Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rookie Blue Brilliant
Rookie Blue is one of my favourite new tv shows. I say new but I have almost finished watching season 2 now and this is only just coming onto dvd.

Synopsis:

The series follows the lives of five rookie cops from 15th Division who have just graduated from the Academy. They must learn not only to deal with their duties as police officers, but also deal...
Published on 28 Aug 2011 by Beanie Luck

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save it for the soap operas
The first time I started watching this I thought it looked like a really good decent crime show until you get more into it with Andy and her two men who are really nice and don't deserve to be messed around by her, she ended up getting on my nerves after a while. Luke is a descent person and she is just poorly unfair to him. The fact is this is just like the soap dramas...
Published 23 months ago by Victoria


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rookie Blue Brilliant, 28 Aug 2011
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Rookie Blue is one of my favourite new tv shows. I say new but I have almost finished watching season 2 now and this is only just coming onto dvd.

Synopsis:

The series follows the lives of five rookie cops from 15th Division who have just graduated from the Academy. They must learn not only to deal with their duties as police officers, but also deal with the problems and expectation of their families and friends. It has been described as Grey's Anatomy in the world of rookie cops.

The series is set in Toronto and, though similar to Flashpoint in that it does not make overt references, it does use local street names, such as King Street, and Jameson Avenue in Parkdale was the location of a call-out in the pilot episode.

Missy Peregrym portrays Andy McNally, the series protagonist. She is driven by the desire to do the right thing even if it means not following procedure. Her father was formerly a homicide detective before he burned out. As a result McNally carries her father's baggage trying to prove herself.

Gregory Smith portrays Dov Epstein. He is often shown to be overeager to get involved in everything even when it is not necessary for him to do so. This characteristic has gotten him into trouble many times, so much so he has been told to "slow it down

Charlotte Sullivan portrays Gail Peck. She is often seen by others as getting preferential treatment because of her connections to high-ranking officials in the police force. Her mother is a superintendent, her brother a successful narcotics detective and her godfather is the chief of police. Because of this, she feels the need to prove to herself and others that she can do the job without help, which further isolates her.

Enuka Okuma portrays Traci Nash. She is a single mother trying to find the balance between her work and her family. Complications arise both at work and at home as she once dated detective Jerry Barber until she decided to try and get back together with her son's father. She is always trying to focus on her son, and do everything that is best for him. However, this sometimes gets in the way of her being a police officer.

Travis Milne as Chris Diaz. He is often seen as taking the "by the book" approach. Despite this seemingly good trait, it makes him unable to take initiative. He is involved in a relationship with Peck until Diaz is forced to notify the authorities of corruption that Peck's brother's partner was involved in. This temporarily costs him the relationship with Gail Peck.

Ben Bass portrays Sam Swarek. Formerly an undercover officer working on a money laundering operation, his cover was exposed when McNally arrested him, believing him to be a suspect in a murder case. He returns to 15th Division as a training officer for the rookies, awaiting a position to open up in weapons. He follows his instincts, even if it means sometimes breaking rules. Although he is the love interest of McNally, he insists that their relationship is strictly professional

Lyriq Bent portrays Sergeant Frank Best. Formerly a training officer himself, he becomes head of 15th Division after Boyko departs.

Matt Gordon portrays Oliver Shaw, one of the rookies training officers and a veteran of the police force.

Noam Jenkins portrays Jerry Barber. A detective at 15th Division, he actively participates in operations and stings, coordinating officers and other resources at his disposal.

Eric Johnson portrays Luke Callaghan. A homicide detective at 15th Division, he is tireless and exceedingly charming.

Melanie Nicholls-King portrays Noelle Williams. Another training officer and veteran of the police force, she hoped to become head of 15th Division but was beaten by Frank Best.

Aidan Devine portrays Sergeant Boyko, head of 15 Division until his departure.

This show is described as Greys Anatomy and I think that's a fair comparison but I think that this show is actually smarter than that.
Its not always about the relationships but the very serious crime problems that each city faces on a daily basis and it is a very realistic insight into how police officers have to deal with sometimes very life threatening situations.

The characters are great, you instantly warm to them. Yes i guess you can slot them into the greys anatomy counterparts but they are stand alone characters in my mind.

Andy (aka Meredith) is the main character and is seriously likeable, she is a bit green, a bit like Lexie grey, but very pretty and you can see how Sam falls in love with her so quick, but as with all good dramas the 2 people that you want to get together never do and so it's a constant battle of the will they wont they.

Ben Bass (aka Mcdreamy) plays her training officer Sam Swarek and boy is he sexy, you don't think so to begin with because he is a real arrogant s.o.b and blames her for things out of her control but slowly but surely your attitude towards him changes when you see how much he cares about Andy.

Eric Johnson plays Luke who is the nicest guy ever. Not only on screen but in real life too, I have had several conversations with him on twitter not only about the show but about other things as well, a very seriously great guy.

Gregory Smith (aka George) is brilliant, i dont know if you ever watched everwood with treat williams but this guy played ephram and is very underrated, he is a very smart and endearing young man and his acting is top notch, he plays a bumbling, idiot very well.

The supporting characters are solid and bring much needed relief to the plots as tryign to make it all about Sam and Andy every week would get very boring.

Every week there is always a new storyline, a new problem the police have to solve, and I actually find it very interesting to see what these young kids have to go through. Policework is not for everyone, i certainly couldnt do it so it makes interesting watching.

The season is 13 episodes long and so is season 2 but don't let that put you off because it is a great little show and one you wont regret spending your money on.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, girlie, cop drama, 31 Mar 2011
I really like this show. I watched one episode on British TV, and then prompty killed my weekend watching the rest of it on the internet. I call it 'girlie' only in the sense that, it has emotional or philosophical moments in it, that are touching/which the rookies are supposed to learn by.

For instance, there are poignant twists where situations start out one way, then turn out to be another, where all of a sudden the rookies are having to unexpectedly do a death notification to someone and it's really heartfelt, and you feel a lot of sympathy for the family. Or for instance, a Training Officer (TO) will chastise and critique their rookie, only to show later in the episode that the reason for that is that the TO really cares about the rookie, and giving their charges a bollocking is what helps keep them safe! It's really hard to describe, without giving examples, and without spoiling it for you, but that's my attempt at explaining why I think the show is 'girlie' in a good way.

Biggest comedy moment of whole of season one : Chris in his 'manmal toe' white jeans on solicitation stakeout.

Also, you have the classic archetype dilemma between the 'good guy', and the 'bad guy who gets you/who isn't really bad but with whom you have a lot of feisty chemisty'. The two main love interests for Andy, the central character, Luke Callaghan and Sam Swarek are both pretty yummy, in completely different ways, so that drives some of the drama .. And the other rookie characters aren't neglected. There are some interesting romantic storylines for each of them.

In any case, I think the show shows a lot of promise, and I'm looking forward to season two coming out later this year - (it has already been renewed for 2nd season).

And yes, it's like Grey's Anatomy but with cops, so you can pretty much decide for yourself if that is a good thing or a bad thing depending on if you like quirky/relationship/comedy/emotional/sex/love interest drama ;0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rookie Blue Season 1, 13 Nov 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed season one. Particularly Andy's struggle with finding her feet in her chosen career and her strained relationship with her father.

The series contains humour as well as the serious side of policing Toronto. It gives insight in how difficult it can be making decisions that not only impact on the characters' lives, but also the lives of the people they're dealing with.

I particularly enjoyed watching the relationship develop between Andy and her Training Officer, Sam Swarek. But also the other rookies and how their own personal experiences affect how they undertake their roles as police officers.

I'm looking forward to season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic police drama, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this police drama from the beginning and had to have the DVDs. Even I saw it already on TV, I can watch it again and again. Believable stories and caracters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!!, 21 Mar 2011
Just started watching this and am completely obsessed!! Amazing series with something for every1 action, romance, comedy....etc! Will defo buy this as soon as it goes on sale! Cant wait for season two to see if the love triangles with sam andy and luke develops! One of the best series that has come around in awhile! I watched the complete 1st series in 2 days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a crime drama/any form of cop show junkie, I found Rookie Blue by accident, but having watched one episode i was hooked. I watched the first 2 seasons in around 2 weeks! Which in itself made it a must to buy Season 1 on DVD.

Rookie Blue may have its procedural cop drama, but it also delves into the rookies home lives, and shows them as they are rookies, who are just learning to be cops making mistakes, not going out on to the streets and knowing just what they have to do.
And for just under £11, compared to that of around £40 in high street stores, this is a complete bargain!
I'm just waiting for Season 2 to come out on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grey's academy but still so good :), 12 Mar 2011
By 
Miss Samantha A. French "221BSam" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Started watching this when it started showing in England, I liked it straight away, it is very grey's anatomy hence 'grey's academy' but it really works, as I have absolutely no patience I managed to watch all of season one online & I'm hooked.
Don't write this off as your average cop show cos it really isn't. It marries the perfect combination of drama & comedy, with a little romance thrown in for good measure. Missy Peregrym (Reaper) is brilliant as Andy Mcnally the main character & her TO (training officer) Sam Swarek played by a relative unknown- Ben Bass is just as good, they have great chemistry together & not to go all girly but he's quite the biscuit ;)
The stories are engaging & heartfelt, the rest of the ensemble cast all play strong characters, I absolutely love this show it gets very funny, also emotional, it doesn't glamourise being a police officer at all, it tells it like it is.
It's not difficult to see why after three episodes airing overseas it got picked up for a second season. Keeping it rookie blue all the way :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
recieved uickly which was gd as for person birthday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars never watched on sky/universal, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
took a punr and watched it on demand and regret not watching it from the beginning on tv. i originaly thought
it was another american cop show i was pleasently suprised that it wasnt and was canadian , although the show
revolves around the rookies , mcnally in particular i was bemused how one of the rookies got accepted if he s an asthma sufferer maybe it got that wrong my favourite character and this was hard was training officer shaw
exellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am always extremely picky when it comes to TV shows, and I swear I watched the first 2 discs of Rookie Blue in one day. Its suck an addictive TV series. Cant really say anymore... It's great. Give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews