Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars11
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2005
I loved reading this excellent book which is very well written. It is so descriptive and readable and does not just tell a story but also paints a picture of life in the late 1800s and of Mr Bury. Euan MacPherson has got into the atmosphere of the time. I like it when a writer can use words in this way.
The book is set out in a very good way. William Bury's story is told in the first half. Then in the second half the Rippers modus operandi is compared with Bury's actions and words. This works very, very well.
There is more than enough information given in the book to back up Euan MacPherson's case. I appreciate the fact that we are not presented with all the printed information that is available on the Ripper. There has been so much written on the Ripper, some sensible and some just plainly ludicrous.
It was apleasure to read this book and I am sure I will read my copy a few more times.
I agree with Ms S Savage from Clevedon, Avon that Euan MacPherson presents a very convincing case for William Bury being Jack the Ripper.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
The evidence against Bury is higher than any other suspect, his behaviour is a huge indicator , going quiet and uncomfortable
whenever the Ripper came up in conversation disproving the theory he was a fantasist whose killing of his wife was imitation due to an obsession with the Ripper ( a confession was written at the back of their home after his wifes killing)

Barry Williams mass murderer recently in the news is comparable - his neighbours unaware of his past said there was something off about him " he never looked straight atyou " this description is almost identical to that of Bury in Edinburgh - Janet Martin a grocer and neighbour said Bury could not look a person in the face and if he realised someone was looking at him usually dropped his eyes.

Psychology is universal and his behaviour was repeatedly indicative of a troubled and disturbed individual who clearly deteriorated toward the end.
A most important piece of the puzzle was the discovery at the dwelling after the murder of two incredibly cheap worthless rings, not his wifes who was very proud of her expensive quality jewellery , and remember two copper rings were taken from one of the victims , (Eddowes if I remember right) TROPHY collection
MaryKellys neighbour gave VERY interesting evidence , unfortunately since it didn't fit with the accepted timeline it was discarded.
A few hours before the grim discovery they spoke in the street and she saw MaryKelly with a " small man " this is a rough description of Bury , though it doesn't mean the man she was saw with the night before ( Ginger moustache possibly Deeming - who contrary to reports was not incarcerated at the time of the murders and was definately in the area at the time - using an alias ) wasn't the killer coming back later after the short man and Kelly had finished their time together - or even let's face it someone else , but it is hugely important circumstantial evidence against both of them.

This is surely the man - but we can never prove beyond doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2005
Even if you're not a fan of Jack the Ripper books, you'll find this book fascinating. Not only does the author paint a picture of London and Dundee during the period Jack was 'active' but puts forward a very convincing case for William Bury being, indeed, the Ripper himself. A real page-turner.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Jack the Ripper has for long held a fascination. The perpetrator of the 1888 murders which brought terror to London and much of the UK has never been solved. This book makes to my mind an acceptable suggestion as to who might have been Jack the Ripper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2005
You don't have to be a fan of Jack the Ripper books to enjoy this book. From start to finish the author paints a picture of not only the 'man' himself but of life in both London and Dundee when Jack was 'active'.
You can come to your own conclusions as to the liklihood of William Bury being the 'Ripper' but Euan MacPherson stakes a pretty convincing claim in this fascinating journey on the trail of the real Jack the Ripper. Great read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2007
This is a good account of the case of William Bury, a Scottish wife murderer. However, the case for him being the Whitechapel killer is not so good. The author does show that he might have been the infamous murderer, but so might thousands of other men in London at that time. As with all the suspects put up by authors, these are men who might have been able to have done the crimes, but there is no hard evidence against any of them. Until any is found, then all that we have are possibilities. The author does not mention, because it does not suit his case, that the Ripper killings might not have ended with Mary Kelly and might have begun before Marth Tabram. Nor does he state that the Met. officers did not suspect him at all. Finally, the allusions made by Bury and the graffiti artist about Jack shouldn't be taken too seriously as references to him were commonplace in 1888 and immediatley afterwards - a serial poisoner in Deptford in 1889 was called Jack the Ripper, and a man trying to commit suicide at a suburban London station also made this admission in 1891. One wonders whether the Ripper tag was used in this book because it would make it a better bet for the publishers?
33 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
I did not know much about William Bury before reading this book. The book is very readable and I enjoyed it...I'm not altogether convinced Bury was the infamous Jack the Ripper, but he certainly makes a worthwhile suspect...and yes I do now know more.

This is an interesting tale, quite well narrated, and I'd recommend it...but oh how the lack of an index and a dearth of references do tell!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
James Parr was my great great grandfather. So I love this book from a personal view. I would agree that the story leaves a few questions. but a really good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
the author attempts to make the case of william bury being the ripper but the evidence is very thin in this respect and I took it with a pinch of salt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
Very good biography and a very interesting and good readable book but less convincing in linking William Bury to the ripper murders.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)