Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a go
This is Barry M's latest effects nail varnish. Similar in theory to the crackle or shatter varnishes around in that it is a top coat designed to create a pattern with the base colour showing through.

To achieve the croc effect, you first paint nails with a chosen base colour, I used Barry M Instant Effects Foil Nail Paint - Gold 320. When the base colour is...
Published on 13 Feb. 2012 by Sugarboo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good
Not good at all will not be buying this again looks a blob on nails
Published 5 months ago by emma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a go, 13 Feb. 2012
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
This is Barry M's latest effects nail varnish. Similar in theory to the crackle or shatter varnishes around in that it is a top coat designed to create a pattern with the base colour showing through.

To achieve the croc effect, you first paint nails with a chosen base colour, I used Barry M Instant Effects Foil Nail Paint - Gold 320. When the base colour is touch dry (after about a minute) you then cover with a layer of Croc Nail Effect. It takes up to 3 minutes for the full croc effect to appear.

So, what did I think? One thing is that this effect is slightly trickier to get right, if you try to paint on dry nails then the top coat can't stick and just rubs off so you need to make sure that the nails are touch dry but not completely dry. I tried to create the effect using thicker coats on one hand and thinner on the other. Where the coat was thinner the effect is good but the pattern is very small and can only be seen close up, there were also sections that looked almost smudgy. Where I had applied a thicker coat, the effect was much more noticeable and it is probably better to use a thicker coat, too thivk though and I thought the croc effect was too big and didn't look good so really a bit of trial and error is required with this. I would advise putting a coat of clear varnish over the top to seal the coat as it does look as though the pattern could chip off. The other point to note is that you can't just paint and go like you can with the crackle as the effect takes longer to fully appear.

The overall effect of the croc varnish is good and is definitely more croc than crackle. It has a glossy finish rather than the matte of the crackle varnish but I still think you need a top coat over it. One of the things I liked about the crackle varnish was that it could be used to update my nails, so if I wore pink one day and it had slightly chipped I could use the crackle over the top to disguise the chips (lazy I know!) and because this needs to be done over varnish that hasn't dried completely this would only work if you put a layer of clear over the colour and then layered croc over that. Slightly time consuming. I think that overall I do like this croc effect and if you like trying out new nails then it's worth a go but I normally do my nails in a rush so I probably won't wear this very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Croc Nail Polish, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
I bought this product probably not expecting too much from it but wow was i surprised, it gives an amazing effect, put your favorite colour on first, then when your nails are still tacky apply the croc effect, absouletely brilliant ... love it!! Thank you and great value for money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
I loved this product!
Fast shipping and the product did what it should be doing! :D

I would totally recommend this nailpolish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
Good buy and it really works. I now enjoy buying Barry M products and have bought his nail varnish and eye shadow in Boots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great item, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
Great quaility nail vanish. Does what its ment to do and looks really great on and goes very well with silver or gold :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
product is good, but I didn't really like the effect, good product if this is what you like, would recc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
Not good at all will not be buying this again looks a blob on nails
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Croc vs Cracked, 7 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
I loved, loved, loved the Barry M nail cracked nail polish. I decided to try the croc nail polish I love this but not as much as the cracked polish. The polish seemed more watery than the cracked and took a bit longer for the effect to set in. The croc does not have matt finish like the cracked which I liked so at least you don't have to bother with a top coat if your pressed for time. I think the cracked has more off an effect than the croc but I still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not in box, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
This item did not come in the box packaging shown. However, the nail polish itself is good and goes on easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars present for daughter-inlaw, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New! Barry M Instant Nail Effects - Black Croc Nail Polish 10ml (Misc.)
This was bought ages ago as a stocking filler for my daughter-inlaws birthday
I haven't seen her wear it and, didn't ask if she liked it or not sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews