Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On The Edge Of Your Seat
What a rattling good yarn with great characters, both above and below decks and a real down to earth feel. It reminds me of Alastair McLean in the way it grabs you and drags you straight into the story. There's plenty of detail, but not pages of it before any sort of action, or interaction of characters. Some ingenious ideas are used to good effect, look out for the 'E'...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by William Lewis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Yarn
A good story with some good, accurate use of naval slang. However.....the use of a spelling and grammar checker would have been advisable before publication! There are a lot of rudimentary spelling and grammatical errors. If you can look past these errors though, then a good story unfolds.
Published 9 months ago by scott newman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On The Edge Of Your Seat, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a rattling good yarn with great characters, both above and below decks and a real down to earth feel. It reminds me of Alastair McLean in the way it grabs you and drags you straight into the story. There's plenty of detail, but not pages of it before any sort of action, or interaction of characters. Some ingenious ideas are used to good effect, look out for the 'E' boat incident. It's a fast paced, crash, bang, wallop of a story, that's obviously been researched well, but doesn't get in the way of the narrative. This looks like a series of Orca Team 'books' and I look forward to the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Edge of Darkness, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a great book, its about the exploits of the new special force Orca, following Naval and Marine raids into Norway, I noticed someone called it far fetched. There is nothing far fetched about the first book, this was set at a time when our combined forces, used every trick in the book and were not 'hamstrung' by procedure and protocol. It was either them or us, and as history unfolded we began to see the amazing exploits of our forces and the lengths they'd go to in order to create a deception and win over the enemy in battle.
This Book shows exactly what Churchill later called for 'Butcher and Bolte', hit em fast, hit em hard use all guile and initiative to get the job done.
This book is deserving of being put into film, besides Captain Barr's tactics it also vividly describes some terrifying scenes suffered by British troops during their evacuation from France.
A real ' Rip' roaring story too, that threads it way through the historical events of WW2, I for one shall be reading the complete series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. G. Bell "legion" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent sitting on the edge type of book. Can't wait for the next book in the series. Read it folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tale - shame about the transcription, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I used to love naval books but somehow haven't read one since the 1970s! I suddenly thought I would like to read naval books again and happened on Mr Molloy. Thought I would give it a whirl and it is excellent - reminded me why I used to love the genre. Ordered the second one before I'd finished the first - great to think that there are many more to go. The action never stops, some passages are wonderfully written (although I don't think dialogue is his strongest point, but the characters are well-drawn nevertheless).

The only problem with this star-rating system is that, if you do have a criticism of the book which has nothing to do with the story/author, then you would think of marking it down by one or two stars, which is obviously unfair to the author. So I didn't mark it down, out of fairness, but would like a separate rating system for quality of product in terms of 'transcription'. The punctuation in the Kindle version is absolutely appalling throughout the book - commas all over the place where there should be none or a semi-colon (like someone had a jumbo bag of commas and threw it over the transcription at random), no commas or full stops where there should be some, apostrophes in plurals - plus a lot of spelling errors (e.g. you do not bring a gun to BARE and I believe that a PALLET is something on which goods are loaded rather than an accessory used by an artist) and quite a few other typos, all of which is grating when you're steaming along on a rattling good read and have to stop and go back to understand something because the punctuation is so bad. . So, whoever was responsible for the typing of the version that got on to Kindle, you get no stars at all. I hope the others in the series do not have all these mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Stuff of Fleming, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the fiction of my youth found in the Commando Comics and Warlord, but hardened by the facts of history, known valour and the sacrifice. This is the spirit of the modern RN/Royal Marines and SBS which came from WW2 and was tempered by other conflicts. Though fictional this is probably a fair tribute to the Combined Operations and raiding forces of WW2 where sadly, the heroes often didn't return to home berths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riviting, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't
put it down seems very believable and the characters are almost real. Looking forward to reading more from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistically told story of daring,survival,heroism,patriotism.This, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book in the series I have read.shall definitely follow it up with the second in the series.a well put together tale with realistic characters.historical fact adds to the story.even towards the final chapters the odd typing error did not spoil this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anthony malloy, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A SUPERB SET OF 13 BOOKS IN THE (ORCA SERIES ) SET IN WW2-ACTION APLENTY, SORT OF CLIVE CUSSLER SET IN THE SECOND WORLD WAR-MORE REALISTIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orca, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Reminds of those special Douglas Reeman adventures of naval actions, of steadfast folk being put in awful situations and able to keep the moral high ground, except for Snake that is. The author's authentic prose captures the essence of the times. I look forward to reading future installments of our intrepid warriors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific - but the spelling!, 21 Mar 2014
By 
N. Chism "Nigel Chism" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Edge of Darkness (Special Force Orca Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A fine and well described book that ticks all the boxes any WW2 naval fiction buff could wish for is marred only by some truly atrocious spelling. Needs a good old fashioned proof read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews