Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Significant and Authentic Account of Killer Whales in Captivity and Beyond...
David Kirby's book Death at SeaWorld documents and effectively engages with the fierce debate about whether it is good and right to keep killer whales (orcas) in captivity at marine theme parks for the purpose of entertaining the public. For his compelling argument, the author employs a wide range of sources: empirical evidence, scientific expert opinions, and numerous...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Karin Susan Fester

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let them be free
You don't need to be a rocket scientist to know that the only reason that dolphins and whales are kept in captivity is because the money that is generated out of their exploitation. Orcas are charismatic and awe-inspiring animals that captivate all those who see them - this is why people go to places like SeaWorld. However, there is no place in a civilised society where...
Published 3 months ago by SnowCat


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Significant and Authentic Account of Killer Whales in Captivity and Beyond..., 17 July 2012
This review is from: Death at SeaWorld: Shamu and the Dark Side of Killer Whales in Captivity (Kindle Edition)
David Kirby's book Death at SeaWorld documents and effectively engages with the fierce debate about whether it is good and right to keep killer whales (orcas) in captivity at marine theme parks for the purpose of entertaining the public. For his compelling argument, the author employs a wide range of sources: empirical evidence, scientific expert opinions, and numerous interviews with trainers and a host of others. Each chapter is packed with essential information and supports the author's comprehensive argumentation.

In February 2010, Tilikum, a male killer whale at SeaWorld in Orlando, Florida killed Dawn Brancheau, an experienced trainer, during a public performance. Tilikum is also directly linked to the death of Keltie Byrne in 1991 and Daniel Dukes in 1999. This is not only a human tragedy, but also one for the orca involved--Tilikum. The marine animal display industry has been harshly criticized already for several decades because they maintain orcas (killer whales) in captivity. The horrific tragedy in 2010 is now a catalyst for moving the debate forward. Anti-captivity advocates hope orca captivity will finally come to an end. However, it is not so simple. Dawn Brancheau's death in 2010 has inevitably fueled and agitated the debate even further between pro- and anti- captivity advocates.

Kirby provides critical discussion from both sides of the debate. He vigorously argues with support of insurmountable evidence and source material, that Tilikum, like countless other orcas held in captivity, is a genuine victim of humans' cruel, ignorant actions. The immense revenue generated from killer whale performances only perpetuates the ongoing misery that these animals must endure in their daily lives. And the aggressive behavior imposed on trainers and other captive orcas is apparently the result of the cruel and violent way they were initially captured in the wild, the post-capture stress they suffered, the way they are confined in marine theme parks, and numerous other reasons. Inevitably society has moral obligations to these animals, but at what cost?

Two profound questions are presented in the Introduction of the book: (1) "Is captivity in an amusement park good for orcas: Is this the appropriate venue for killer whales to be held, and does it somehow benefit wild orcas and their ocean habitat, as the industry claims?", and (2) "Is orca captivity good for society: Is it safe for trainers and truly educational for a public that pays to watch the whales perform what critics say are animal tricks akin to circus acts?" (p. 7).

David Kirby has left no stone unturned. He has successfully refuted the arguments put forward by the pro-captivity advocates (the marine theme park industry). He has presented valid and convincing arguments as to why orcas should not live in captivity and also why this is not good and for society.

After reading Death at SeaWorld, I came away with the gut feeling, that I, like so many people--even those who think they know something about killer whales--still have so much to learn about them!

I have seen the killer whales when I visited SeaWorld in San Diego and Orlando. Instantly my first thoughts were,"How can they be happy living like this...they don't have much room?! Don't they miss the open ocean? Don't they get crazy?" I am certainly not the first person to ask such questions.

The readers of Death at SeaWorld must now decide for themselves: Is it good and right to keep killer whales in captivity?

David Kirby's book is simply superb!

Review by Karin Susan Fester (c) 2012.

This review is an "excerpted" version from the original review which appeared on my blog Philosophybookreviews .
Disclosure: I would like to thank St. Martin's Press for providing me with a review copy of Death at SeaWorld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wise words on whales, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many, my attention was grabbed by the story of Tilikum the Killer Whale in 2010 when he seemingly intentionally killed his trainer during a public event at Sea World Orlando. What I didn't know until later, and a theme that is explored thoroughly in David Kirby's excellent work is that it was the third death that could have been attributed to this particular whale, and one of a series that occured amongst Sea World whales in the same year.

What I especially liked about the book, is that David Kirby does have an opinion on whales in captivity, but he very clearly tries to explore all view points and all sides of the story. Sea World's views and pursuits are discussed rather than judged, as are those of the researchers involved with wild pods, the former trainers, the current trainers and so forth. Privacy is guarded and respected. Courage, rather than heroes is quietly championed. The pursuit of truth is far more prominent than the sensational aspects of the story, in fact they are very much a back story.

Respect is a key part of David Kirby's work here and is especially apparent in his steadfast approach to the whales situation and those who are trying to help them.

More than anything else, this is a gripping tale. I think the story needs to be shouted from the roof tops, but more than that, the story is a page turner that I couldn't put down. It opened my eyes further on something I thought I already knew a great deal about, and cemented my views on whales in captivity. It should be handed out to patrons as they enter Sea World!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the things we do for entertainment, 3 Oct 2013
By 
N. Kirby (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why are humans so cruel ? And why do we advocate certain cruelty acts to animals ?

David Kirby not only highlights the truths that go on in the animal entertainment industry but he also sticks his neck far beyond what others would do or say .

Watch Blackfish which accompanies this book and you will see the foolishness people will do to become stars if these so called trainers are that passionate about whales and dolphins surely studying these wonderful creatures in the wild would be more rewarding than teaching them tricks and completely stripping them of all dignity .

ex trainers say they didn't know of any captive whale attacks so that tells me if you're daft enough to go into a pool with a wild creature without researching first then are you really capable of anything remotely responsible.

Has anyone heard whales cries when their young are taken away from them maybe the bosses at seaworld should perhaps see for themselves mind you unless there are dollars attached to any act of business I am not sure they would care.

thank you David Kirby and to the makers of Blackfish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troubles in Shamu-Land, 11 July 2012
By 
Erich Hoyt (North Berwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Take a large, charismatic big-toothed predator who also happens to be an intelligent social mammal, put them in concrete pools and make millions. To Sea World it was a corporate formula for success. Troubles, conflicts, disasters are more like it. Let David Kirby tell you the real story of Shamu in his new book...Highly recommended.
-- Erich Hoyt, Research Fellow, Whale and Dolphin Conservation; author of Orca: The Whale Called Killer and other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death at SeaWorld (Paperback)
the best book I have ever read, will read again and again. david Kirkby has done an amazing job on this book and together with the people in it are changing the face of the captivity industry!
the orca winnie holds a dear place in my heart as it was due to her that I became obsessed with orcas, I was so happy to see her mentioned in the book but at the same time so sad, this book will challenge you views on captivity what ever they may be before you read it. not only does it show the love trainers have for the orcas they work with but also the events that can and have ended trainers and whales lives.
David Kirkby well done sir and I intended to tell you this in a privet messege on facebook as well.
I would recommend this book to any and everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful book so glad I brought it and its quite emotional as well all In all it's an amazing book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book,a look behind the dark side of Seaworld not Killer Whales.They need to be free not there for our amusement it is not natural for them,or any other Marine Mammals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death at SeaWorld: Shamu and the Dark Side of Killer Whales in Captivity (Kindle Edition)
This is an in-depth review on orcas in the wild & captivity which is easy and very enjoyable to read. I could not put this book down, I didn't want it to end especially knowing that they are still captive. PLEASE if you are interested in this book please sign the petition to free tilikum & other captive orcas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death at SeaWorld: Shamu and the Dark Side of Killer Whales in Captivity (Kindle Edition)
Love this book! If you're interested in killer whales and what makes them them, then you have to read this! I've learnt so much from this book and haven't been able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How would you like it??? Well???, 8 Dec 2013
Some great positive reviews by many about this book. But then there are some negative comments, in defence of seaworld. What's the matter? Does the truth hurt? Tell you what! Lets shove you in a small bath, switch the cameras on, and ask you to perform tricks with a snorkel and mask. And then, and only then, you will get fed. I'm sure we'd all love to be taken away from our family, and loved ones, to be stuck in a tank for the duration. Also, how on earth can seaworld claim they are so knowledgeable, and fully clued up on these creatures? Does a killer whale speak English? If I was to be honest. It's wreckless behaviour on behalf of seaworld, for financial gain. You play with fire, and you get burnt! Great book, and a wake up call to reality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews