon might see its way to persuading the producers of subtitle-less DVDS to add subtitles to them before putting them on the market and to clearly indicate this when offering the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please release ALL seasons of The Practice, 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
Finally!!
Every so often I look for my fave series that haven't been released on DVD.. Only this time it had!!
Absolutely love this and with only a few episodes left to watch am really really hoping I don't have to wait another few years for next release.
If you haven't seen this buy it now!! It's ace lol... especially 1st time viewing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific show - release a complete boxset please!, 21 Nov 2013
By 
B. Bird (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched all of Boston Legal, Ally McBeal, and now, having very recently been fortunate enough to get the chance to watch show from start to finish, am happy to have seen all of The Practice too.

For pure entertainment value, I'll take Boston Legal every time (who doesn't love Denny Crane?) but The Practice probably deserves more praise for its fantastic storylines (at least for the first few seasons - I don't want to give any spoilers but suffice to say that it has a fairly weak blip near the end of S6) and the writing is superb. As with many of Kelley's shows, there are plenty of episodes to spark some thoughtful discussion. As others have already pointed out, this show, in its dying season, was used as a springboard for Boston Legal, although it's a shame they didn't keep the much much much darker persona of The Practice's Alan Shore as opposed to his characterisation in Boston Legal (there are glimpses of it, but nothing more.)

I really don't want to buy this release though as I'd much rather be able to pick up the whole collection as a single boxset, and I doubt I'm the only person that feels that way - maybe that's why initial sales have been lacklustre, or maybe it's because of a lack of promotion (it was only by luck that I checked again tonight and found that this is available!) The rating I've given here is for the quality of the show itself (especially in the first "two" seasons) and not for the DVD release.

However, I have just read in another post somewhere that LA Law is getting a complete release (or maybe already has) so I'll go look into that in the meantime, though from the little I remember of it, I don't remember it being a patch on The Practice.

And for what it's worth, I'd happily buy a boxset of Boston Public while I'm at it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant TV series, loved it when I first saw it and enjoyed watched it again. Can't wait for the next series to be released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD]
£23.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews