Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Zhang Yimou masterpiece.
It's difficult to truly do this film justice in a review. If you haven't seen any of the films of Zhang Yimou or Chen Kaige then you haven't really lived. If you're already a convert, then I can assure you that this is every bit as good as Raise the Red Lantern and Farewell My Concubine. A story of family rivalry against a backdrop of imperialist China, Ju Dou manages...
Published on 25 Oct 2000 by F. Martin

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film, badly transferred to DVD
I saw this film at the cinema when it first came out. It was beautiful, the colours of the silks, the atmosphere of the village and, of course, Gong Li.

However, this transfer to DVD is abysmal. It couldn't be less clear if it had been filmed with a webcam. The colour balance is all wrong - mostly yellow - and makes the colourful silks a murky mess...
Published on 2 Jan 2009 by J. Greenwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Zhang Yimou masterpiece., 25 Oct 2000
By 
F. Martin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ju Dou [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It's difficult to truly do this film justice in a review. If you haven't seen any of the films of Zhang Yimou or Chen Kaige then you haven't really lived. If you're already a convert, then I can assure you that this is every bit as good as Raise the Red Lantern and Farewell My Concubine. A story of family rivalry against a backdrop of imperialist China, Ju Dou manages to be depressing, frustrating and wonderful all at the same time. Gong Li is superb as the purchased wife of an ageing factory owner. Her husband's crippling condition and her infidelity lead to desperate attempts on his part to save face and win over his "adopted" son.
Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film, badly transferred to DVD, 2 Jan 2009
By 
J. Greenwood (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ju Dou [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at the cinema when it first came out. It was beautiful, the colours of the silks, the atmosphere of the village and, of course, Gong Li.

However, this transfer to DVD is abysmal. It couldn't be less clear if it had been filmed with a webcam. The colour balance is all wrong - mostly yellow - and makes the colourful silks a murky mess.

Perhaps the version from Razor Digital Entertainment is better, this version from Escapi Media BV is a bitter disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this version, 10 Dec 2009
By 
D. A. Deacon (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ju Dou [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this dvd to replace my Laserdisc expecting technology to have moved on - it was a bitter disapointment. Apart from the colours, very evident on the laserdisc, being washed out this dvd version is scratched and very poor quality. A great great film that deserves better than what is offered here. It is NOT an old film and there is no excuse for this dvd offering which looks as though it has been taken straight from a poor quality video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a riposte, 6 Jan 2009
This review is from: Ju Dou [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't intending to review this but when I read the first reviewer I thought I'd better. I didn't see this in the cinema, I've just watched it on dvd and I loved it. I did notice a slight problem with the colour but it hardly registered and I just put it down to being part and parcel of some foreign films. It didn't detract from the essence of the film for me. There was a special something to this film, i'm not good at writing reviews so all I can describe it as is 'authenticity/realism', whatever that means. I loved it and I thought the actors amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Drama, 26 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ju Dou [DVD] (DVD)
This is drama so strong that you wonder that Shakespeare isn't turning in his grave wishing he had written it first! Because the storyline is so powerful and direct that it has a Shakespearian appeal about it.

A young and beautiful wife (Gong Li) is bought by an aged dyer who abuses and beats her for his infertility which must, of course, be her fault. But she finds a sympathiser and ally in the dyer's ill-used nephew who falls in love with her. Their love produces a son who, in turn, proves to be more of the nature of the evil husband than of his true father. The suspense is driven by the fear of revelation for the young couple and then the fear of the ferocious offspring and of his revenge. The backdrop of the ancient dyeing house, the drying swathes of coloured silk floating from on high and the importance of the ancestors whose very spirits seem to be watching all the secrecy is wonderfully atmospheric.

This is a fairly early film of the masterly Zhang Yimou when Gong Li was new to us and just coming into her stunning beauty (most of us saw her first in "Farewell My Concubine"). The film's age shows a bit in this DVD but oddly for me it added to its charm rather than distracted from it. The soft colour and gentle fading has the same attraction as a worn Persian Carpet or the fragile silvering of an antique mirror and reminds one subtly of some of the disadvatages China still suffered emerging from the Cultural Revolution. If you love Chinese film or the work of Zhang Yimou this is a great film, an historic film, and not one to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, awful quality, 1 Mar 2009
By 
R. Short "Wessex man" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ju Dou [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a big fan of Zhang Yimou for a long while and now have most of his films on DVD. This film is as good as any, the story is powerful and it is beautifully acted. However, I must agree with the first reviewer that the quality of the DVD is awful. The story was still gripping, but Zhang Yimou is infamous for his style and cinamatography as much as anything else and this is almost completely lost in many of the scenes. The scenes with in the factory with the silks being hung to dry often look like old faded photos. For me this DVD was a real disappointment and I hope a remastered version is produced soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 11 Jan 2010
I saw this film some years ago on TV and I'd never forgotten it so when I saw this on Amazon I decided to buy it. The colours of the silk don't seem as vivid as I remember but this is a most enjoyable film nevertheless. The long strips of silk drying in the sun somehow interweave with the plot unfolding and you know there will be a sad ending. Acting and plot are excellent and this is a film you will always remember once you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Transfer, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ju Dou [DVD] (DVD)
I have rarely been so disappointed with a DVD. Saw the film in the cinema and was blown away by the beautifully saturated colours. I even had it on video. This transfer is truly dreadful. The colours are wrong and seem yellowish and the picture has pixellations and scratches through it. This is a shocking offering on DVD and looks like someone sat in the back of the cinema and tried to make a poor quality pirate. When are we going to get a decent PAL version of this film and Raise the Red Lantern?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dark & sinister story, 25 Aug 2014
This review is from: Ju Dou (1990) (import) (DVD)
dark, sinister plot portraying the hard lives of working class people, who slog day and night to make a living, coupled with sadistic bend of an old impotent man who tortures the young wife he bought, insisting he would treat her like gold if she bore him a son, which she did after an affair with the old man's nephew, old man tries to kill the boy one day out of jealousy and revenge, the offspring grows into a quiet, silent and resentful boy who doesn't think twice about drowning his own father in a vat of dyes out of hatred for his mother's cheating ....................the characters scheme and plot to improve their situations resorting to violence if necessary. The recording is not top rate quality, some of the scenes are very blur and hard to make out what is going on ......................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece from Gong Li, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very sensual film and not every ones cup of tea. The sadistic scenes are very upsetting and you can understand why she turns to her husband's nephew for love. I did expect though that the nephew would have been some good looking actor instead of a small non. (Sorry about that) The film was excellent though and very well directed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ju Dou (1990) (import)
Ju Dou (1990) (import) by Fengliang Yang (DVD)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews