Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Euan MacPherson uncovers the Ripper
I loved reading this excellent book which is very well written. It is so descriptive and readable and does not just tell a story but also paints a picture of life in the late 1800s and of Mr Bury. Euan MacPherson has got into the atmosphere of the time. I like it when a writer can use words in this way.
The book is set out in a very good way. William Bury's...
Published on 13 Nov. 2005 by Alec Mac

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack the Ripper was he the last man to be hanged in Dundee
Jack the Ripper has for long held a fascination. The perpetrator of the 1888 murders which brought terror to London and much of the UK has never been solved. This book makes to my mind an acceptable suggestion as to who might have been Jack the Ripper.
Published on 27 Feb. 2012 by Cardean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Euan MacPherson uncovers the Ripper, 13 Nov. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved reading this excellent book which is very well written. It is so descriptive and readable and does not just tell a story but also paints a picture of life in the late 1800s and of Mr Bury. Euan MacPherson has got into the atmosphere of the time. I like it when a writer can use words in this way.
The book is set out in a very good way. William Bury's story is told in the first half. Then in the second half the Rippers modus operandi is compared with Bury's actions and words. This works very, very well.
There is more than enough information given in the book to back up Euan MacPherson's case. I appreciate the fact that we are not presented with all the printed information that is available on the Ripper. There has been so much written on the Ripper, some sensible and some just plainly ludicrous.
It was apleasure to read this book and I am sure I will read my copy a few more times.
I agree with Ms S Savage from Clevedon, Avon that Euan MacPherson presents a very convincing case for William Bury being Jack the Ripper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trial of Jack the Ripper:The Case of William Bury(1859-, 14 Sept. 2005
By 
MS S SAVAGE (CLEVEDON, AVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Even if you're not a fan of Jack the Ripper books, you'll find this book fascinating. Not only does the author paint a picture of London and Dundee during the period Jack was 'active' but puts forward a very convincing case for William Bury being, indeed, the Ripper himself. A real page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jack the Ripper was he the last man to be hanged in Dundee, 27 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jack the Ripper has for long held a fascination. The perpetrator of the 1888 murders which brought terror to London and much of the UK has never been solved. This book makes to my mind an acceptable suggestion as to who might have been Jack the Ripper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trial of Jack the Ripper:The Case of William Bury(1859-8, 7 Sept. 2005
By 
MS S SAVAGE (CLEVEDON, AVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
You don't have to be a fan of Jack the Ripper books to enjoy this book. From start to finish the author paints a picture of not only the 'man' himself but of life in both London and Dundee when Jack was 'active'.
You can come to your own conclusions as to the liklihood of William Bury being the 'Ripper' but Euan MacPherson stakes a pretty convincing claim in this fascinating journey on the trail of the real Jack the Ripper. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trial reviewed, 29 Oct. 2007
By 
Junius (London, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a good account of the case of William Bury, a Scottish wife murderer. However, the case for him being the Whitechapel killer is not so good. The author does show that he might have been the infamous murderer, but so might thousands of other men in London at that time. As with all the suspects put up by authors, these are men who might have been able to have done the crimes, but there is no hard evidence against any of them. Until any is found, then all that we have are possibilities. The author does not mention, because it does not suit his case, that the Ripper killings might not have ended with Mary Kelly and might have begun before Marth Tabram. Nor does he state that the Met. officers did not suspect him at all. Finally, the allusions made by Bury and the graffiti artist about Jack shouldn't be taken too seriously as references to him were commonplace in 1888 and immediatley afterwards - a serial poisoner in Deptford in 1889 was called Jack the Ripper, and a man trying to commit suicide at a suburban London station also made this admission in 1891. One wonders whether the Ripper tag was used in this book because it would make it a better bet for the publishers?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For want of an index, 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not know much about William Bury before reading this book. The book is very readable and I enjoyed it...I'm not altogether convinced Bury was the infamous Jack the Ripper, but he certainly makes a worthwhile suspect...and yes I do now know more.

This is an interesting tale, quite well narrated, and I'd recommend it...but oh how the lack of an index and a dearth of references do tell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 24 May 2014
This review is from: The Trial of Jack the Ripper: The Case of William Bury (1859-89) (Kindle Edition)
James Parr was my great great grandfather. So I love this book from a personal view. I would agree that the story leaves a few questions. but a really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jack the ripper, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the author attempts to make the case of william bury being the ripper but the evidence is very thin in this respect and I took it with a pinch of salt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Trial of Jack the Ripper: The Case of William Bury (1859-89), 22 Dec. 2011
Very good biography and a very interesting and good readable book but less convincing in linking William Bury to the ripper murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews