Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (95)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyable.
This was chosen for a book group that I attend and I'm so glad that it was because it's not one that I would have chosen for myself. The concept, a man who loses all of his personal memories but can function well in a world that he doesn't remember and who can remember everything that has happened since the onset of his amnesia, is extemely thought provoking. The...
Published 22 months ago by chrispy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strength through adversity
This book roused strong feelings in me. Frustration, disbelief, anger, and boredom. But it made me stronger, as I had to spend four hours resistig the urge to vomit.

There are actually regular good one-liners (and many more feeble attempts) but it still doesn't merit more than one star, as by the end I was skipping whole pages of dialogue just to get to the...
Published 1 month ago by sean


‹ Previous | 117 18 1928 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The title got me interested, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Forgot His Wife (Kindle Edition)
When I was scrolling the titles looking for a new story to read, the title of tghis book caught my eye. Purely on a hunch a purchased this book and I was not disappointed. John O'Farrell took me on a journey of emotions, which was a clever nix of humour and sadness. I could relate to some aspects having gone through a divorce process myself.
I will now keep an eye out for books be the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Forgot His Wife (Kindle Edition)
This book was so good, funny & poignant. Really takes you through the mental turmoil of the man, and what he goes through. I've had memory problems myself through illness, and so recognise the frustration of not knowing people who know him.
Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A poignant story!, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the background idea of this book is not an everyday story, it still has the familiar tones of a "normal marriage".
Easy to read, put down and pick up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Forgot His Wife (Kindle Edition)
John O'Farrell writes a good story. This was so much fun. A good holiday read that kept me turning the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A heartening middle aged love story, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Forgot His Wife (Kindle Edition)
Not normally one for love stories (not a fan of "One Day"), this appealed to me; it is a middle-aged rediscovery of love by a husband who loses his memory. I like John O'Farrell's writing and humour; it may be a tad schmaltzy here, but every now and again schmaltz is nice. I would have thought it would translate into a feel-good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read ..., 18 April 2013
This review is from: The Man Who Forgot His Wife (Kindle Edition)
A must for any couple out there who needs reminding what attracted them to each other. The book is a very easy to read - not too many characters or side plots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Forgot His Wife, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book, First John O'farrell I have read. Found it very different and funny and could imagine it happening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Forgot His Wife, 14 April 2013
Length:: 0:36 Mins

This was one of the funniest books I've read in years. Really entertaining, yet also filled with some life lessons.

Christine Brown-Quinn
Author
Step Aside Super Woman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyable and more to it than met the eye at first

I would definitely recommend to others to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Got off to a good start but..., 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Forgot His Wife (Kindle Edition)
This really is a book of 2 halves.
It starts off well and every bloke will empathise with the hero but then it slips into chick lit mode and our hero finds his fluffy feminine side and well... it's all downhill and very very predictable from then on.
Shame really as it was very funny and entertaining at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1928 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Forgot His Wife
The Man Who Forgot His Wife by John O'Farrell
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews