Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Review of the BAD in Religions
Christopher Hitchens died last year and until he died I had never heard of him. I read eulogies from his fellow journalists and then heard no more until last week when, by chance, I came across some video clips of Hitchens speaking about his views on religion and I found them fascinating.

I then found that Hitchens had written a book, God is not Great: how...
Published on 16 April 2012 by Duncan Williamson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, but don't expect to enjoy it.
Having recently read The God Delusion and being impressed by the author’s fair and reasonable arguments, I looked about for another view and came across Christopher Hitchens’s God Is Not Great.

There is absolutely no doubt that Hitchens had a fearsome intellect and could certainly put forward with complete conviction a very convincing argument of...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. G. Robinson


‹ Previous | 143 44 4556 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and well written, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
B. Rhodes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: God is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Kindle Edition)
Very entertaining. Obviously preaching (!) to the converted, but engaging nevertheless. Some very interesting historical perspective and a refreshingly bold lack of compromise. It did however seem unnecessary and a not so well researched afterthought to include a chapter or so about non-abrahamic religions such as buddhism - a couple of anecdotes about that credo's fallability seemed a little ill judged. But, highly recommended overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
Derek Brown (Great Yarmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars God Is Not Great - I think !, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book probably deserves a five star rating. If only Hitchens would communicate in everyday English instead of his professorial choice, I would have enjoyed and understood the other half of the book. Shame really, as what I did manage to sift from the quotations and name drops was worth reading. Have a dictionary at hand, although I'm certain some of his descriptives are his own makeupisms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read particularly if you are not a believer, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christopher Hitchins was a very clever man indeed. His knowledge was remarkable and very few people had any chance beating him in a discussion. Watch him on Youtube he was marvelous.
The way he explains facts and interpretations should be enjoyed by everyone.
Faith believers may be a bit frightened to have their eyes opened and therefore will not be interested in any of his work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book, 11 July 2009
By 
Mr. Paul Nolan (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I suggest this book should be put in the bedside table of every hotel room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (Kindle Edition)
Enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a read!, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchslap at it's best!, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Is Not Great (Paperback)
A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A+++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 143 44 4556 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything
£5.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews