Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully made
These are obviously meant for proper martial arts fighting but I have brought these for my teenage children who like to do a version of live action role playing with friends. Obviously they can still cause injury if not used sensibly but they're much more satisfying than rubber swords and have prompted them to read and research actual sword techniques. Made of one piece...
Published 7 months ago by lucy luton

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broken Bokken Sold by Martial Art Shop and Fulfilled by Amazon.
Though I'm not going to go through the hassle of repackaging this item and returning it I do feel like giving other potential buyers a 'heads up'. This is a Chinese made Bokken, though many are imported from Japan and retailed at a similar or lower price. It arrived on time in a long triangular Toblerone style Amazon cardboard package, which had been through the wars with...
Published 15 months ago by Ken leigh TV addict


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broken Bokken Sold by Martial Art Shop and Fulfilled by Amazon., 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
Though I'm not going to go through the hassle of repackaging this item and returning it I do feel like giving other potential buyers a 'heads up'. This is a Chinese made Bokken, though many are imported from Japan and retailed at a similar or lower price. It arrived on time in a long triangular Toblerone style Amazon cardboard package, which had been through the wars with many puncture marks and deep dents. The Bokken itself (the red oak option) had a 2cm by 3mm square chip out of the very tip, very disappointing, hard to say whether this was done during manufacture or damaged before packing. Its weight is good, for me, the red oak has a nice grain. But if you're looking for traditional Japanese craftsmanship look elsewhere, the bevels either side of the back edge are uneven for instance and the ridge created to hold the tsuba in place is rough and unfinished, basically a careless notch. Much criticism but have given it 3 stars because it feels well balanced and is solid and usable for partner work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully made, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
These are obviously meant for proper martial arts fighting but I have brought these for my teenage children who like to do a version of live action role playing with friends. Obviously they can still cause injury if not used sensibly but they're much more satisfying than rubber swords and have prompted them to read and research actual sword techniques. Made of one piece of wood, carved with the grain.
Arrived in time for Christmas despite my last minute order!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red oak Bokken, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Pete Graham (Belfast, Down United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
Excellent value for the price. I use it at Akido club. Although it may not have the surface refinement of some of the other Bokken's at the club (which cost 2 or 3 times as much as this one), it compares well in weight and in use. I am very pleased and hope to get years of use out of it. Arrived earlier than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
Just what we needed although slightly too heavy for a 9 year old. Solid wood feels better than the rubber version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An authentic, durable and easy-to-use wooden katana, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
A "bokken" is a Japanese wooden training sword that is often used for kendo and aikido practice. Most bokken swords like this one are shaped like katanas but they still come in many different shapes and sizes.

I bought myself a black wooden bokken with an interest in swordplay and I am pleased to say that it feels smooth, durable and lightweight thus making it incredibly easy to carry and wield.

I would definitely recommend this bokken to all swordplay practitioners and enthusiasts out there. However, I wouldn't recommend carrying and/or wielding it in populated areas such as towns and cities for it could easily be confiscated by the police.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
the guard was a little hard to put on but it is wonderful
got here in great condition and is a perfect weight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars weak, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Peter Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
Lovely to look at, but I noticed the second time I went to fight with it that there was a long crack running down the handle. I've filled it with superglue and will duck tape it too, but I'm worried it will snap completely when I use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Quality, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
loved it prompt delievery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bokken (Misc.)
Does what he wanted it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bokken
Bokken by Ju-Sports
£14.99 - £23.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews