Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Thinking Man's War Film
Resistance [DVD]
'Resistance' is the truly believable story of what could have happened to a group of farmers wives from the mountains of Wales, who suddenly found their lives in peril, as they realise that Britain had lost the Second World War. The Germans were advancing on them and their simple lives. The women had been abandoned by their men, who they presume,...
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by Silver Babe

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resistance is... futile
Based on a novel, this 'what if' historical thriller is set in an alternative 1944 where Britain has been invaded by the Nazis. London has fallen; Birmingham and Manchester are under siege, and German troops are moving through the Welsh valleys to seek out and steal hidden artworks and artefacts. Meanwhile, the men from one valley have left their farms and fields, gone to...
Published 24 months ago by Rowena Hoseason


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Resistance is... futile, 22 Sep 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a novel, this 'what if' historical thriller is set in an alternative 1944 where Britain has been invaded by the Nazis. London has fallen; Birmingham and Manchester are under siege, and German troops are moving through the Welsh valleys to seek out and steal hidden artworks and artefacts. Meanwhile, the men from one valley have left their farms and fields, gone to join the fight, without a word to the women they have left behind to face the Germans and somehow run the farms.

A small party of German soldiers is detached to the area, and their thoughtful, war-weary officer senses an opportunity for a quieter life in rural Wales, away from the brutality of the eastern front. Although his men receive a hostile reception from the women, they gradually become accustomed to each other, and the delineation between cooperation, confrontation and collaboration becomes blurred with increasing familiarity and the simple, shared tasks of day to day life.
With a brilliant set-up like that, this should have been a stunning film. Instead it's curiously stilted and muffled. Iwan Rheon puts in an excellent performance as a young lad indoctrinated to be a resistance fighter, no matter what the personal cost. But his mentor, played by Michael Sheen, makes only a few strangely stunted appearances, and the German characters -- commanding officer apart -- are scarcely given the opportunity to rise above two-dimensional caricatures.
The miserly special features (three miniscule mini-docs and a commentary; no subtitles) reveal part of the problem. Resistance on DVD runs to less than an hour and a half and the book is far longer, and the behind the scenes footage shows that whole story arcs, characters and important scenarios have been hacked out from the final edit.
That's a real shame, because the rest of the film shows genuine promise, an intelligent plot, and it showcases a couple of outstanding performances. But the actions of the protagonists in the rushed conclusion are baffling, incomprehensible and unrewarding. And the whole pace of the film feels wrong: not surprising when you understand that many of the scenes which were intended to denote the passage of time have been snipped, leaving the viewer confused and unsettled.

There are time when less is more, but this wasn't one of those moments.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
What a shame. An excellent cast wasted in this film. An opportunity lost. If you haven't read the book, then you will not know what it's all about. The script has been pared down too much and subsequently all dramatic effect is lost.
I would really like to give a better rating because as I say, the cast is good but the direction, in my view, is just too minimalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely depressing, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
Wow. There are films that are dark and depressing and desperate, and then there's this. Slow, almost silent, incredibly bleak - although beautiful at the same time. All the characters are torn and troubled and the actors do a fine job of conveying complex emotions with next to no dialogue. They're all quite magnificent. Although I agree with reviewer Olly Buxton that the most interesting character is Wlaschia's conflicted nazi, Captain Albrecht. On the plus side, it's a film that keeps you guessing until the end because pretty much anything could happen to the central characters, but on the downside, with so little dialogue, I found the ending fairly ambiguous and confusing (I admit, I had to check with my other half that I'd even understood it). Overall, beautiful, sparse and brilliantly acted, but beware of watching it if you're already feeling a little blue. This might push you over the edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor acting. Classed as a Thriller, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Resistance (DVD)
Quite the most appalling film I have watched in a long time. Slow. No Plot. Not at all realistic. Poor acting. Classed as a Thriller, watching paint dry would be more exciting! And as for the accompanying music, the violinist needs strangling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment, 3 Sep 2014
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
The story line of this film sounds really good (although it's VERY doubtful that the Germans would have had the means to invade the British Isles in 1944), but unfortunately the director has made a total pig's ear of it. If you're a fan of long, thoughtful silences, arty shots and meaningful glances, then you'll love it, but that's not really what you would expect given the cover art.
The cast sounds pretty promising,although the female lead's Welsh accent seems to drift into Irish (or maybe it's Geordie?)
every so often, but the original story line has been completely lost and the result is a pretty total bore fest that will have you contemplating the fact that that was 90 minutes of your life that you'll never get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, dull, dull don't bother, 3 Jun 2014
By 
C. Corner "CHRISTINE" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
A very 'hyped' trailer persuaded me to rent this film. Can't understand what is being said - too much muttering and nothing happens
Potentially an interesting story but - the missing men never appear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor, 23 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
If you're looking for a deep film that is quite shallow, you might semi enjoy this.
If you're looking to be entertained and retain consciousness, you should avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Thinking Man's War Film, 29 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
Resistance [DVD]
'Resistance' is the truly believable story of what could have happened to a group of farmers wives from the mountains of Wales, who suddenly found their lives in peril, as they realise that Britain had lost the Second World War. The Germans were advancing on them and their simple lives. The women had been abandoned by their men, who they presume, have gone off to fight the enemy as resistance fighters. The women are in fear of rape, imprisonment or even worse being sent to concentration camps in Germany. One day, a German patrol suddenly arrives in their valley. The next day, the snow comes down, thus trapping the women and their enemies on the mountain together, with no form of escape from either side.

The women keep a frosty distance, but the German soldiers realise that they too are in a good place and don't want to be sent back to their regiment. So a form of armed neutrality develops as the Germans begin to help the women with their tasks their husbands would normally have performed around the farm. It is cold, very hard work and there is very little food for any of them or their animals.
The film painstakingly explores the depths of feelings felt on either side, thus building a tension which the whole audience feels. Dialogue is sparse. It is all in the feelings, which this film so cleverly develops through beautiful photographic scenery of the Welsh Black Mountains, incorporating rushing rivers, dilapidated stone farm houses, deep snow scenes as well as glorious lighting of the fabulous Llanthony Abbey.

Perhaps more could have been made of the story ? But with Andrea Riseborough and Michael Sheen appearing in this low budget film (what a compliment to have them!) as well as Sharon Morgan's magnificent portrayal of Maggie, the oldest farmer's wife - this leaves you with deep feelings as "This could have happened to us" - "How would we have reacted if we had been put in the same position as the farmers wives?"

Don't expect to see horrors here. But do expect to be moved by the tension and fears that both sides engender. It is a very worthy film, which will be on your mind for weeks after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CAN YOU RESIST YAWNING?, 28 Sep 2012
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear, what a drag this film is! I'm not a great fan of fast-paced action films and normally enjoy dramas of a more sedate and thoughtful character, but this is so interminably slow that I found myself constantly screaming at the screen, "For Heaven's sake, Get on with it!" So what's this film all about then? You may well ask and will probably still be asking after sitting through its eighty minute duration (it seems a lot longer). The premise appears to be that the 1944 D-Day landings have failed and this has enabled the Germans to retaliate by invading Britain. O-kay, let's leave aside that this is a ridiculous scenario (even if the allies had failed, Germany was certainly in no position to counter-attack by this time); what we have here is a film about a small German patrol that ventures into Wales on a "secret mission" (I won't insert a spoiler here by revealing what that mission is; to be honest I never really worked out what it was and I certainly didn't care). The film concentrates on their relationship with local farmers' wives who have been left to fend for themselves after their menfolk have left (why? Again I neither know nor care). There's potential here for an interesting drama but it is a potential that is left wholly unrealised. What we're left with is a film where actors do or say virtually nothing and spend most of their time silently emoting and staring meaningfully into the distance; almost every scene is dragged out in a way which I suppose the director intended to convey moodiness and tension, but ends up being unbelievably tedious. The one and only plus point for this movie is some quite good photography - though with the beautiful Welsh hills as a backdrop that's hardly a major achievement. Even this, though, is spoilt by some very clunky editing, and I'm sorry to say that overall this is a really disappointing and tiresome piece of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and disappointing, 11 Jun 2012
By 
R. L. Araujo "Bex" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resistance [DVD] (DVD)
I could suspend my disbelief that the Germans had some how managed to invade I had no problems with that sure it's inaccurate but this is a film etc. However it just seems that the film never really picks up pace, it never gives a defined plot, I found the idea that these German soldiers would just sit in the welsh country side silly and that no one would come looking for them especially if their mission was of worth. The suggested romance between Sarah and Albrecht never really comes to anything aside from one short and sudden dream sequence the only real romance is Sarah longing for her husband (A better film about the whole is he alive is he dead is a very long engagement). I also did not understand why their husbands were even still in wales surely they would have enlisted at the start of the war instead of near the end when apparently all hope was lost. The idea that this is what it would have been like if we'd lost never seemed very real to me either. Finally my main problem with the film is nothing is answered, no point is made, I feel like I have wasted my time watching a film as I have learnt nothing knew. If the idea was to show that German soldiers were capable of compassion I already knew that there are many stories documenting such things, if the idea was to show how lucky we are that things worked out then I don't think the film was bleak enough. The ending was just pointless as it wasn't an ending and whatever twist that was suppose to happen I did not understand. Don't waste your time this film offers nothing, which is a shame because I love Tom Wlaschiha (from game of thrones) and the beautiful and talented Andrea Riseborough seems wasted on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resistance [Blu-ray]
Resistance [Blu-ray] by Amit Gupta (Blu-ray - 2012)
7.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews