Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 December 2011
Back in February 1987, ITV started to screen the first series of a new US legal drama LA LAW. Screening at 9pm every Thursday through until July, LA LAW quickly became a ratings hit. Previous courtroom drama on ITV had been provided by John Mortimer's Rumpole of the Bailey. LA LAW was something different.
This first series introduced us to the characters played by Harry Hamlin (Michael Kuzak), Jimmy Smits (Victor Sifuentes), Susan Dey (Grace Van Owen), Jill Eikenberry (Ann Kelsey), Richard Dysart (Leland McKenzie) and Corbin Bernsen (Arnie Becker) among others.
This UK release of LA LAW is a worldwide first. Fans in the US have been waiting for a long time for a release there without success.
Episodes on this set -
1 Pilot (10 February 1987)
2 Those Lips, That Eye (12 February 1987)
3 The House of the Rising Flan (19 February 1987)
4 The Princess and the Wiener King (26 February 1987)
5 Simian Chanted Evening (5 March 1987)
6 Slum Enchanted Evening (12 March 1987)
7 Raiders of the Lost Bark (19 March 1987)
8 Gibbon Take (26 March 1987)
9 The Venus Butterfly (2 April 1987)
10 Fry Me to the Moon (9 April 1987)
11 El Sid (16 April 1987)
12 Sidney, the Dead-Nosed Reindeer (23 April 1987)
13 Prince Kuzak in a Can (30 April 1987)
14 The Douglas Fur Ball (7 May 1987)
15 December Bribe (14 May 1987)
16 Beef Jerky (21 May 1987)
17 Becker on the Rox (28 May 1987)
18 Fifty Ways to Floss Your Lover (4 June 1987)
19 The Grace of Wrath (18 June 1987)
20 Sparky Brackman RIP ?-1987 (25 June 1987)
21 Oy Vey! Wilderness! (2 July 1987)
22 Pigmalion (9 July 1987)

Lets hope that this long overdue release is the first to come of the whole series.

***LA Law - Season 2 [DVD] is out in April! ***
11 comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
I tottally agree with all those people who have written, a fan or not this show has been entertaining , an absolute must have . For those fans of Kuzak and Van Owen it is worth getting LA LAW THE MOVIE too as this brings a twist ..... Which i will not spoil. However this is only on Region1 .
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
If you loved watching LA Law every Thursday back in the late 80s to early 90s and have missed seeing decent quality television then this is for you. Relive the on/of romance between Grace Van Owen and Michael Kuzak, who can forget the moment in tv history when Mickey dressed as an ape stopped Grace's wedding and whisked her away to a more exciting life. Relive the pilot that introduced the characters we all know and love of Mckenzie Brackman, Kuzak and the late Cheney who died in his office chair, Arnie Becker who slept with every woman known to man sometime's his own clients and his faithfull and loyal secretary Roxanne who loved him. See Grace Van Own get shot by a youth who is annoyed that is homey was sentenced to death and the amazing portrayl by Susan Dey who showed us the aftermath of that event. This show is for anyone who wants to go back to watch drama instead of endless reality shows we have now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ah, the 1980's. The suits. The shoulder pads. The days when American shows ran for fifty minutes plus the adverts. And when ITV and the BBC would show quality import dramas on their main terrestrial channels in primetime. Not that ITV had more than one channel of any kind back then. But you know what I mean.

Producer Steven Bochco was riding high on the success of Hill Street Blues. Which had ushered in a whole new era of tv drama by telling realistic stories, shooting the show to make it look that way, and making it character focused with a large cast of endearing individals. The show told stories that were as much about them as they were about the crimes of the week.

Having done that for Cop Shows, he then moved to legal shows. With L.A. Law. A staple of ITV at 9pm on a Thursday night for quite some time [although they dropped it with two season to go, as their perception of 'mainstream' tv changed] and whilst it was never quite as acclaimed as Hill Street Blues - or as it might have been if it had come first - it's still fondly remembered by many.

Telling stories about the Lawyers at Los Angeles based McKenzie, Brackman, Chaney and Kuzak, the show had a big cast, ranging from paternal and wise old partner Leland McKenzie [Richard Dysart] to ladies man divorce lawyer Arnold Becker [Corbin Bernsen] and potentially naïve new associate single mom lawyer Abby Perkins [Michelle Greene], the show's main focus was on Lawyer Micheal Kuzak [Harry Hamlin] and his romance with prosecutor Grace Van Owen [Susan Dey]. But the breakout star, in one of his earliest roles, was Jimmy Smits as new associate Victor Sifuentes.

The show did repeat all that Hill St had done, in making us care about the characters - even Arnie when he could be a real pig - and telling stories than centred round them, and also doing cases of the week. With the same kind of occasional black humour that Hill St Managed so well it worked. And it was great entertainment for a Thursday night.

The dvd contains the double length pilot episode, plus the twenty single episodes that followed it to make up the first season. The single episodes all run for fifty minutes, the pilot double that length. The season is spread over a total of six discs.

There are no extras.

There are no subtitles.

Thus the only language option is English.

The picture hasn't been restored, by the looks, so the quality of it could be better. And perhaps the same goes for the sound. But it's perfectly watchable. Thus this set gets five stars purely for the fond nostalgia value and the chance to see it all again. If you haven't, give it a try. It's still quality drama.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
This awesome drama created by Steven Bochco & Terry Louise Fisher finally gets released! Here's hoping seasons 2-8 will follow. A complete box set would be nice... This is one of my all-time favourite shows. It has everything and I can say that honestly as I was lucky enough to catch a complete re run on ITV3 seven years ago. I am truly overjoyed by this news and would urge anyone to watch it. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
It's still great! It was recommended to me by my parents but I didn't think I would enjoy it especially with all the courtroom dramas we have on tv today. However, I can confidently say that it's one of my fave legal tv shows along with boston legal, the practice and law and order. It is pretty unique as well and the characters are captivating. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an entertaining show to watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Purely a trip down memory lane; I remember watching the series on TV. Was and still am a huge fan of Hill Street Blues which was a completely new format at that time. LA Law has aged very well and still manages to keep you interested in the people and their stories. Sometimes the hairdos, clothes etc. make me smile - you had to have been there, I suppose. Worth revisiting, sit back, and enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
Who would have guessed? The Mothership (in my opinion)of all Lawyers Series is finally on DVD. I remember watching it with great pleasure when I was younger. Lately I asked myself why is this not on DVD? Thank God, sometimes Prayers are answered. Here it is. Hits exactly the Feeling of 80s and early 90s along with the terrible Shoulder Pads and even more terrible Hair-dos. But to see the wonderful cast act together is great fun and entertaining and many stories/cases makes you laugh out loud. Do you know anyone who would dress as a gorilla to get the girl of his dreams? I don't. I did not realize it ran for 8 Seasons, I have yet to find out how many seasons I recognize. Hope they will release all the seasons to get this complete. Great entertainment, not to be missed. Even that the series is quite old, the Picture and Sound are as good as you can expect. Sadly, there are no Extras ( well, was not popular back then, i guess) and no subtitles. Probably this will never make the way to a german release, but I am happy as it is. Get this!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Brilliant Series to season 6 (then it drops off significantly for 7-8). The first few series are watchable even today and hasn't aged so much that it spoils the fun of watching the stories about McKenzie, Brackman, Cheney and Kuzak (and later Becker). I endorse the same comments made by others on here - so nothing to add to them really. My favourite funniest characters was stingy, stickler for detail office manager Douglas Brackman (and the private antics he got up to with his wife, Sheila, and long lost brothers) and even funnier still was David Myers (junk mail genius and social bore and embarrassment of the century who married financially desparate Roxanne). All of the main cast acted brilliantly. There is no TV like this anymore. It was my favourite 80s series alongside Dallas and Howards Way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
Great show, and long overdue for its DVD release.

The series starts straight in on the action, but within episodes you're completely caught up in the legal wranglings and romantic entanglements of the partners, associates, clients and colleague's of the laywers at MacKenzie-Bracken.

For those of you potentially new to the show - i.e. are perhaps, shockingly, not old enough to remember its original late 80's/ 90's run - its episodic, with only the personal issues of characters carrying between episodes. The trials and legal cases are mostly singular to that episode and rarely trip over to the next.

Its great to see such a competent essemable cast too. Harry Hamlin, Jill Eikenberry, Susan Dey were all stars before the show started, while others (Jimmy Smits for example) were relatively new and just starting their careers.

Watching this quality, well written, fantastically scripted show again reminded me of the debt later shows such as 'Boston Legal' and, more recently, 'The Good Wife' owe to it. The complicated storylines, woven so well over a series, will no doubt make you think the same.

Just noticed too that LA Law Seaon Two will be out in April, so I'm super pleased that there's a real committment to bring the whole series out on DVD, for a new generation to enjoy. If only the same committment was given to Falcon Crest too....oh well.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.