Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gallagher at his best., 19 April 2003
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
His first, solo (post-Taste), I believe, and among the best. Gallagher comes across as your classic 'travelling bluesman'. He's got some stories to tell, and all he wants is a place to kip and a few shots of Paddy irish 'scotch' of whatever he used to drink (absolutely anything I suppose). From sleeping down in a laundrette "Its the crazienst place I have ever been " - 'Laundromat', to various meanderings about various women (or the same woman for all I know) he maintains the quality throughout. Like the majority of quality records it doesn't fit into a particular decade or time period. "It sounds like it was recorded yesterday", one could say. Rory plays some nice saxophone on 'Can't Believe...'. The second solo on 'Sinner Boy', a song about being nice to the homeless (I presume) is one of his most classic guitar moments, and thats saying something. Anyone who can play something that really rocks but which does not rely on volume or level of distortion to achieve it is the absolute don. It needs to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Gallagher at his belting best", 4 Sep 2007
By 
L. WILLIAMS "LINDSAY WILLIAMS" (CHESHIRE, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
As a huge Rory fan, this album remains my all time favourite! The sound is somewhat reminiscent of the days of Taste but the album is highly original in terms of writing and solo playing. Gallagher appears totally at ease producing incredible solos and enviably catchy riffs. On each track Gallagher succeeds in extricating different textures and sounds from his guitar work which has great energy and pace, well supported by his fellow musicians. The solos on "The Last Time" and "I fall apart" are really special. I hate to sound like a boring old fart (42) but people who were lucky enough to have seen Taste live or Gallagher in these early days of his career really saw an individual and original talent that is very seldom encountered today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the smile!, 2 Mar 2012
By 
Pat Comer "Pat C" (Galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
The smile did increase all over my face the first time I heard Rory's first solo release. Over the years since my favourite track has changed depending on my mood. That was the amazing thing with Rory, you start out having a favourite track, then it changes and continues until you arrive back at your original favourite. All tracks are outstanding the lyrics on Just the Smile are brilliant together with the percussian and vocals it is an amazing track. For the Last Time at 6.35 doesn't have a second wasted, why does it have to end so soon I always wanted it to go on and on. Can't Believe It's true takes us off into a sad place and includes one or Rory's rare contributions on Sax, I read one time that he learned to play the sax over a weekend. In all tracks Rory's amazing guitar playing and technique shine through. My favourite track right now is Just the Smile or is it Can't Beleive It's True or is it I Fall Apart I suppose I'll have to listen again and decide. Buy it and enjoy, I did 40 years ago and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blinding first solo album, 26 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion, Rory's first solo album is a blinder, particularly if you consider how old he was went it came out (23 yrs).It's a mixed bag, ranging from the gritty riffs of 'Laundromat', 'Sinner Boy', and 'For the last time' to the more melancholic acoustic pieces 'Just the Smile','I fall apart'. Already, so early in his recording career, Rory showed what a mature and eclectic songwriter he was,in short a very underrated genius, so sorely missed following his tragic and premature death. This album may not necessarily cater for Rory's more rock-orientated fanbase, but this is a worthy inclusion to anyone's CD collection. The bonus tracks 'Gypsy Woman' and 'It takes time' has Rory tipping his cap to his blues heroes Muddy Waters and Otis Rush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taste "continued", 4 May 2010
By 
Barry Spall (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
If,like me,you were disappointed that Taste didn't make enough albums, buy this.
Classic Rory/Taste that doesn't sound dated at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start here...., 14 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
I first heard this album on its release, I was at school and Rory had already established himself as a favourite through Taste:On The Boards/Live At The Isle Of Wight.His first solo release was much more controlled, and slightly subdued....but...I've only recently bought this,and...............it's brilliant. Great tunes, played with so much feeling. Buy it and enjoy Rory's finest studio moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Master., 2 Feb 2008
By 
Greatox (Ascot, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Quite simply a guitar genius at work. If the guitar is your instrument and you like the blues you will surely love this album. Quite outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 July 2009
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Rory Gallagher was brilliant, if you are thinking of buying only one of his albums, dont, just buy them all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rory Gallagher, 3 Oct 2013
By 
D. J. Wilden "denise7248" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Brilliant album, his first solo after Taste, just stunning, nearly crashed the car when listening to track 10, I Can't Believe It's True when Rory was playing sax, Rory was so talented and would have had so much more to give, I can't get enough of his music, even listening to the same album over and over little gems keep popping up which I missed the first time and the times after that, Rory had more talent in his little finger than a lot of people have in their whole body - the man was/is a GOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The early days 2011 remaster, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Rory Gallaghers work sort of exists just under the radar, so to speak. It is always there and loved with a passion by his fans, yet rarely seen mentioned in print these days unless someone is listing of their influences, or favourite guitar players.

This new from the analogue masters reissue series ought to delight the hard core fans as they address and correct some issues, too much reverb, new mixes, new stereo placings that were made during the previous conversion to cd. Donal has got the team to go back to the final Rory mixes and freshly digitise them using the latest equipment in order to produce what could be described as the best sounding cd versions of Rorys small but incredibly potent back catalogue. The new issues also come in a neat cardboard foldover sleeve along with new sleevenotes.

This album runs the gamut from light acoustic tunes through to the rockier side of things. Just the Smile is a track that is worth the price of admission alone.

Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab5bce40)

This product

Rory Gallagher
Rory Gallagher by Rory Gallagher (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews