Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Overkill Book
Bought for Husband as pressie. He loved it, a brilliant read for a Motorhead fan and he even learned facts that he did not know despite having been a fan for 25 years
Published 22 months ago by Libbets

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more...
Any book that features my favourite band is always a welcome addition and, when I saw the title of this one, I was really looking forward to reading it. Sadly, there are so many glaring mistakes and dodgy opinions from Joel McIver that I ended up fuming a few times before I'd finished it.
Fair enough, I enjoyed reading parts of interviews that I'd not come across...
Published on 13 July 2011 by Paddy Campbell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more..., 13 July 2011
By 
Paddy Campbell (Drogheda, Co. Louth, IE) - See all my reviews
Any book that features my favourite band is always a welcome addition and, when I saw the title of this one, I was really looking forward to reading it. Sadly, there are so many glaring mistakes and dodgy opinions from Joel McIver that I ended up fuming a few times before I'd finished it.
Fair enough, I enjoyed reading parts of interviews that I'd not come across before but I think that Mr. McIver is pushing it slightly to claim authorship. I reckon ''compiler'' would have summed his work up far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 8 July 2011
By 
Probably the worse book ever written. It isn't a book, it is simply a series of already printed interviews, a number of which appear on the internet like Fast Eddie Clarke's. Absolutely atrocious.
Why is a book published on Motorhead with not one author interview of the band members?
There is no personal history: familial, societal whatever. Do not buy. I don't want to give it any stars but the review won't let me submit this without doing so. But one star is too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a missed opportunity, 22 July 2011
As a Motorhead fan of many years standing i was really looking forward to this book as very few books are available about the band as opposed to the Lem. Alan Burridges superb Babylon effort is now 30 years old and long out of print so if you don't own that ( thankfully, i do) you really have to buy this book to learn about the bands history/origins. Unfortunately the book is a disappointment as there are some very poor mistakes in it such as Noel Redding being Creams bass player ! the writer also seems to think that the UK had no motorways back in 1977 when he talks about Motorheads tour schedule at the time, unbelievable ! i would have thought that most 'authors' would have known that the network was well established by that time, in fact with some notable exceptions it was pretty much as it is now. My biggest gripe however, is with his interpretation/take on the band. In my humble opinion, Joel McIver is too 'modern metal' orientated to fully understand/appreciate a band like Motorhead. As all true fans know, Motorhead are a rock'n'roll band not a metal band and this difference is hugely important. Yes, i would accept that nowadays you could put them in the metal category but Lemmys presence makes them fundamentally different to most other bands in the genre as a read about his influences/background makes patently obvious. McIver is totally wrong about the bands relationship with Chiswick records when talking about Motorheads treatment by record labels inferring that Chiswick 'screwed' them over to some extent.Absolute rubbish, it is well known that Motorhead had a great relationship with Chiswick and Lemmy has often stated that if it weren't for that label the band would have split way back in 77.Lemmy has a great regard for Chiswicks co-founder,Ted Carroll and it appears that Joel McIver has not researched this aspect of the bands history sufficiently.Having said all that i would still recommend that fans buy the book as it is well worth reading and it is obvious that McIver has a great regard for the band and, despite his errors/interpretation he is a quality author. There are some superb photos in the book, especially the front cover which is what Motorhead are all about to me, a dirty, greasy, biker rock'n'roll band from a bygone era. Rock music is too slick,business orientated, contrived and downright safe these days, Motorhead are the antithesis of that, they are one of the few bands left that are linked to rock'n'rolls glory days, they are to be filed alongside Gene Vincent, Elvis, Eddie Cochran, the Pistols, the Who, MC5,Stooges etc etc.For the real story try and track down the gold dust that is Alan Burridges book,join the Motorheadbangers fan club and try and get a copy of Pete Frames superb 'rock family trees' book with the Motorhead tree. In the meantime though this book is a good starting point despite the errors/ill informed opinion.If you read this book your lawn will not die but it will need re seeding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overkill Book, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for Husband as pressie. He loved it, a brilliant read for a Motorhead fan and he even learned facts that he did not know despite having been a fan for 25 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 20 Nov 2012
The author manages to achieve a rare feat with this work. He renders a biography of one of the UK's finest ever rock bands, fronted by one of the most colourful, amusing and charismatic characters ever....to be...well, quite frankly DULL AS DISHWATER. McIver is something of a one man sausage factory of such tomes having gifted (?!) the world books on Slayer, Metallica and many more. In the age of "research-at-your fingertips" facilitated by google, anyone with half a brain, a vague ability to construct coherent sentences and a hard neck could cobble together something of a similar standard.
My advice to the author would be to stop subjecting the rock and metal world to any more torture. To any Motorhead fans out there...spend your money on something more deserving of your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Motorhead "Biography", 16 Aug 2011
I was really looking forward to a "proper" Motorhead biography at last, having been a fan for 30 years. Unfortunately, this isn't it, it's just a collection of various Lemmy quotes that we've all heard many times before, and is a missed opportunity.
There are no biographies of the other band members (great as the Lemster is, he always needed a decent band around him- I want to know about Eddie, Mikkey etc, even Brian!). There is no musical analysis. There is no cultural assessment. There is, unfortunately, precious little to catch the attention. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews