Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for zombie fans
I've heard quite a lot over the years about Michele Soavi's Dellamorte Dellamore but never really had the chance to check it out. It stars Rupert Everett as a cemetery caretaker at a graveyard where the dead rise from the grave within seven days of burial and he must finish them off, usually with a shot to the head. The film is full of dark comedy and it uses it very...
Published on 17 Feb 2012 by BPR

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful
A Dreadful film but if you are a collector of these old titles a must !! Great if you have a vintage Horror collection!!
Published 3 months ago by Mr. N. J. L. Gale


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for zombie fans, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I've heard quite a lot over the years about Michele Soavi's Dellamorte Dellamore but never really had the chance to check it out. It stars Rupert Everett as a cemetery caretaker at a graveyard where the dead rise from the grave within seven days of burial and he must finish them off, usually with a shot to the head. The film is full of dark comedy and it uses it very well, especially with the simple character Gnaghi (François Hadji-Lazaro). Another character of interest is 'She' played by the beautifully mesmerising Finnish actress Anna Falchi. Special effects are extremely good throughout and it is just another film that shows the viewer that for horror, non-CGI effects are far more impressive. My favourite scenes include the killing of the nun and the motorbike crash, both highlighting the skills of the effects team. If you're a zombie fan, this is an essential purchase. Highly recommended. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mental Italian Cult Zombie(ish) Classic, 18 Jan 2008
Iv just recently started to watch these wierd and wonderful Italian movies. The likes of Dario Argento, Mario Bava and Lucio Fulci. On the whole, although some of them are fantastic, they are very hard to watch. You watch them once, feel enriched for the experience, and then never watch them again. This movie is different. Dont get me wrong, it is by no means an easy ride, but it keeps you watching and trying your best to fathom out whats going on from start to finish. Glued to it I was. Adapted from an Italian graphic novel, DELLAMORTE DELLAMORE, is a dark horror fanatasy, its story twisting and turning through many different macabre situations. Leading its main protagonist Francesco Dellamorte, the caretaker of Buffalora Cemetary, on a journey of surreal experiences which include the dead returning from the grave, an insane killing spree and a number of sexual encounters with actress Anna Falchi(one of the most beautiful women in the world).
Cinematically it is as rich and sumptuous as Suspiria or Profondo Rosso, stylish and creepy, setting up every scene and set piece with painfull detail. The characters are strange and complicated and the plotline unfathomably wonderfull. If you like your scary movies like Scream or I Know What You Did Last Summer then this isnt for you, but if you are a hardcore horror buff then this is an absolute must.

Did I mention how gorgeous Anna Falchi is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Work Of Genius, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. Mark Slater "Wintermute" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
I had heard of this film marginally, but never seen it before purchasing the Shameless edtion. I have to say, I was totally stunned at what is a work of rare genius it is. Given the number of times I was laughing with my mouth hanging open at how completely but wonderfully bonkers some parts of this film are, but on some level it just all comes together beautifully and works, and makes a weird kind of internal sense (though don't ask me to explain it). It's poetic, and dreamlike, and profound, and clever - but doesn't pull it's punches with it's visceral imagery - although the direction and cinematography make for some thoroughly beautiful, if macabre, imagery at times.

This really should be a much better known and more widely seen film. I manages to blend buckets of blood with the depth and integrity of a good arthouse film, without ever being the slightest bit pretentious.

This is often cited as the last of the classic Italian horrors. If that's the case, then at least it went out on a high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Existentialist Horror, 8 Oct 2006
By 
Steven Moses - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This wonderful and very odd movie turned up on C4 a few years ago and hasn't been seen before or since. Definitely a cult classic, it fits the genre of a low budget, European schlock horror movie and will appeal to fans of that type of late night, back-from-the-pub kebab and chips offering. Francesco Delamorte (Everett)is a custodian of an Italian graveyard, burying the dead during the day and despatching them again at night with a variety of weapons in increasingly bizarre fashion ably assisted by the Igor-like Gnaghi (Hadji-Lazaro). Needless to say, he's getting cheesed off with this until the story takes a twist when he falls in love with a beautiful, nameless woman (Falchi) who returns to haunt him in more ways than one.

I'm not a fan of Everett but he is fantastic as the world-weary and laconic cemetery man and through him the film poses many questions about life and death, love and loss. On the one level it is a typically low-brow gore fest with an apallingly bad script in places and most definitely the blackest of comedies. On the other, it bravely questions the nature of obsession, love and fate. The ending is magnificent and like all good thought-provoking movies will stimulate ideas and debate long after the credits have rolled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALMOST CULT CLASSIC, 7 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Judging from the reviews and the price of a used DVD, this movie is a border line cult classic. It is a must see for any Zombie movie fan. The movie is Italian, however this movie, in spite of the reviews, is not to horror movies what Trinity is to Westerns. The movie has a two or three classic scenes which has placed it in this status. Outside of those scenes, the movie is strictly B grade horror, non cult classic. Cemetery man kills zombies in a very nonchalant fashion after the dead become re-animated and sometimes knock on his door. Zombies are killed in the true classic fashion (head shot only).

Cemetery man has a mute side kick who looks like Curly Joe, except is a lot dumber. Like Stan (Southpark) he gets violently ill near a pretty girl. Plot Spoiler? The cult classic scene is when the mute side kick has the head of his zombie girlfriend mounted inside his broken TV set. For some reason she can talk and other zombies are mute. There is nudity as Cemetery man makes love to a woman on her husband's grave, who then becomes re-animated. The bodies of these women are all 10's. They are Italy's answer to Denise Richards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, strange and wonderful, 5 Nov 2012
By 
N. Mielonen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Dellamorte Dellamore is one of those films that the director Michele Soavi is best known for. And not without a reason, since this is a film that is delightfully unique and strange. Rubert Everett is Francesco Dellamorte, an undertaker who works at a cemetary where people just won't stay dead. Togerher with his assistant Gnaghi he is doomed to kill the dead while trying to find the woman of his dreams... Dellamorte Dellamore aka The Cemetary Man is a different kind of a zombie film. Soavi has created a world that is absurd, grotesque and filled with dark humor. One of the best - if not THE best - italian horror films from the 90's.

Shameless has made an excellent job bringing this film on DVD, with lots of neat extras, excellent image quality and optional italian audio. If you're looking to buy this film, the Shameless DVD release is definitely the way to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird & Wonderful Horror., 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Cemetery Man from Italian director Michele soavi was quite a unique zombie film, I don't think that there's ever been a film like this before. This was the first movie of his that I actually got to see. Since, I have seen "The Church" and "Stagefright", but I still haven't seen "The Sect" (aka The Devil's Daughter). Soavi has wonderful vision and cinematic pacing. You can definitely see Argento's influence on him and I think he has the talent to be even better than Dario, but unfortunately it wasn't meant to be. The story's about Francesco Dellamorte (played by Rupert Everett) who is a caretaker at a small cemetery in which it's newly deceased occupants sometimes come back to life as `returners'. Dellamorte must kill these zombies off when they come back, and stop them from spreading their disease of rotting flesh and nastiness throughout the land. Is it the start of an invasion, a plague maybe? "Who knows, and in the end who cares....I'm just doing my job" as Francesco likes to say. It was also based on a popular Italian comic book Dylan Dog.

There are many reasons why this is such a brilliant film, you've got zombies, hot women, comedy, murderous rampages, dead boy scouts, and finding the edge of the universe...this movie has it all. No movie that I have ever seen has had such random and simply to-die-for content. What's really satisfying about this movie is the fact that when you first watch it, you think it's just another zombie flick, riddled with one-liners and skull-popping head shots...but after a few minutes, you realize that you've stumbled across something much more. You begin to realize that the zombie story is simply a backdrop for something much larger.

First off, the camera work is truly masterful. There are many nice shots that are seemingly out of place in this type of flick, but it helps at to the atmosphere which this movie has buckets off. It helps add to the overall spooky European feel to the cemetery. Soavi put a lot of emotion into this film and it goes against the traditional zombie theme, which focuses on stopping the living dead, but rather concerns itself with how one can conquer life. The "returners" are just obstacles in Francesco's nightmarish world. Little reminders of his fears and troubles. He cannot escape his problem even when he tries. He must conquer his own life, before moving on. Does he??? I won't tell. This movie will really make you think and you will probably have to watch it a few times before its sinks in. Besides all the gore and nudity we also have some black humor moments especially with Francisco's mentally handicapped assistant played by François Hadji-Lazaro who ends up marrying a decapitated head. It was both weird and wonderful but it's also an acquired taste. I highly recommend this to Italian horror fans ENJOY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 6 April 2014
By 
Mr. N. J. L. Gale "nick" (Oman) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
A Dreadful film but if you are a collector of these old titles a must !! Great if you have a vintage Horror collection!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dellamorte Dellamore, 18 Feb 2012
By 
Robin Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Just a brilliant, darkly funny, delirious dream of a movie.
Everett is terrific, but must have thought he was taking part in a soon to be forgotten B movie, before he read the reviews I guess: Martin Scorsese called Dellamorte Dellamore one of the best Italian films of the 1990s, which is all you need to know.

I've got the Red Edition DVD from Germany, which is meant to be the best transfer of this title, though I'm not sure about this new Shameless DVD, if it's a new better ( longer ? ) transfer or not, hopefully it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly and mind bendingly original !!, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Paul Welsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD] (DVD)
Invite a few friends around,have a good drink,then sit back and enjoy....Absolutely love this movie to bits.Definitely NOT your average Zombie movie :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dellamorte Dellamore (The Cemetery Man) (1994) [DVD]
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews