Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the whip came down
The Stones really hit the mark with this one, great playing, great production and great songs-even if they are a bit below the belt. It has everything that I like about the Stones in bucketloads. Keith and Ronnie make the ancient art of weaving sound as effortless as breathing. They really work as one on this one. Ronnies slide, Faraway Eyes, and lead guitar work really...
Published on 9 Jun 2009 by Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (...

versus
81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite How It's Supposed To Be
This is one of my favourite Stones albums but the record company seems determined to neutralise my continued enjoyment. The 2009 remasters of the post-Decca/London studio albums (from 1971's Sticky Fingers to date) have come in for some stick in some quarters & rightly so; the one-EQ-setting-suits-all-tracks approach to 'remastering' was a creative mistake which simply...
Published on 21 Nov 2011 by Harvey Randall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite How It's Supposed To Be, 21 Nov 2011
This is one of my favourite Stones albums but the record company seems determined to neutralise my continued enjoyment. The 2009 remasters of the post-Decca/London studio albums (from 1971's Sticky Fingers to date) have come in for some stick in some quarters & rightly so; the one-EQ-setting-suits-all-tracks approach to 'remastering' was a creative mistake which simply did not suit some titles, with Some Girls suffering the most. The original release didn't sound like it was recorded in a tin can but the 2009 version did with the contents compressed to a degrading degree, stripping the original of its dynamic range. What used to sound nice & sleazy was transformed into something shrill & dense. I was hoping that this 'deluxe' issue might feature a decent second attempt at the job but, alas, no: this package contains exactly the same 2009 remastered version with no discernible attempt to improve the faulty sound. This is disappointing, to say the least. Some Girls deserves so much better than this. What is truly frustrating, however, is that the same does not apply to the bonus disc of out-takes. The sound here is excellent from start to finish- I'm not about to complain on that score because the 12 extra tracks are well worth hearing if you're interested in a collection of would-be B-sides in fine quality sound. But is it not ABSURD that the out-takes sound so much better than the album proper? This is not quite how it's supposed to be, is it? If you think I'm being a tad tetchy here, compare this version of Some Girls to the 1990s remaster & you'll hear what I mean. The difference in tonal range is striking. Hell, under normal circumstances I'd be giving Some Girls a five-star rating but this version succeeds only in making it sound like a 3-star album & that just can't be right. In fact, it's a bit of a crime in my book. Are we not entitled to expect it to sound better instead of worse? Has concern for musical quality been finally thrown out of the window? Worth buying for the out-take disc, though, which really does sound pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the whip came down, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls (Audio CD)
The Stones really hit the mark with this one, great playing, great production and great songs-even if they are a bit below the belt. It has everything that I like about the Stones in bucketloads. Keith and Ronnie make the ancient art of weaving sound as effortless as breathing. They really work as one on this one. Ronnies slide, Faraway Eyes, and lead guitar work really stands out. The Stones, for me, peaked with this one, followed closely by Tattoo You. Everyone is giving it 110%, playing Lies would exhaust a lot of modern "rock" bands.

This album features a load of styles from the sly funky disco opener Miss You, through the smooth cover of Imagination, the rawk bluesy anthropological and educational(well not in the school sense) trawl through the wiles and ways of the worlds female population Some Girls, the punky and rocky Lies, the country hued sarcastic take on "gospel" radio Far Away Eyes, via others ending with the evocative description of the darker side of dwelling in New Yawk. Its all here! Magnificent degenerate rock music.

The remaster is once again a touch up in the detail on previous releases, better drums, better vocal separation, better guitar separation, better guitar crunch and better bass definition. Not as immediately apparent a difference as the Sticky Fingers and Its Only Rock and Roll remastering, but an improvement none the less.

Is it worth buying? If you are new to the Stones, definitely! If you have this on the Virgin release, yes if you want to hear every detail, no if you are just going to blast it on a portable.

There are folk out there who like to feed the music through a wave editor to find out what is going on, this review is based on listening to the music on a couple of different cd players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Stones Regain Their Focus, 28 Sep 2006
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Some Girls (Audio CD)
With the album 'Some Girls' the Stones came back into favour with a contemporary audience.

The Stones managed to do this by stripping their sound of the excesses of more recent years. Longterm collaborators like Billy Preston were put to one side as they went back to a more basic and immediate sound. Of course much of this new direction related strongly with the punks primitive musical philosophy which was in full swing at the time of the album's recording. 'When The Whip Comes Down', 'Lies', 'Respectable' and 'Shattered' have some of punks primitive energy yet it's far more tempered and still very much relates to the Stones own primary influences like in the case of 'Respectable' - Chuck Berry. They also incorporate a little disco into their sound on 'Miss You' and while again still managing to maintain their own highly identifiable style. 'Faraway Eyes' is a welcome return to their occasional country sound.

'Some Girls' is the Stones most vital sounding and focused album in years thanks in part to new member Ron Wood's role with Keith Richards. They trade riffs in a far more spontaneous way than Keith had worked with his previous guitar partners - there is little division between lead and rhythm - their guitar parts almost merging as one.

However, although 'Some Girls' is a fine album i would never put it on par with the Stones greatest albums from the sixties and early seventies like some reviewers tend to do. While it undoubtedly fits in perfectly with the sounds of 1978 it lacks that extra dimension which Ron's predecessors Brian Jones and Mick Taylor (be it musical variety or sophistication) brought to the Stones. It's that extra layer that elevates an album or song from being really good to being truly great.

'Some Girls' does stand as their last really good album (along with 'Tattoo You' perhaps).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Girls a very good album., 3 Jan 2012
Some Girls is very good. But concentrate on the bonus album. Its fantastic. Stones as they should be. Very raw, could be in a blues club. The bass and drums drive it along. Its not over produced. A good mix of tracks very good value. Stones note- make the next album like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars words of burden, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: Some Girls [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Well this has taken me back in time.... To when I owned this album (before throwing it out with the others when I sold my turntable) But now it is back as is a new turntable..... The only thing lacking on this fabulous album are the cut outs on the cover.

For once this is a great remaster. I don't feel that anything has been added. This is vinyl at its audible best..!

I also bought the cd set. Perhaps dissapointed that the extra 12 tracks are not included in the vinyl edition..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than a new Stones Album, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Some Girls (Audio CD)
I have not listened to the first disc, because I had the album already and cannot comment on what all the audiophiles are saying about this version in comparison with the previous version, however the bonus material I have listened to and it stands up really well. Don't get me wrong if I was talking to someone who had no Rolling Stone albums I would recommend a whole load of stuff before this, including Some Girls. If you really want to get into this band you clearly have to start at the beginning, but unfortunately all we have are the US versions of the early albums, which I have, but I have also reconstructed Rolling Stone (debut album) and Rolling Stone No. 2 on iTunes. The albums I would recommend for those who want to build a Stones collection are Beggars Banquet, Let It Bleed, Exile On Main Street (Remastered), Black And Blue, Goats Head Soup, It's Only Rock 'N' Roll, Tattoo You and the much under-rated Their Satanic Majesties Request but for Stones fans this is a welcome addition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the original or the virgin remaster., 15 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls (Audio CD)
I've personally been waiting a long time for this remaster,one because this is my favourite stones album,two because i couldn't find the virgin reissue and also because i was excited about this because i had been wanting a nice sounding copy as i have the original cbs cd but wanted something a little clearer and more powerful.
So is it clearer?
Well yes it is definitely clearer but whilst its not a complete disaster unfortunately this is yet another member of the loudness war.
Not to the extent of anything thats distorted but there is hardly any bass here at all and the whole album is very "toppy" meaning the treble range is over-emphasised,so it sounds rather washed-out without any warmth at all.
It's also been redone too loud,which means it's great for using in the car etc but for quality listening at home or through good quality headphones this doesn't sound great,in fact the original is better,which sort of defeats the purpose really.
A friend of mine has the virgin remaster of this (which i cannot find lol) and i will be continuing to look for a copy of that for myself,it sounds clear,isn't too loud,has a nice dynamic range and is a step up from the original,which is exactly what a remaster should be.
Unlike this one which just doesn't cut it.
I shall be getting rid of this one as soon as possible which is a great shame but at least i have my original to listen to while i look for the other one.
I don't know if all the 2009 stones remasters are going to sound like this but if they are i'll stay away.
So as to a rating,well 5 stars for the music,maybe 2 for the remaster.
A great shame,but it doesn't surprise me as sound quality on cds these days seems to be getting very poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars respect !, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Some Girls (Audio CD)
Hey this is good, no its not excellent but its good very good, i remember first hearing miss you on radio luxembourg in the early hours in the uk. The distortion in the transmission seemed to add character to the song and whenever i hear miss you or respectable i remember hearing them in their radio luxembourg finery. Anyways this led me to buy the album which is a good album, it fits together as an album. Some girls , faraway eyes , beast of burden , before they make me run, shattered.etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For amusement only, 12 Mar 2011
By 
A. C. Wood "chazw1964" (Waterlooville, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls (Audio CD)
I agree with Lost Golfer. Anyone who intends to listen to this on a HIFI and enjoy the experience is going to be disappointed, the sound is harsh with no depth to the bass, maybe the master tapes have aged and this was the best they could do. OK for ripping to ipod, car stereos etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shattered by Lies.........?, 26 Nov 2011
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To keep it brief, the first cd is a straight reprint of the 2009 Marcussen remastered cd, so those in the know already know what to expect there and are simply buying this for the bonus tracks, which are not straight forward outtakes, upon which I will dwell longer later.

The bonus cd, as mentioned by others, does indeed sound rather splendid, until the last track Petrol Blues, which sounds just like the boot version I already have. So, whats going on?

I reckon the Stones have done another trawl through the tape vault and dug out some of the better outtakes, gone to various studios around the world(listed on the inner booklet) and dubbed on, at the least, new Jagger vocals. Micks voice on these "new" cleaned up tracks sounds suspiciously riddled with the tics that he has developed to the point of parody and too well recorded to be recovered from tapes that never got the full sonic mastering job that the main albums tracks would have at the time.

Pink Floyd let everyone know that there were Experience, ie 2 cd versions, of the key albums well in advance. I stalled off buying Wish You Were Here for that reason. If I had known that the Stones were just going to trot out the exact same album that they did in 2009 with a set of tracks that have been cleaned up with new Jagger singing dubbed onto them I would have waited. Why did they not do this at the time?? So in a sense, I feel that I have been ripped off here, somewhat. Misled, even.

Having said that if you do not have the 2009 version this 2 cd set is good value. If you do already have it................................

I would actually have preferred to have the live cd with the dvd as the bonus on this release, it is an absolutely cracking gig. There is a reason why these outtake tracks had been relegated by the band the first time around.

Edit - I have gone through the bonus cd at least 5 times, just to give it a fair chance and the following tracks are the stand outs Do You Think I really Care - for Ronnies pedal steel guitar work, When You're Gone - for its great bluesy swagger and harmonica playing, Keep Up Blues - another very Stonesian blues track and finally You Win Again - for the overall sarcastic tone delivered as only Mick Jagger can, a great cover.

The others, well, there is nothing wrong with them. However there is nothing special about them either, just a tad lacking in that vital spark.

Edit. I saw the film of the Some Girls Tour on the telly the other night. An absolutely stunning performance from all, incredible playing and energy. Must get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Girls
Some Girls by The Rolling Stones
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews