Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the roxy london wc2 a punk history
great book probably the best book ive read on punk there was alot going on at the roxy that alot of people dont know about ,this book tells you alot of back ground details. Details about the second manager who seemed corupt, tells you about the recording of the album and there are alot of hilarious moments. the book is so well written you can actually taste the sweat and...
Published 21 months ago by Tony F. Ally

versus
12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missing The Point
Although this weighty volume represents an achievement in terms of microscopic exploration of a short-lived club that was a minor element of the punk scene, such exhaustive nostalgia runs contrary to the immediacy and disposibility of punk.

The whole book reminds me of 'Looks Familiar' the programme that Dennis Norden hosted during the era being painstakingly...
Published on 17 Dec. 2007 by Suzy Gutsy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the roxy london wc2 a punk history, 19 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book probably the best book ive read on punk there was alot going on at the roxy that alot of people dont know about ,this book tells you alot of back ground details. Details about the second manager who seemed corupt, tells you about the recording of the album and there are alot of hilarious moments. the book is so well written you can actually taste the sweat and beer off the roxy floor. great details about the bands that played there. i bought my copy for twenty quid but it has now shot up in price, im going to hold onto it looks like it,s going to be a collectible classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET IT, READ AND ENJOY, 17 Jan. 2008
By 
MEL (BATTERSEA) - See all my reviews
An excellent book about The Roxy giving a good insight as to what it was like.
Well researched with plenty of new comments and stories, never aired before, unlike a lot of the regurgitated crap previously written about Punk.
A good account of what it was actually like by people who were actually there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Subterranean punk club history, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roxy London WC2: A Punk History (Kindle Edition)
Great in-depth portrayal of lowlife punk at the roxy punk club in its 77/78 creative infancy, right through to its seedy end by those that were there! The only negative is in this kindle version are the images, they are either missing or tiny which spoils the end result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OK Tom Cats - ...only anorakists are pretty, 2 Nov. 2007
By 
T. Satchwell (A Tower in the Heart of London.......) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have to agree with the review about this being a book without the usual quotes and faces that normally get pulled into books about punk.
This is a great book because it gives the reader the point of view more from the punter angle...and also the people that got off their arses and took to the stage (Lets face it we were all in a band weren't we???)
Like the author I was 15/16 at the time, and never got to live in London until 1984. So I missed out on all this. Didn't stop me getting off my arse and taking to the stage (well corner of some village hall or something)
I bought both albums at the time...but certainly the history of the place after Andy and original gang "left" was all new to me.
Definitely worth a read...nice to see that Paul also has all the reference books..!!! I'm not the only crazy man.

Yes I spotted a few typos here and there ..but my fave is a listing in Chart Action page - "Modern Lovers with Best Years of Our Lives"
Pop quiz time ..correct these two mixed up artists and titles and give me the Roxy connection to the other band. Eddie M and Dave G..if you ever read this...you know the answer... Ay Ay Ay Ay Moosie anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential........., 19 Nov. 2007
Essential is a strong word to use when reviewing anything,and in truth there have probably only been perhaps ten books written on the subject of "punk" that can really live up to that superlative.Well make that eleven!This really is a quite superb read that is crammed with previously unreported facts,and unseen photos regarding the early London scene, and this is exactly where Marko's book rises above most of the opposition.......NEW STUFF!!Yes,for me this is right up there with Please Kill Me as one of the VERY best books on the subject.Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roxy London WC2: A Punk History (Kindle Edition)
Takes me back , gonna go listen too some punk now I suggest you do while reading this .smash your room up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking piece of history, 19 Oct. 2007
By 
Like the author, I was never there and didn't really know too much about the Roxy (other than it lasted 100 nights, another punk myth which was shattered) until I read the book. I now realise how important it was to the rise of the punk movement.

There are plenty of books out there that use rumour and conjecture to tell a story which ultimately leave you wondering if the events really happened. Not here!!

This is a book which gives that vast majority of readers that were never at the Roxy a unique insight where you can almost feel the heat, the intensity and the mood of the time without actually leaving the sofa.

It is the characters that make this book the great read that it is. With soundbites, quotes, interviews and diary extracts from the club-goers, promoters and band members, this is a piece of important punk history luckily captured in print forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life At the Roxy, 18 Oct. 2007
Bored of punk books with the same old stories, pictures and quotes? Well do yourself a big favour and pick up this wonderful tome, as it looks at at the goings on at the legendary Neal Street venue's 14 month history (myth number one amongst many busted here is that the Roxy only lasted 100 nights) with a keen eye for detail and steers clear of the well worn "I Swear I Was There" brigade thankfully. This enables the author to tell the forgotten story of UK punk.

In telling the story of the club we run across a whole host of colourful characters and in effect this reads more like an exciting novel than a history at times, with underworld intrigue, social history and inter-cult rivalry all playing a part. Amazing stories too, like Penetration coming down to London to play two gigs, one at the Roxy and one at a Portuguese wedding reception! And which future chart toppers featured on the cover of the "Live At The Roxy" LP?

This book has a lot to offer even the casual reader because it tells a compelling story, but punk anoraks will certainly want it as its stuffed full of insider knowledge that I didn't know and great photos too. An essential purchase for the punk enthusiast, but also well worth getting if you only ever heard "Pretty Vacant" once on the radio, because its an engaging and thoroughly honest portrait of a time when London swang on the point of a safety pin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! He's found virtually everyone who was there!, 5 Dec. 2007
Just got it, and it's a 500+page tome with interviews and anecdotes from seemingly everyone who was there! This is the authentic stuff, forget about the theorists and proselytisers - this is really punk as it happened!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missing The Point, 17 Dec. 2007
By 
Although this weighty volume represents an achievement in terms of microscopic exploration of a short-lived club that was a minor element of the punk scene, such exhaustive nostalgia runs contrary to the immediacy and disposibility of punk.

The whole book reminds me of 'Looks Familiar' the programme that Dennis Norden hosted during the era being painstakingly examined in this work - the show featured three or four middle-aged men reliving their brief glory days of thirty years prior and desperately attempting to imbue their youth with a wider social significance.

Aside from appearences by bands such as The Clash, The Heartbreakers and the Buzzcocks, The Roxy hosted a lot of derivative dross, and no amount of misty-eyed reverie will elevate the likes of Eater and the Unwanted above the level of mundane imitators. Indeed, after its initial four month existence, The Roxy was revived and played host to innumerable bands that are best forgotten. Many of these are covered in great detail here.

I was 19 in 1977 and attended the Roxy many times. It was just another venue where kids could get drunk, high and get off with one another. There was no consideration of any wider social significance. Although it is inferred that the author was present during the period, I have my doubts - anyone who truly understood the period would understand that it was never meant to be chronichled in a trainspotter-ish manner for comfortable middle-aged men to relieve the youths they may (or may not) have had three decades earlier.

The Roxy: A Punk History (now there's an oxymoron) drags on for page after page of 'personalities' who were often at best tangental to the scene, reminiscing at length about minutae that, really, only an anorak could be interested in. The author's prose doesn't help either - the book is full of cliche, weak grammar and dull metaphor and similie that should have been weeded out at the editorial stage.

Punk was not about nostalgia, or personalities - it was a brief flash of excitement that, by it's very nature, can never be rekindled. Get over it and move on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews